We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, helpful staff, nice decor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Memory at On On Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Memory at On On Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, helpful staff, nice decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

The location was great, in old town Phuket. The decor of this place is lovely, they have refurbished it. We went for the air con room, nice to have a safe, hot shower, two beds (one king and one single) and a coin fed washer and dryer was very handy. Wifi worked well, there was a limit on how much data you used though. Nice bookshop near by with second hand books for great prices. Staff were always helpful and gave us advice on what to do and where to go. There is a travel agent part at the entrance where you can book tickets to some of the islands like phi phi, James Bond island etc at good prices and deals. Only downside was the breakfast was average. Not much variety if you're vegetarian. Every morning we got half a small glass of juice, one morning I asked for two and got charged 30 TB for the extra one. Always left a bit hungry and thirsty. But apart from that it was a great stay and I would recommend it and go back again!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank elisecat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    168
    49
    7
    1
See reviews for
44
197
58
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Ended up here by accident but what a pleasent suprise. Friendly and very helpful staff. Probably the best location to see the old phuket. Everything is close and very easy to access. Shops, restaurants, bars and a local fresh market just a round the corner.
Places are clean and common areas cozy and atmosphere is charming.
If I would have to complaine about something; it was a bit noisy in the early mornings and the breakfast is only a ala carte served plate, not really worth the money.
We booked first only 2 nights but asked for extension. Place seemed to be fully booked but they still found us a room for 1 more night.
First 2 nights we stayed in a room with a little balcony but no window. There was no view at all from the balcony so it didn't bring any extra to the room. This room had a lot of space but since there was no windows it was a bit dark. For the 3rd night we got a room accross the hall. This room had 2 windows which you could open. We liked this room better because it had more light when you opened the windows. But after all both rooms were really nice. Safetybox and fridge in both rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows had more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nemoomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Price-performance ratio is excellent. The Hotel has a lot of ambience and the rooms are very nice. Very comfortable beds and a pillow menu to choose from. Unfortunately, the hotel is noisy. During our three-day stay (high season) we had constant loud, room neighbors who could not behave. Many tourists book the hotel for a night or two before departure. Apparently, some have to paint the town at the end of their visit to Thailand. All in all we would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kleycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

A great hotel situated in the old town of Phuket, far far away from the trash of Patong. The building itself is beautiful and the renovation has been done fantastically, proving that cheap doesn't have to be nasty. Cool, minimal and tasteful. Refreshing to experience a little slice of old thailand, right beside the interesting shops and cafes of the old town.

We had two rooms on the ground floor. There was occasional noise from motorbikes out in the street but nothing to worry about (the hum of the air conditioner drowns most things out anyway), the bathroom was big clean and well stocked and the bed very comfortable. genuinely nothing to complain about, especially given the prices which are barely out of backpacker territory.

We booked an airport transfer rather than gambling on a local taxi. Our driver waited in the heat for an hour after our plane was delayed long past midnight - special thanks to him! quality service continued throughout the rest of the stay. I'll definitely be back to On On if I return to Phuket in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I spent one night in this hotel, located in the centre of phuket. I have to say that it's quite comfortable, rooms are clean and the staff is always kind and smiling. It's a good choice if you want to visit the city or stay in phuket for one night only. The worst aspect is, for sure,, the breakfast: a poor plate served a la carte, with a little range of choices and low quality food. If they could work on this aspect, and maybe renuvate the location a little bit, it would be perfect. In any case, a good price quality/ratio.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovornwit P, Manager at The Memory at On On Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your hornest review. We are appritate with your comments and for the uninconvinience causes we are sincere appologize and we will work our best to resolve the causes We look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Came from khao lak by bus and when i arrived at the busstatio at phuket, i found out that the hotel is only 1km away, and so i could walk there and safed some money for the taximafia. The hotel is nice very nice decorated and rhe staff is very friendly! I had a room at the 1loor, no more other floors,.. No elevator but the staff brings your luggage to your room witthou questioning. The room was nice an equipped with a fridge, instantcoffe, 2 bottles of water and a water cooker. Bathroom was big enough, hot water perfectly working. Wifi good and fast (free). Please be aware this is a city hotel and you may hear the guests arriving and going. Dont forget earplugs. But sleeping quality was good. In the lobby is a computer with free internet, coffee and tea as a complimentary. Very good.the only little thing is the housekeeping: please clean also behind the bed, fridge and wardrobe, there is a LOT of dust. And i think printing out one b/sheet of paper should not be charged with 20 baht at all. Please consider this dear hotel management.
Nevertheless i like the hotel and can reccomend it, prices are acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svenvaethdouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I love the whole concept on how they refurbish this place while maintaining the original architecture. We drive all the way from Kuala Lumpur for our New Year road trip. We stayed in two 4 beds mixed dorms for 3 nights. Reasonable price. They clean the room daily. staff is very friendly and helpful. 24 hour security. Bunk bed is very comfortable. Common area, dining area and the lobby decoration are my favorite!
24 hour convenient store (Family Mart) is just across the road. Everything is at walking distance - cafes, restaurant, souvenir shop, Sunday night market.
This was my fourth time in Phuket and i used to stay near Patong. This time around we chose to stay at Phuket Oldtown to run away from the buzz and crazy Patong.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#1 of 83 in Phuket Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
0.4 mi away
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baan Suwantawe
Baan Suwantawe
#4 of 83 in Phuket Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meroom
Meroom
#1 of 9 in Talat Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Memory at On On Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Memory at On On Hotel

Property: The Memory at On On Hotel
Address: 19 Phang-Nga Rd. | Talad Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Memory at On On Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE MEMORY AT ON ON HOTEL PHUKET Immerse yourself in the true spirit of Phuket Old Town with a homely stay at the historical Memory at On On Hotel. This is the oldest hotel in Phuket and has been meticulously renovated to maintain its rich Sino-Portuguese architecture, revealing a classic design that blends perfectly with the brand new modern amenities. The Memory at On On Hotel is a must-see attraction in itself and offers a totally unique experience for guests that want to discover the very best the Old Town has to offer. Our hosts will welcome you to your room or dormitory like an old friend into their home, which was how the story of this century old hotel began. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Memory at On On Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Memory At On On Hotel Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing