We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Phuket Town
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Phuket
from $21.04
More Info
from $77.70
More Info
from $145.68
More Info
Reviews (1,083)
Filter reviews
1,083 results
Traveler rating
639
288
100
29
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
639
288
100
29
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild animals baby monkeys buy bananas monkey food friendly monkeys stray dogs their natural habitat big ones walk up fun experience fruit tuk tuk take pictures peanuts snatched exercise bitten
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,083 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Nice way to burn a few calories, take in a sunset and MONKEYS!!
Beautiful view from the top of the hill.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank slamneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

We got a taxi to monkey hill, glad we didn't walk all the way up as it is a really long walk in the heat. When we saw the monkeys they were very cute and the babys were swinging in the trees. However, they are food aggressive and we seen a girl get scratched. We kept our distance from the monkeys as we didn't want to get scratched ourselves. Overall it was interesting to watch the monkeys but we didn't go up to the view point at the top as we didn't want to go past the monkeys and get jumped. We walked all the way down and passed a lot of stray dogs who live on the hill but didn't bother us. We ended up walking from here to the old town (couldn't find a taxi from the bottom of the hill, however the walk to old town isn't too far).

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank ClaireJ2398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

Worth a stop to see the monkeys however we were surrounded by a group of Russians who thought it was a good idea to feed them biscuits despite the many signs asking not to. It made them quite aggressive unsurprisingly.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank katelg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

We had a ton of fun watching the monkeys interact with each other. We didn’t feed them because didn’t want to risk getting bit which seems to happen quite often. We talked to a girl visiting who said a guy in her hostel was bit just the day prior and now needs 6 rounds of rabies vaccines so he told her not to go.

We did see people feeding them peanuts who didn’t look to have any problems but I’d assume they could even bite you on accident when trying to get the food. We also saw them steal a guys sunglasses and a few water bottles out of peoples hands.

I think if you’re safe about it, it’s totally worth going. It was one of the highlights for sure and we spent 2 hours there which flew by.

The day after this week took a tour out of Phuket to Phi Phi island where we were looking forward to spending some time at Monkey Beach, but they only let us stay there 5-10 minutes, so really glad we had spent time with monkeys on our own here.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank lanimalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

I live in Phuket, and my go-to-spot for some relaxation is the Monkey Hill.
The view, the nature and the calmness puts my mind at ease every single time.

Altough you won't see any monkeys during the night, the view is in my opinion totally worth the travel! During a clear night, you can see the mountain tops over the horizon, the moving traffic in the far distance and the wonderfull colors of the city.

I strongly recommend to go with either car or motorbike to the viewpoint if you go during night as there are A LOT of stray dogs on the road and it is not well lighted. At some points of the road to the view point, you will have to drive with no lighting at all, except from your vehicle.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank trigerezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews