We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hostel”
Review of Ai Phuket Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ai Phuket Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Ai Phuket hostel is the hostel I have stayed at.

It is in the heart of Phuket Town and has a great atmosphere. I have heard form many travellers that this is their favourite hostel in South East Asia. It has all the facilities and more that you would expect from a hostel, from communal showers that are separated to private bathrooms that are at the back in in their garden. It also has great washing facilities and dryers if need be. They rent out scooters and bicycles aswell as have a large variety of movies to choose from. They also offer free breakfast of cornflakes, toast and coffee/Tea and allow you to cook and keep things in the fridge.

There is cheap food around almost every corner as well as an awesome small Sunday Market in the street next door. If you are looking to go to the beach you can catch the public transport (30min) bus for 40bht to one of the most beautiful beaches (Nai Harn) I have experienced in Thailand so far.

A fantastic clean and great atmosphere with comfy beds that is complimented with friendly staff. Overall a great place to stay if you are looking to experience a slightly quieter side of Phuket.

Farang Tours Thailand would recommend this to any sort of traveller without hesitation.

Room Tip: All dorms are super but they also have private rooms for a slightly higher price.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FarangTours T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Ai Phuket Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 117 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

After working in Thailand for 6 months I know what to expect from places in this price range. But I was seriously surprised how good this hostel was. There is really nothing to complain about. The place was clean, equipped with outstanding beds and they even serve the best breakfast I have ever seen in a hostel so far. Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Der-Bonvivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

If you are in Phuket and looking a calm place just to spend a night....you are probably landed at the best place...it's very clean by dormitory standards....breakfast served in the morning(self serve though) was basic but good and filling...rasadda pier is just 10 mins away and you can book these tickets at reception..manager and staff is very caring and happy to help...as the staircase is a wooden one..it makes noise while climbing up which could be troublesome...overall a good option to consider for a backpacker...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vaiblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great location in old Phuket town ,easy walking around town and the old Phuket Town market near by. Great eating places found on most streets but eat where the locals are. The food is original and prices about 50 baht per meal.

Room Tip: Go to Sino Inn around the Corner tell them Ian sent you and get a 5 star room for only 1000 baht per...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shocked F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is a really nice place to stay at when on Phuket and in Phuket town, actually I would recommend it even if you are going for any of the beaches, the communications are good and this really is a nice place to stay.
So easy to find in Phuket town you will find this real pearl amongst hostels I would say. Greatly managed and with a really nice staff. They have coin laundry and even offers motorbike rentals. There is also a breakfast included that is amongst the better ones I've had at hostels. The rooms and the common areas are really nice styled and that's why I would really like to call this a designer hostel as it is so nicely designed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fredrik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very comfortable rooms, everything is clean and in a good shape. Some rooms are fresh paited.
The stuff is friendly and the breakfast with cereals was a relief from the basic "toast with jam".

the location is in the middle of phuket old town. Some nice pubs are around that place and you can easily find a tuktuk or bus nearby.

If you are interested in the typical phuket beach party - it is a bit far away from the beaches. Especially in the night because the bus transfere doesn't work anymore and taxis are quite expensive. Otherwise I can recommend the hostel to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonamezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Really neat hostel smack in the middle of Phuket Town. Phuket town is the place to be if you want a different experience compared to the beach goers and Ai Phuket is the hostel to be in if you're there. It's pretty near the Phuket Bus Terminal and also walking distance to the local bus stop just in case you want to head down to the beaches.

Staff are wonderful. They would pay attention to your needs and they would give you the best service you could ever ask for. The hostel in general is really clean and well maintained. Clean rooms and toilets, and a lot of communal spaces for you to mingle with other guests.

I would recommend this place to anyone coming to Phuket. If you're heading down to the beaches, and planning to spend at least a day or to explore the town, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: I had a private room facing the main road and the traffic noise could wake you up from time to time...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fzkml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#1 of 90 in Phuket Town
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Memory at On On Hotel
The Memory at On On Hotel
#2 of 90 in Phuket Town
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Suwantawe
Baan Suwantawe
#5 of 90 in Phuket Town
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
0.4 mi away
Bed Hostel Phuket
Bed Hostel Phuket
#1 of 12 in Talat Yai
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Phuket Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Phuket Hostel

Address: 88 Yaowarat Road | Taladyai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Phuket Town
Price Range: $12 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ai Phuket Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ai Phuket Hostel is a distinct addition to the city's skyline. The hotel is located in the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations.Ai Phuket Hostel offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. The hotel provides laundry service/dry cleaning, Wi-Fi in public areas, tours, 24hr room service, smoking area to ensure our guests the greatest comfort. Hotel accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience, with air conditioning, internet access – wireless (complimentary), non smoking rooms in each room. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the Ai Phuket Hostel the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ai Phuket Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Phuket Hostel Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing