We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch time dining”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Phuket City Hotel
Ranked #65 of 88 Hotels in Phuket Town
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,307 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
“Lunch time dining”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Visited the restaurant of Royal Phuket City Hotel known as 154 salad bar. Clean , good selection of food, polite pleasant service in comfortable surroundings. Reasonably priced. delicious cakes and breads which can be for take away as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    97
    60
    24
    24
See reviews for
24
61
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our first night after arriving in phuket, we wanted to be close to the ferry to phi phi island (hotel is only 10mins away from the pier). I would recommend staying here, its cheap and contrary to other reviews here we found the hotel really good, hotel is a little dated in the rooms but the rooms were clean and very comfortable, plus we had access to the public gym and pool in the hotel. The ground floor is all marble and looks impressive when you walk in, plus at night they have a band there - great to chill out to.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bob5623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel because we had the phi phi Ferry the next day. The hotel is close to the pier. As mentioned in other reviews the hotel is dated but that is normal for a relatively old hotel. The swimming pool was dated as well but suitbalie for our little kids.

We had a disappointing experience:
- we ordered food (non Thai after 2 weeks): the burger was made of the worst meat I ever had: it smelled and tastend terrible
- the shower smelled like an urinoir
- the staff was not speaking/understanding English at all, and left me standing with a lot of questions but juist did not comeback to me
- you have to pay for WiFi (which is of bad level)
- the hotel is overcrowded with Russian and Chinese guests, good luck with breakfast and the lines.....
- I wanted a take away breakfast and when I asked for iT I was treated very rude

As you see not just one bad experience, the hotel needs professional staff and so on.......

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank OJ&MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phuket Town hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My first issue with this hotel is the location. We had to pay extra for one of our outings since their transportation focused on the hotels in Patong. Additionally, there are no beaches on the eastern side of Koh Phuket. But I thought (not knowing the previous information) we'd stay in the quiet part of the island. Wrong. This hotel seems to rent out a party room in some part (roof?) of their hotel and at least two of the nights we were there, I couldn't get to sleep until 2am due to this loud obnoxious music. The front desk staff spoke very little English so that was tough. Plus, the location wasn't even in the nice part of Phuket town, somewhat sketchy.
This hotel seems to cater more to tour groups (where transportation is already included). The breakfast was actually very good and the rooms themselves were roomy and comfortable, but this couldn't make up for the other terrible aspects. Unless you absolutely have no other place to stay, avoid this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memo_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had to stay in Phuket 1 night in order to get the ferry to Koh Lanta early the next day. We asked to see the room before taking it, but the guy on reception was so confident in the quality of the room that he said we didnt need to see it as it is so good we will definately like it. The hotel looks very grand from the outside, and when we went in we were greeted by concierge and the staff have 'posh' uniform on. This place was expensive but we decided to take it as we just wanted a clean room for the night. We got to the room and to our surprise it smelt of mold & damp. There were pillows on the bed covered in short dark hair. The place was seriously dated. The bathroom was full of grime. But it was 2am and we just needed sleep so we put up with it. The hotel thinks that it is something that it is not. The cost for what you get is a joke. Breakfast was busy and not nice, we stuck with toast - the safest option!

Unless you are desperate I would not come here. Walking at night was scary, there was a strippers on one corner with people shouting things. This hotel is not worth the cost at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesnt smell of damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bongoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last May and when we went up to our room the bathroom had mould on the shower walls. The mould was on my finger that I put along the wall . We went down to get something for lunch ,they didn't understand us when we asked for our order. I ended up showing the three staff what I wanted on the menu. Then we had trouble trying to pay for it .Nothing was close by. We left after six hours we got no money refounded and got a lovely resort in Karon .Two days later I as very ill which ruined our trip never again would I stay there .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The grand lobby suggests that this was quite the hotel back in the day.

The room I was in was much bigger than an average hotel room. But, the place just had the feel of being on the decline. Carpets were worn, really needs repainting, and the room had a powerful musty smell about it.

Hardly any power points in the room, which was a pain!

Staff were really nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geedee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Phokeethra
Novotel Phuket Phokeethra
#22 of 88 in Phuket Town
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baan Suwantawe
Baan Suwantawe
#5 of 88 in Phuket Town
334 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
#56 of 88 in Phuket Town
94 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pago Design Hotel Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Phuket City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Phuket City Hotel

Property: Royal Phuket City Hotel
Address: 154 Phang Nga Road, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Phuket Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Phuket City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I'am asst.Manager.Manager of royal phuket city hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royal Phuket City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Phuket Town City Hotel
Royal Phuket City Hotel Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing