We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Phuket City Hotel
Ranked #49 of 93 Hotels in Phuket Town
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We stayed for one night before leaving for Phi Phi. Nice hotel with good location. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 237 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2011

I was on the 15th floor. I stayed 4 days by mistake of missing my flight.
My room was nice. (BUT on the main street side, rain came through the cracks during a servere rainstorm. It soaked the rug. I was leaving that night so no prob but it is not somethign you expect to happen in this calibur of hotel tha puports a high calibur cost and image.
No airport trips after 12am.
The staff are nice. The decor is grand.
The gym is available unlimited for 250 Bhat a day including alldaily fitness classes that are scheduled. (the pop dance class is too fast and too much for a beginer. They should change h instructor who is more into herself dancing in the mirror than actually slowing donw and helping people learn the move. The classes are in Thai mainly with a few keywords in English.
This place is far from the airport by 40 minutes (no traffic) 1 hour with traffic.
Regarding Western food, you will never get what you think you will. It is impossible.
The food is fine. (Just letting you know.) I did read ONE bad review and I have to wonder HOW this is possible. You pay tooooo much money to get a bad room. If I got a bad room, I'd get it changed. Also, jsut becaue it says non-smoking doesn't mean that once upon a time someone DID smoke in there or that they monitor who smokes. so change the room if it smells. Best thing is wifi is in the room for 200 bHT a day. I wanted this.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripster4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

It looks great from the outside. Plenty of Staff. For the money it's a 1 star. You can do better with a smaller local hotel. Three quick things that shows they are cutting corners.
1)The rooms need new carpet and have older tube TV. Last upgrade 10+yrs
2) Sheets in my upgraded business class kings size room had 3 small holes and 1 two inch tear.
3). They don't pay for good produce or have a decent breakfast for the Bot.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amay8675309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We were so dissapointed since we were told by the cab this was a very good hotel, we were exhausted from our trip from cambodia and when we got to room which was the basic for $ 94 dollars a night we found the room infested with roaches, they were everywhere in the bed, the furniture, the rug, we went downstairs to co plai t and they gave us a better room they said without roaches we had the worst night ever thinking a roach will crawl up the bed, anyway!! Very dissapointed, and we still had to pay for everything!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sobetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

This is a first class hotel with excellent amenities, friendly service and great location. Spent three days there recently during the 'vegetarian' festival and the hotel was full, with no impact on the high level of comfort and service. Most of the rooms have panoramic views over the city, the hotel is right next to the bus station, and it is an easy stroll to the city center, market, old quarter, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickMcAllister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We Stayed for 4 nights...All the staffs so friendly and helpful. The Comfortable Hotel for our family and friends. We will Stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Has the seem of a enterprise hotel but then then afresh Phuket Town is not a usual tourist location - we only stayed after ferry back from Phi phi to delay for our air travel in the morning. We walked round, buying and glimpsing Thailand from a somewhat distinct perspective. Cheap and good worth with not anything to obvious error it. Good cooperative service from staff who assisted us get directly and to the airport on time at some silly hour the next morning. Nice large-scale room but a little shabby round the edges. Good centered position but far sufficient away from lively central square.Would stay afresh - for one evening enroute somewhere or on business. The mean tourist would not stay too long in Phuket Town anyhow so possibilities here if you are looking to stay in Phuket Town, you won't be there too long anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burgsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
0.6 mi away
The Malika Hotel
The Malika Hotel
#1 of 9 in Talat Yai
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Suwantawe
Baan Suwantawe
#5 of 93 in Phuket Town
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
#55 of 93 in Phuket Town
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Phokeethra
Novotel Phuket Phokeethra
#18 of 93 in Phuket Town
36 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pago Design Hotel Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Phuket City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Phuket City Hotel

Address: 154 Phang Nga Road, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Phuket Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range: $44 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Phuket City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Phuket city hotel City gate of Luxurious 4 stars Phuket town. locate near by old town the building sino-portuguese style. we're the comfortable hotel and full facility the conference room Fitness center 4 Restaurant, Spa and Bakery. special for you 24 hrs room use and Breakfast whenever wherever. our activity to do in the hotel are Heritage walk program, free Bicycle on site, and The Hotel near by Khao to sae(Hill Walk) also the shopping center you can walk to Robinson department store. our Hotel just 45 minute from Phuket International Airport and 30 minute to the beach. (Let us serve you for the impression. that you will Never forget) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Phuket City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Phuket Town City Hotel
Royal Phuket City Hotel Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing