We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel but convinient”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pearl Hotel
Ranked #63 of 84 Hotels in Phuket Town
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Old hotel but convinient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Ok this hotel is old. but its location is verry convinient.

We arrive from Bangkok at midnight and checked in very late and left very early to Phi-Phi
The rooms are very basic and need a serious renovation. But the location of the hotel is great if you want to go directly to PP and get the ferry early as the hotel is 5 minutes away by car from the peer.
You can book the car and boat ticket directly to the front desk.
Food: did not try it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiriocasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
4
11
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as a solo traveller. On the + side, bed was comfortable, quiet for sleeping, centrally located in Phuket Town (about 15 min. walk to Robinson's Dept. Store) and food (incl. dinner) in the main floor restaurant was good and fairly priced.
Service at reception and in dining room was friendly. Building is a multi-floored, concrete structure with approximately 200 rooms. It is old and tired. The fact they charge for WIFI was an irritant to me as I felt the room rate should have included this. I think it worked out to about US$3.00 for 2 hours. That is a total RIPOFF!!. Necessary to buy Internet card at front desk and enter card # on one's laptop to get connection.

Wtih planning ahead for my next trip to Phuket Town I checked out a couple of other places in the vicinity and came up with what I feel is a better alternative, Phuket Crystal Inn. I didn't stay there but I checked it out quite carefully, including going into a room. It is situated about 1 block from Robinson's Dept. Store, public areas and room I checked out were clean, nicel appointed room had a good bed and separate shower and breakfast is included in the 950 THB (about US$28.) double per night vs. US$36. I paid at the Pearl Hotel. WIFI is US$3.00 PER DAY, rather than the same amount for only 2 hours. I can understand charging for WIFI in a budget hotel but the rate charged at the Pearl was usurious. The only downside I could find at the Crystal Inn was that the level of English spoken was considerably lower than at the Pearl.

My memory is like that of an elephant when I sense I'm being ripped off and that's the impression the WIFI charge at the Pearl left me with.....'once bitten....twice shy'. I won't return.

Room Tip: - Front, lower-floor rooms may be somewhat noisy from street sounds. I was on the 8th on back side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank belkinhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
region parisienne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Best location in Phuket ,5 minutes walking to the old town.Big market just around the corner,a lot of good street restaurants,,one better and fresher than the former one ,.Avoid to eat in restaurants they are much more expansive and less good from far!
The hotel itself is a 3 stars hotel with very kind staff.Wifi is expansive.Room are clean,value for money, average.Book on internet for good rates.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean gerard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

I was stayed in hotel pearl on 31 aug and 1 seo 2011 during transit from singapore.
Hotel was very old ,average rooms but best part was food.food during dinner and lunch was quite good.hotel is very far from bangala road and patong beach.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrHemant666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Good place to stay one night before/after leaving to/from Phi Phi Island. If you are planning to stay in Phuket, better to look for something else.
Tips: don't pay the 200 bahts for 1hour internet service!! There is an internet cafe 10m walking from the hotel for 20 bahts/1h

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IamfromBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

This hotel is very large. We were shown a basic room which had two twin beds. The bathroom looked a bit rough too. We asked for a room with a double bed and were told its a deluxe room at B1340 - we said yes please! This room was nice - near the top floor so great views, very clean, decor outdated but we could live with this for one night. The service was exceptional - very friendly staff! We were also very near the shopping area which was great for our last minute shopping. For a stop over this place is fine. Also has a large restaurant, pool, discoteque and massage parlour - none that we used though...
Breakfast was basic but included everything - would rather recommend eating nearby somewhere.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveldeluxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Mei Zhou Phuket
Mei Zhou Phuket
#26 of 84 in Phuket Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
0.2 mi away
Phuket Crystal Inn
Phuket Crystal Inn
#35 of 84 in Phuket Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baan Suwantawe
Baan Suwantawe
#4 of 84 in Phuket Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Phuket City Hotel
Royal Phuket City Hotel
#62 of 84 in Phuket Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vapa Hotel
Vapa Hotel
#40 of 84 in Phuket Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Hotel

Property: Pearl Hotel
Address: 42 Montri Road,Talad Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 84 Hotels in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pearl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Hotel Phuket Town
Pearl Hotel Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing