We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very hospitable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
D's Corner & Guesthouse
Ranked #89 of 197 Phuket Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

So we show up and no one is there for check in so we check in ourselves. Throughout our four day stay here we saw many people waiting in the lobby so that they could check in. It wasnt even late. The lady running this place would be back at about ten pm but for large portions of the day she would be unavailable. You get no information on Phuket, no leaflets, no map and you are left to your own devices.
Breakfast consists of two pieces of toast and either tea or coffee but she will watch you like a hawk to see if you take an extra piece of toast or an extra drink, both of which are ten baht. Its not very nice.
The rooms are big but we struggled with bed bugs on our first night but there was hot water. We moved rooms and the other room we had a better sleep in but the water was hot, atleast no bugs right. The showet attachment was also broken and the light was out. Ok, its 400 baht a night but that is $13. You should get better. We stayed so long because if you stay in a rudy crummy place then you are more likely to venturw outside.
Oh and the fan isnt great but place it so it ia right in your direction and you will be fine.
We also asked for a taxi to the bus station (3km away) and she wanted 200 baht!! This is Thailand, that equates to a 20 km plus journey in bangkok using a metered taxi, the nerve!! When i said no, she mutteted rude thai words under her breath.

So to sum up, you get bedbugs if you want hot water but no bugs if you dont, breakfast seems like your on show, the lady is absent, the lights dont work, the lady is rude. Tbh, if it wasnt for the bed bugs and the rudeness, I would give a three but no need to abandon your guests, be rude to them and just not set a very hospitable atmosphere. Look elsewhere, I just dont understand why she feels the need to be rude.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MalikAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 52 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights, it was a large clean room with fan and en suite, rooms were cleaned every 3 days. The showers work but you have to hold it because wall attachment is broke, we did change rooms because shower kept falling on my head but other room was worse.The "KEEP YOUR HANDS OFF" Notices were a bit off putting, we thought them very rude, also breakfast time wasnt very pleasant because you felt as if you were being watched as to how much you took. I asked for some butter as there was only 1 pat of butter in a dish, Yindee told me that it was enough as you were only allowed half a pat to do 2 slices of toast, the next morning the butter pats were cut in half. There is another notice telling you that you are allowed 1 cup of tea or coffee and 2 slices of toast, you must pay for any extras. Also be prepared to be woken late evening or early morning when guests arrive as staff just flood the place with lights that shine into rooms. The housekeeper is not very friendly at all and will scowl at you rather than smile although we did see another helper sometimes and she was very friendly and always greeted you with a smile. For a budget hotel the room was great and area was good for getting around, we hired a motorbike from close by, you can hire one from the hotel for 200 baht a day but we got one for 150 baht from round the corner.

Room Tip: Try and get a room upstairs because you get woken up with the lights in the downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariken2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Despite all of the 'telling you what not to do' signs (hands off, don't put bags on table, pay me for mor breakfast) this is a very very comfortable hostel. The price is including breakfast, but that's only two pieces of toast and a cup of coffee or tea, so we went outside for that. The rooms are huge, the beds are comfortable, the showers are hot and it's nice and quiet.

Don't expect too much of the non English speaking staff, they try their best but probably don't understand you. When we asked if she could write down something in Thai, she told us to get a taxi :)

Turn right after you exit the hostel and another right when you reach the main street. The first restaurant on the right is run by a Thai, used to be Oz chef. The food is cheap and amazing.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sanfey85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Everything is right there spot in the town. Good prices for an enormous single room included private bathroom. Staffs were very nice friendly and helpful information of Phuket.
Overall, excellent value for money and afford it.

My personally, easy rode the scooter encircle of Phuket included visited in the mainland Thailand nearby via local boat to James Bond Island, stop by almost each of incredible beaches of Island.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntyFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Staff rather friendly. Nice size double fan room. So big that it takes a while for the fan to start cooling it. Musty smell. Has 4 electrical outlets. Good wifi. Table & 2 chairs. Bathroom ok size & clean with towels, toilet paper & 2 bars of soap. Bed clean. Very secure setup. Not much of a common room. Location worked well for me as I had things to take care of in Phuket Town. But with motorbike rental of 200thb, I’m able to get everywhere I want to go from here in about 20-30 minutes (Rawai/Nai Harn, Kata, Karon, Patong). Price just jumped up for beginning of high season, but still good value. For the price of this ensuite, it's good value, but for more than 2-3 days, I’d rather pay more to get a little more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The property is located in a very convenient location. Its easy to get there. Its best for people who are not very fussy about the greatest comforts when out on a trip. This place is one of the best value for money deals out there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanmay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It would be a good idea to tell the lady owner of the approximate time you expect to arrive or else you might have to wait awhile for her to return (she lives 4 shop fronts down the street). My bed's mattress was rather hard, but otherwise I am not complaining as I could not beat the price for a room in Phuket at the start of the high season. Its also reasonably quiet in Old Town, but most eating places will be closed on Sundays.

Note: Food and accoms are much cheaper in Old Town Phuket and the public bus is just 25B to 40B to the major beaches BUT you might get stuck in high season traffic. There is a good kopitan down the street from the hotel where you can get a good meal for as low as 60B or 70B. In addition, the tourism office is a short walk in the other direction.

Room Tip: A room across from the front desk / seating area will be noisier than a room elsewhere or upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmergingMarketSkptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
2.1 mi away
The Pago Design Hotel Phuket
2.8 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
3.6 mi away
Crystal Wild Resort Panwa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Villa Zolitude Resort and Spa
3.3 mi away
The Nchantra Pool Suite
The Nchantra Pool Suite
#1 of 3 in Ratsada
80 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sansuko Ville Bungalow Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D's Corner & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D's Corner & Guesthouse

Address: 132 Talang Road | Talad-Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Phuket Town
Price Range: $10 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — D's Corner & Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 12 rooms, this property contains all the amenities. There is fan or air condition, desk, with bathroom attach, free wireless in each of the hotel's well-equipped rooms. For the comfort and convenience of guests, you'll also find free Wi-Fi in every rooms. Convenient location, a dedicated staff and first-rate facilities make this hotel a favorite among travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your D's Corner & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
D's Corner & Guesthouse Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing