We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value, clean and tidy, huge rooms, center of phuket town and very helpful owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
D's Corner & Guesthouse
Ranked #87 of 177 Phuket Town B&B and Inns
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good value, clean and tidy, huge rooms, center of phuket town and very helpful owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1nights in June 2013 as we wanted to go ko phi phi and had missed the last ferry at 3pm, our flight got in too late for it. Found this place in the lonely planet book, we wanted somewhere cheap that we could stay for one night and then catch the ferry the next morning, it's not too far from the port and its right in the centre of phuket town. Phuket town it's not a pretty place, after dark there are cockroaches running along the street everywhere. I wouldn't want to spend much time there. As for the accommodation the rooms were huge (the biggest rooms of our trip so far). We were on the first floor, no balcony, basic but that's reflected by the price, it is budget accommodation. There is a choice of rooms, you can have a fan room with a double bed or for a bit more you can get an air con room with twin beds. We had a fan and air con in our room, the air con was a bit noisy but it was fine. When we arrived we asked the owner about booking the first boat in the morning for ko phi phi, she spoke good English and arranged our boat tickets and transfer to the port (580 baths return including transfers), at the airport desk beforehand they were telling us they could arrange this and we would get free pick up from our hotel to the port but telling us it was 1000 baht return. The lady at the airport desk also told us it would be the same price at the port. Don't buy your boat tickets at the airport desk, no matter how helpful they seem, they are making a huge commission.
Maybe the owner bought our tickets at a local rate or something but it was almost half the price. We didn't have long left in Thailand so we were spending one night in ko phi phi and then were returning for one night in phuket before getting our international flight. As we were coming back to phuket we asked the lady owner if we could leave our suitcases and just take smaller bags to ko phi phi, she said this was okay. When we returned from ko phi phi we were picked up as promised and taken back to d'corner. We asked the owner about arranging a taxi to the airport the following morning at 6am, she said she would drive us there and charged us 600 baht (the airport is about 1hour drive). This was a bit pricey but there was 2 of us to share it and she had saved us money on our boat trips. When we were staying in patong earlier on our trip they charged us 700 baht from the hotel to the airport and its the same distance. Everything is so much more expensive in patong than phuket town cause it must more touristy. At 6am she was ready and waiting for us. Overall this accommodation was very good and I would stay here again. It's helpful that the owner speaks English as a lot of places we stayed they don't and its very difficult trying to explain what you need.
The "cook" restaurant is around the corner from this guesthouse and it was the best meal we had in Thailand.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JANICE21_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    28
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
24
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pushkar
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went there at the time of the Vegetarian Festival and although all of Phuket town was packed, the owner of D's guesthouse made her best efforts to accommodate me. Very helpful lady. The guesthouse was clean and pleasant, the rooms spacious and the prices reasonable. I enjoyed my stay at D's corner particularly when I moved to the rooftop room which also had its own very private balcony.

Room Tip: If you are not looking for AC, I particularly liked the rooftop fan room because of its own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donatella65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We want to advise everyone that the owner of this Guesthouse is an extremely bad person!! She destroyed some quality clothing then refused to accept any responsibility. She washed white clothes together with dark coloured clothing - so imagine the result. Then had the cheak to suggest we should have told her to separate white from dark clothing. She refused to give us the cost of the laundry let alone any compensation! After a long dispute we called the police after she threatened to kick my wife, I and 2 young children. After completing a police report at the station - she continued to argue and even ended slapped my wife's arm twice and the police man had to intervene.
Immediately after this - this dishonest lady then cancelled our booking with booking.com whilst we are still staying here for a second night...18th March 2013. She did this in-order to prevent us from posting a review in Booking.com.
Not only is she dishonest, very unfriendly the place itself is very basic, no air-conditioning, no hot water, the beds are uncomfortable. All she wants is money for little in return.
I urge to seriously re-consider staying here and spread the word to avoid this place like the plague.
For her behaviour and terrible attitude this dishonest lady deserves nothing from us the valued customer, traveller and tourist.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yindee M, Manager at D's Corner & Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
About our washing service, we have announcement stick at the reception that we will not responsible for any damage for your clothes so if your clothes have problem you have to tell us before. We will ask every guest to assure that they check their clothes before use our service and other guest will tell us about which clothes we have to be careful. About the fact, the wife start to complain about this problem with our staff with loud voice and rude behavior. When the owner come in the wife start to argue with her with even louder and ruder, at that time the new customer come in and the wife banish them out. Moreover,the customer who sleep on the 2nd floor can't sleep so they come to tell her to stop yelling because they have only 2 hours to sleep. The wife get even louder and don't care for anything and try to harm the owner with plastic chair so the owner think it necessary to call police. When police come and go to police station. When come back the owner don't want this guest to stay in guesthouse because in the morning they will go to Malaysia and don't know what they will do to the room and furniture in the night. So suggest to pay them for the room rate. But about the clothes they can go and fight in the claim court with fair condition for both side not only the reason of their side, but the wife refuse and start to point the owner face while threaten about how we will lose the business. So that night they stay at the guesthouse. In the morning the owner don't want to have problem so owner's husband come and give their deposit back and he also pay the compensation to this guest too because he don't want to have problem later. However, this guest still don't satisfied, they use marker pen to write rude word all over our wall. We do business, we don't want to have problem but if the guest don't respect our rule or want to take advantage of us. We have to protect our honor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phuket Town hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for two nights and had a great experience. The room we stayed in was big (oddly big, there was lots of empty space), clean, and quiet. Plus this place was super affordable and right in the middle of the old town which we loved. The one thing that wasn't the best was the mattress. It was rock hard. But then again, all mattresses in Thailand are so you just have to get used to it. If anything it fixed some kinks in my back. Very friendly staff, great location, and booked this place online when reading about it in our Lonely Planet travel guide. Definitely recommend to stay here. Also make sure to check out Cook's Restaurant close-by for their green curry pizza! Also, the complimentary instant coffee and toast I would skip for the delicious banana rotee that's down the street.

Room Tip: Make sure to bring a padlock to lock your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessM604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Huge rooms, ac, hot water, all for a good price. Everything was clean and as expected. Service wasn't incredible, our welcome was mediocre and they weren't particularly friendly with us. Good location near good restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you are a backpacker/ budget traveller D's is the place to stay on Phuket! The staff are very sweet, friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and very clean ($550 B a night for a double with AC) and include a breakfast of coffee, toast with jam and fruit. Phuket Town is quiet with not a lot going on but the staff here can help you rent a scooter, so it makes a great base to go out and explore or, if that's not your thing, buses leave from the Fresh Market just a few blocks away! May I suggest Kata Noi Beach, The Big Buddha and Rawoi for great fresh seafood!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinchipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Arrived at about 9.30pm after about 18 hours of travelling. The airport bus dropped us at the road corner nearby so we only had a short walk to the guesthouse. Dee was outside talking to some other guests and greeted us with a smile, and took us down the long corridor to the rooms.

We'd requested a double room online when booking but were given a twin room and told to push the beds together. Not a huge problem, especially as we only stayed two nights, but something to be aware of if you are booking in advance and want a double room.

As other people have said, the rooms are huge - unnecessarily so, really! The floor seemed very clean though, as did the bathroom (bar a few cobwebs on the ceiling). For some reason our room had high windows into the corridor which was kept lit all night, so the room didn't get fully dark.

We paid 400 baht each night for a fan room. Have decided since that we will probably fork out for AC from now on as the fan was quite loud at night and it was super hot. The rooms though were very good value and apart from the noise of the fan there was very little other noise, from the street or from other guests. We were right next to the reception and entrance so were pleased there wasn't too much noise at night.

Dee and the other guesthouse staff seemed to be rarely at the front desk; this was a bit of a problem when we needed to check out early in the morning, but we did manage to find someone and were given our deposit of 200 baht back with no issues. We found the free breakfast of a cup of coffee or tea and two slices of bread useful on that day, but would recommend venturing out to nearby cafes and restaurants if you have the time.

Overall, a great place to start our trip, and the location in the centre of Old Town was excellent - some beautiful buildings around, and nice restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocmilk03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
0.1 mi away
Baan Sutra Guesthouse
Baan Sutra Guesthouse
#9 of 177 in Phuket Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
In Phuket House
In Phuket House
#3 of 12 in Talat Yai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ming Shou Boutique House
Ming Shou Boutique House
#17 of 177 in Phuket Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuket 346
Phuket 346
#627 of 997 in Phuket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mbed Phuket
Mbed Phuket
#24 of 210 in Phuket Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D's Corner & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D's Corner & Guesthouse

Property: D's Corner & Guesthouse
Address: 132 Talang Road | Talad-Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — D's Corner & Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 12 rooms, this property contains all the amenities. There is fan or air condition, desk, with bathroom attach, free wireless in each of the hotel's well-equipped rooms. For the comfort and convenience of guests, you'll also find free Wi-Fi in every rooms. Convenient location, a dedicated staff and first-rate facilities make this hotel a favorite among travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your D's Corner & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
D's Corner & Guesthouse Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing