We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed everything about it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rider Cafe

Rider Cafe
Ranked #61 of 787 Restaurants in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Cafe, American, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: RIder Cafe offers a mix of genuine Thai food, Burgers and Sandwiches. Vittoria Coffee and cakes. Our burger was voted the best burger in Phuket by a poll in the biggest english speaking newspaper on the island. We are located in the heart of old Phuket Town surrounded by galleries traditional Phuket architecture, museums and classic Mom&Pop shops. Enjoy the non hectic side of Phuket!
Rincon de Guayabitos, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed everything about it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff and even the owner took time to talk to us. Food & drink were right on. Staff speak and understand English well, location is good, food and drink hit the spot. Interesting story to hotel & owners.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FritzAlfredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    39
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copacabana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious food - the best in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in Phuket Town for three nights and are at Rider 3 times! We loved the food, good menu selection and friendly staff and atmosphere. A little gem in Phuket Town, definitely stop in for a feed. They also have a great selection of cakes, ice cream and muffins!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A pleasant cafe to grab a refreshing drink.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We came upon the Rider Cafe whilst walking through Phuket Old Town late one Saturday afternoon. The place was clean and welcoming and the two young waitstaff were very friendly. We only had drinks here as it was a little early for dinner which we intended to have once at the Night Market. So cannot comment on the food, however the place has character and it was very pleasant sitting there sipping on refreshing drink after walking around in the heat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reidyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good spicy and sour soup”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My spicy and sour chicken soup was very good but the service was slow. Very similiar to any other tourist type restaurant/bar. Staff was friendly enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 19pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you come for the raving reviews of the burger, you will be disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I am an American living in Thailand for quite a while and sometimes, I just want a burger (I have burrito cravings too).

I found this place highly rated on TA and lots of people were talking about the burgers. We decided to drive up from Chalong to give it a shot. Atmosphere is alright, people are kind and friendly, my girl got a salad and it was good, so the only problem was my burger.

I ordered the bacon burger and fries. This burger would not pass anywhere in the states. I don't really understand. The bun was toasted and quality, cheese and bacon were legit, veggies were ok, but I have no idea what was up with this beef. It was one small patty. It was super thin, like as thin as the bacon. It was over cooked, and crispy. All of the components were here for a good burger but the actual beef part of the burger got lost in the kitchen on the way to my table.

The other food looked pretty good, but I wouldn't recommend driving over here just to get a burger.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rider Cafe also viewed

 
Phuket Town, Phuket
Phuket Town, Phuket
 

Been to Rider Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing