We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Panwa Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 180 Phuket Town B&B and Inns
Mount Barker, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best coffee around”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Directly across the raod from the Radisson Blu resort, the service is so friendly and the coffee is the best you will find locally. At the moment just beverages and sweets, but the owner Sathiya is intending to start doing meals in a month or so. It's just a very quiet and pleaseant place to have a drink. There is a Guesthouse above, but we did not stay so can't comment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights. Rooms are huge, new, nicely decorated with lots of natural light and private balcony. Everyday cleaning was definetely a big plus. Owner was at coffee shop on the first floor when we arrived, she was a perfect host, always smiling and helping us. Booked for us day trup on Phuket and tickets to Phantasea show on good price. Helped us to rent a bike which is the must there as Cape Panwa is really far from everything so renting a bike is good option for exploring the island. Taxi is expensive there and if you want to explore surroundings than motorbike is the best option.
I've enjoyed my stay at this guesthouse and could recommend it as well as tasteful coffee from our host.
Single issue happend during our last night there as neighbours were celebrating huge wedding and sang karaoke all night long extremely loud. Ear plugs didn't help at all. It was single thing that spoilt a bit our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _11301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in December 2012. The studio was exactly as advertised and seen on the pictures, a large, fully furnished room. The bed was very large and comfortable. The studio was cleaned everyday. Ours was on the street so a bit noisy but it was OK since there is not much traffic in Panwa.
Our family was staying at the Radisson blu just opposite the street so it was very convenient for us. The guesthouse is within 10 minutes walking from Panwa Cape promenade.
The owner has been extremely helpful, and always with smile. She has arranged for us scooter renting and taxi to the airport. The cafe downstairs is lovely and we have enjoyed her nice caramel macchiato!

We have appreciated our stay here and definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinacecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in December.

Rooms are huge, they are studio apartments with a microwave, breakfast area, excellent cable TV, sofa, balcony, en suite, and a lovely big bed. The rooms are very clean and are cleaned thoroughly everyday. Location is very good for exploring Cape Panwa, it is a short walk down to the sea front, where there is an excellent restaurant called Sawasdee, and other restaurants. Small bar is a few doors down and is nice for a cocktail before a meal out.

The coffee shop downstairs does some delicious drinks, highly recommend the blueberry shake.

Be warned that there is not a great beach in the immediate area, however if you walk 20mins or take a taxi roughly 100bht to the cove bar and restaurant (average food and drinks) then walk right over a small bridge and then round the edge of the cliffs on the rocks you will find a lovely beach, only a 30minute walk from the guesthouse in total.

We would also recommend tree tops restaurant two doors down from the guesthouse for lunch and also laundry service.

The aquarium is close by and is worth a visit, although some of the tanks are rather on the small side.

Overall we would highly recommend this guesthouse, we felt very much at home and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We only stayed at Panwa Guesthouse for 2 nights but thoroughly enjoyed our visit.
Ya is a great host and welcomed us in her coffee shop which serves great drinks.

The room was very clean and well presented, we were put in a roadside room but weren't affected by any noise.

Ya also helped us with ferry transport to Phi Phi and provided us with a lift in the morning too!

One tip which we realise in hindsight is to hire a scooter and explore Phuket under your own steam, taxis can be pricey due to lack of competition.

All in all an excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robc883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Having stayed in Thailand over many years and different levels of accomodation from 5 star to backpacking accomodation this guest house has to be one of the best! The owners make every effort to ensure you have a fantastic stay, they will even take you to local restaurants off the tourist map to experience true Thai food and hospitality! Walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. Also, the best coffee in Thailand! We will continue to come back as a regular destination as this is a hidden gem!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RafflesTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Very lovely guesthouse. We fully enjoyed our stay. The room is spacious and has everything you need. There are few good restaurant around, beach, quay, some shops, cafe, aquarium and turtle farm. If you looking for a good massage ask the owner which the best place to go.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Booberm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
0.1 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
2,539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
982 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.9 mi away
Bandara Phuket Beach Resort
Bandara Phuket Beach Resort
#11 of 13 in Cape Panwa
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Panwa Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panwa Guesthouse

Property: The Panwa Guesthouse
Address: 19/33 Moo.8 Vichit, Muang, Phuket Town, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Panwa Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Panwa Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Panwa Guesthouse Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing