We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything is nice and everybody is nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suay Restaurant

Suay Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 787 Restaurants in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything is nice and everybody is nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner at the Suay restaurant with our small baby 9 months. Everybody is very nice and they are very available to help us with the baby and gave us a perfect service. We chose the set menu for 2 persons and the food was excellent. Nice delicious salads, and delicious main course. Very delicious also the dessert. We really liked a lot and appreciated their Thai cuisine. Compliment to the chef Noi and next time when we come back we will come again. Thanks

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilaria0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    120
    26
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

It took us a long ride to get into this restaurant and it was well worth it. It opens at 5 pm and we were there just at that time. Not many visitors inside (which is a plus), very attentive waitresses, nice surroundings, even some place on the lawn for the kids to have fun. The food was great: crab cakes with mango chatney, papaya salad with soft shell crab, tuna tar-tar, snow fish - everything arrived to our table perfectly well-cooked. We had some surprises though:) If you love trying new combinations, order an eggplant salad with some great coconut dressing or a mangosteen salad with watermelon. Both are unique and tasty.

The dessets were great too. My son enjoyed the home-made brownie with coconut ice-cream, and smaller kids loved the mango ice-cream.

The prices start from 99 baht for a plate of fried rice with shrips, salads are between 130-200 baht, most dishes are 200-300 baht. The wine list is extensive but a bit pricy, starting from 1,400 baht for a bottle. However, they serve some peculiar non-alcohol coctails that were tasty and refreshing (i.e. passion fruit+ginger+mint).

It's a good place to take your friends who are new to Phuket. They will get a chance to try authentic Thai dishes with some modern twist. Cheff offers some sets for 2-4 persons. We tried 2 of them and were absolutely happy (a set for 2 is actually good for 3 persons and set for 4 is good for 6:).

We visited this place with our friend who has been in Phuket for 3 weeks and tried most of the restaurants here. The next day he craved to visit it again as he wanted his wife to enjoy the food, so we did. By far, this is the best restaurant in Phuket for us.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Held my 60th birthday party at Suay. The award winning Chef Tammasak Chootong and his staff went all the way to make it a memorable evening. A full table of nine; fantastic food and great wine. The ambiance and location in a quaint home atmosphere has made this the number 1, Five Star venue in Phuket. Our entire group applauds the Chef and staff! Pay them a visit you will be glad you did.
Jim and Elly Kannegaard: traveling Asia for 26 years.

Helpful?
2 Thank JIm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food in unique setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Went to have dinner after research and recommendations, wasnt disappointed, food was fantastic. You walk through the gate of the restaurant finding calm and simplicity which is a stark contrast to the outside world where it is almost chaotic due to the constant procession of people cars and motorcycles. We have recommended the restaurant to friends and looking forward to our next meal at Suay tomorrow night.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PJHLAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fusion Kitchen as is best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Finaly after long time, mean September we had Dinner in Suay!
Quality is much over the top and the speed kitchen works is second to none
Since our last visit, the Winecard significant improofed So what else you want...
Lets find out what Noi offers you from the kitchen, you will be surprised!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suay Restaurant also viewed

 
Phuket Town, Phuket
Phuket Town, Phuket
 

Been to Suay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing