We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in unique setting”
Review of Suay Restaurant

Suay Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 804 Restaurants in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food in unique setting”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Went to have dinner after research and recommendations, wasnt disappointed, food was fantastic. You walk through the gate of the restaurant finding calm and simplicity which is a stark contrast to the outside world where it is almost chaotic due to the constant procession of people cars and motorcycles. We have recommended the restaurant to friends and looking forward to our next meal at Suay tomorrow night.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PJHLAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    127
    27
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fusion Kitchen as is best!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Finaly after long time, mean September we had Dinner in Suay!
Quality is much over the top and the speed kitchen works is second to none
Since our last visit, the Winecard significant improofed So what else you want...
Lets find out what Noi offers you from the kitchen, you will be surprised!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great and bads feelings”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We went to this restaurant to have a good time and good food, in fact we had a really good time, the food was good, the staff excellent... The bad news arrived around 4 am, when we both felt big pains in stomach.... We passed all the night and day in the hotel room to be not dar from the WC...
So at the end... We won't keep a good feeling about this place

Helpful?
Thank Ssola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noimfk, Owner at Suay Restaurant, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Value costumer, i am very sorry to hear that both of you got sick after eating at our place, however i am not trying to write an excuse but explaining my thought and diagreement about the situation, there are a few reasons speaks against your complain about having food poisoning from our food, please see below reasons

1.We are a restaurant with a high turnover on food, we are sending out about 100 – 200 plates a night which are most repeat famous/bestselling dishes, so there was no complain about food poisoning from the other table from the same night

2.We having the luck to be next to Phuket down town market which we are buying daily food from it since we have limited storage so we are not able to stock too much food anyway, therefore minimum risk on food spoilage

3.Since opening we never had one case of food poisoning on our record

Hope the above can explain my disagreement on your comment

However should you be around Phuket town in the future we would like to invite you to have dinner at our place a gain and be able to wipe out the bad memory

Chef Noi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Found this little restaurant on our last night in Phuket. All I can say is that it was the BEST Thai meal that we experienced during our stay. The service was very quick both for drinks and meals, the place is very clean and they even accommodated for my fussy eating son by providing him with chicken fried rice (not on the menu).
The entree's were big enough to share between at least 3 people and the main meal left us just enough room to share a dessert.
Will make this a more common visit when we next holiday there. Well worth the travel to wherever you are staying in Thailand.

Helpful?
Thank Simpy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, quaint space, generous helpings, fun people, affable chef/ owner”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Loving the crab cakes here! They Rock!...

The food is delicious and demands an wide selection in the order, that means try a little of everything! The dips are tasty, the mixes send a message of "taste" to the brain and the drinks are fun!

I've been here a few times now - always with a bunch of friends, and I have been pleasently surprised ALWAYS!

taste sensations to be sampled! Eat and be merry!! :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suay Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Suay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing