We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sincere, contemporary Thai at fantastic prices”
Review of Suay Restaurant

Suay Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 802 Restaurants in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Sincere, contemporary Thai at fantastic prices”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Suay Restaurant is based in a very homely and straightforward setting. A small front garden with tropical plants accommodates a handful of guests while the bulk of the eating goes on further back from the road within (and under) a simple roofed structure. Suay is very clean and inviting and the simplicity of the decor makes for a very casual ambience which is definitely welcoming. The staff are friendly and even though glasses were allowed to run dry on occasion we were looked after very well. The true passion at this establishment however is to be found in Chef Noi's food.

Not typical Thai by any means, each and every dish that we enjoyed was imaginatively yet sensibly put together and most importantly, cooked to perfection. No small statement when you consider that we worked our way through 9 very different dishes between the two of us (!) and each one was really enjoyable. Note, go big here, the portions are not exactly large here and prices are very affordable so if in doubt, order more! There's nothing pretentious or all that fussy about the menu here, this is simply very good food at very affordable prices being executed in a unique and delicious way.

The restaurant was filled with both locals and foreigners alike and as far as I could tell, everyone was enjoying the restaurant just as much as each other.

We will be bringing our friends here in future to help us continue to work our way through this special menu!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Herriotcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    125
    27
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
92 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Thailand?”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Suay restaurant might not be the best restaurant in Thailand (there is Nahm in Bangkok), but for sure the best value in this great food country. Suay proposes 6-course set menus for 2 people at 1000 and 1200 baht for 2 (for more people it gets even cheaper) (compared to 1700 baht set menu for 1 person at Nahm). For more people it gets even cheaper. The menu we had was truly outstanding. Suay — a thai chef that grew up in Germany — doesn't cook fusion food, but sophisticated and creative contemporary thai cuisine with very light touches of western or japanese influences. For example, he adds raw salmon to an amazing thai pomelo salad, or does a thai version of tuna tartar — thais usually don't eat raw fish, but these dishes just work perfectly and truly enhance and enrich the thai cuisine tradition.

The menu is gigantic, you could spend a week eating here. If you don't have a full week in Phuket Town, I highly recommend the outstanding set menus. Outside Phuket Town, the rest of the island is a culinary wasteland, but Suay alone is well worth the trip to Phuket.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank belsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and cocktails”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Probably best meal I've had in Phuket. Excellent fusion of tastes. Even the cocktails were superb. Looking forward to going back. Hope second visit is as good as the first

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jrmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very impressed ...”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a great night at suays last night ...food was great ..tuna larb is a must to have ...wish we ordered one each ..!!! .. we ordered little tasting plates .. Plus two mains between three people.. Staff friendly and professional .. Price .. Extremely affordable ...if staying in patong ..definitely worth the taxi trip to visit this amazing restsurant... Will go again when visiting Phuket ..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chet60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to go!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a great place to go period. The staff are very good and the food is very well priced for what you get. I've been living in Phuket for the past 13 years and some restaurants are starting to pop up that are screaming for attention. This is one of them that defiantly deserves it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suay Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Suay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing