We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great... not at all :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Siray Bay - really pretty from afar in the early part of the day, but once the water starts to recede you notice how dirty it is and how little there's left for you to swin in.

This hotel is in desperate need of a remodel. Our villa with the private pool had an amazing view and was always very clean after the housekeepers visit. However, the pool was falling apart! This is in terms of the tiles in the pool. Everyday a new tile would come off. When walking on the grounds, I noticed that some of the stones on the bottom part of the Horizon pool were loose and even shaky. If you looked above at the ceiling of the outside ledge of the roof, there was chipped paint. The list goes on...

Location - very far and you have to rely on the shuttle with scheduled times and the need to book your seat. Not convenient. You can take a taxi but who wants to deal with that all the time.

One thing that I must say that I enjoyed was the wonderful breakfast buffet! The bad thing about this were the fruit flies surrounding the grapes. Not appetizing.

The pool boys were also very nice and the Horizon pool was a lot of fun to play in and enjoy the sun.

Room Tip: Get your own villa with a private infinity pool close to the Horizon pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Daniel F,

Thank you for your time to provide a review. We much appreciate your feedback as it assists us with our ongoing efforts to improve and renew our resort.

We have taken our guests’ feedback on board regarding the conditions and are currently undertaking enhancements which include resurfacing of the pools in our pool villas with new tiles.

I thank you for your comments and would like to invite you to experience our renewed resort should you plan to return to Phuket. I look forward to seeing you again.

Be well,
Janet McNab
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Property and pictures looked good but it stops there. 45 min drive from the airport. Checkin is at 3pm, we arrived at 5pm and our room was not ready. We waited 30 min at the desk and then another 30 in the lobby. They gave us free wifi and a glass of cold juice but we just wanted to unpack and relax by the pool before dinner, that didn't happen. Our room had a view of trees, hardly the ocean. In order to get anywhere you need to wait for a golfcart so if your in a rush, forget it. There was no sign in the lobby indicating there was a private event at the italian restaurant so we were turned away. The Seasons restaurant has poor customer service and a long wait. There were multiple miscommunications with the front desk staff when questions were asked. We asked for the shuttle to old phukettown from the driver and the front desk, we ended up at a huge deparment store for 3 hours, extrememly upset as we reserved this time for boutiques, art gallery's and good restaurants. The room was very large however not as clean or updated as it should be. There was mold everywhere and a funky smell from the toilet room. The toilet seat was very used, it was orange. The pools look great however there is limited seating. Horizon Pool was full by 8:30AM. Splash Pool had many tiles missing but the restaurant there had great drinks, very pricey though. 600BAHTS for 2 fruit juices. The best kept pool is Prego and the food/setting is the most great. We had an excursion booked early so we ordered room service at 4:45 AM as the restaurant wasn't open, however the breakfast took over 1 hour when it should take 45 min and we hardly got a bite before having to leave. This location did not meet our expectations which was extrememly dissapointing for our honeymoon. Hotel needs a major customer service training session and some reno's so it doesnt look so run down.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unbelizable11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Unbelizable11,

Thank you for your feedback about service and experience at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa, Phuket.

I would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during checking in and the cleanliness in the room during your recent stay. Please rest assured that we are making every effort to address your comments as well as to improve stay experience for all of our guests.

I am also truly sorry to hear about services of our service shortfalls which I have shared with the team so that we can make improvements to our service and communication.

While I cannot turn back the time on your disappointing experience I would like to again apologize as we have not met your expectations on this visit. However, I would hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to restore your faith in our service and property.

Be well,
Janet McNab
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Wonderful, friendly staff, great facilities and great views....excellent.

Resort is let down by poor maintenance - tiles missing in pool, mold/bad paint on exterior of accommodation block walls.....but this is very minor.

Will definitely go back and can recommend!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just returned from a three week visit to Vietnam and Phuket. We concluded with a two night stay at the Westin Siray Bay, a three day sailing trip, and one last night at the Westin before our long flights back home.

The property is amazing. The rooms are very comfortable (heavenly beds!!!) with amazing views of the bay. The food on property is good and reasonably priced for a hotel that has you captive (Phuket city is a 25 minute 500 Baht cab ride away).

Special thanks and recondition to Alex Lopez - part of the Westin Experience Team. He greeted us at check in and offered any assistance we needed. Was able to get a restaurant recommendation for Phuket City (Raya - must try) as well a great person to talk to about Phuket and the hotel.

Due to the layout of the hotel, it never really appeared to be crowded. There is some difficulty getting prime pool chairs in the sun if you are not early, but there are plenty to be found on the lower levels away from the main pool.

Another shout out to the bartenders in the Horizon Pool...they make a great last day of trip Long Island(s)...

Room Tip: Splurge for a Suite with a pool...amazing oasis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djm460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed for oneweek in Februaruy 2014 and really have very little negative to say about the hotel, with any minor inconveniences more than compensated for by the overwhelmingly positive attitudes of the staff. From check in to check out we were made to feel exceedingly welcome by every single person we came into contact with.

It was our wedding anniversary while we were there and the hotel went out of its way to make this a special occasion.. Very special kudos to Alex Lopez, the Westin Experience Manager, as well as Ploy, both of whom went out of their way to ensure that everything went well. Both were very successful in that regard and we cannot than either enough.

The facility is visually spectacular, with views from every location. The 3 pools offered a variety of experiences but our favourite was the Splash pool. We tried all 3 restaurants and the deli which were all very good. The off site restaurant recommended by Ploy was also spectacular.

Of course nothing is ever 100% perfect and the purpose of a review site such as TA is to provide meaningful feedback to help others with making decisions.



Pros.
Outstanding staff.
Spectacular views.
Great facilities so that you might never need to leave the resort if you didn't want to.
Great food.
Easily accessible taxis to get downtown at a bargain price.
Quiet location.Some people dislike that the hotel is out of the way with no local restaurants etc within walking distance. This was a plus for us. Taxis were constantly available at the front desk and on all occassions we used them they would wait to bring you back , all in the same fare. When we went to the weekend market and then for dinner the driver waited for 4 hours in total for the same overall fare, which at approximately $25 US was significantly less than you would pay in N America or Europe for even half the distance, never mind the waiting.


Cons
Hilly. Lots of carts were available all the time , however, and it's not like it's a secret to anyone arriving. We never had to wait more than 2 minutes for a cart.

Biting insects. It has been built in a forested area so there are a fair number of these, although you don't see them until the evenings . My wife is particularly sensitive, whereas I was never bitten once in a whole week stay. The deli sold a repellant that was more effective than the one we brought from home and we found out, towards the end of our stay, that we could spray the room before we left for supper and we were fine when we returned. If you are at all like my wife bring an antistamine .

Closing restaurants for private functions. We were a little disappointed on two nights not to be able to eat in the restaurants wehad planned because they were closed for private functions ( there were conventions on) with no advance notice to other guests. We had been looking forwards to a nice wagyu beef meal at the Italian restaurant ( advertised in the hotel and only available at weekends) and had chosen the Sunday evening. When we made the trek over to the restaurant it was closed for the function. We would have gone the previous night had we known. Similarly we wanted to eat at EEST, our favourite , on our last night only to find the same. A simple sheet of weekly closings/ events provided at check in could have avoided those two minor irritants on what was otherwise an exceptional stay.



Beach. When the tide is out the beach isn't the prettiest but we used the pools anyway so it was not an issue for us.

Room Tip: As far as I know every room has water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fizzer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at the Westing Siray Bay for 4 N/5 D from 23/02 - 27/02. The hotel location is excellent and the view from the hotel room was awesome.

The hotel staff always had a smile on their face and eager to help. We were very impressed by the Boggy Car staff....they would drop us to our rooms at midnight with a smile on their face.

Rooms were awesome and had everything you need for a relaxing getaway.

Great work Westin and Keep it up

Room Tip: Choose the Superior Room with Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reetwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Reetwick,

Thank you for providing a review about your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa, Phuket.

Thank you for your positive feedback about our team. We truly appreciate it and will look forward to seeing you again.

Be well,
Janet McNab
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here as part of an extended honeymoon, after a delayed flight in we were exhausted. We had such wonderful service checking in, to preface this I should state that my husband is a platinum member in the SPG program and this hotel truly values their Platinum members and goes above and beyond in service, but there are many times when visiting the front desk they had no inclination that we had spg status and the service was the same. We had a room on one of the top hills, beautiful view but a long walk up. You either have the option of walking up the hill, taking the cart or walking up a lot of stairs. This, however is what you are getting when you book a hotel on the side of a mountain. I have read some reviews about dated surroundings and furniture, however this is a tropical beach resort. This is exactly what should be there. The breakfast at the hotel was more than just breakfast they had breakfast and heavier lunch foods available including smoothies and mto crepes. The food in the hotel was reasonably priced compared to American hotel standards, but compared to outside the hotel from any local place it was much higher. They had a separate platinum happy hour which was lovely and the service was impeccable. I felt at this hotel more than any other one they truly valued all the time that you spend in hotels to earn that. I truly felt like we had 5 star service throughout our entire stay. The only thing I would change about this was that I wish the shuttle to town was free and more frequent. You are a little isolated at the hotel and it would be nice to have a more frequent shuttle without making both outbound and return reservations, sometimes you don't know how long you want to stay in town. I can't wait to go back again we truly had a wonderful visit here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Rossel79,

I appreciate you taking time to post a review. Thank you for your consistent loyalty to Starwood Preferred Guest program. We value your feedback and I was happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.

It is rewarding to know that you enjoyed services and offerings we provide. Thank you for sharing your feedback and I look forward to seeing you again.

Be well,
Janet McNab
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
21.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
21.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
10.4 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#65 of 387 in Kathu
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
7.8 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
950 reviews
9.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket

Address: 21/4 Moo 1,Rasada, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Phuket Town
#2 Spa Hotel in Phuket Town
#3 Family Hotel in Phuket Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range: $138 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Siray Bay Resort And Spa Phuket
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket Hotel Phuket Town
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing