We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel decor with inconsistent service level in a poorly chosen location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel decor with inconsistent service level in a poorly chosen location”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel rooms and facilities meet the SPG westin standard level and typical 4 to 4.5 star resort you would expect in Phuket.

My room was fine but my friend paid a bit extra for a pool access room only to find out the pool has the size of a jacuzzi and is shared with the next room.

Power trip happened every 30 minute during a thunderstorm on the first night of our stay. The ac fan and the lights went on and off throughout the night, and if you are a light sleeper like me and want some rest, I would suggest bringing ear plugs and eye mask.

The service level is a hit and miss. While we have encountered some excellent hotel staff who made our experience pleasant, we have also met a fairly large portion of staff who are simply unhelpful, either due to inability to understand simple requests in english (we are talking about simple food requests) or simply do not care. When we asked one of the waitresses during breakfast to follow up a previous order, the waitress explicitly showed her frustration by stomping out from our table in the middle of ordering and ignored us for the rest of our stay. At another time, we were being transported from our friend's hotel room to our room in the middle of a rainy night by a buggy ride arranged by the hotel. During the ride, we saw the driver declined another couple who were clearly struggling in the middle of the rain and would like to hitchhike for a ride to their hotel room, even though there are 2 other empty seats in the buggy.

There is nothing to do near the hotel location and the hotel is at least 45 minutes from Patong, where most of the water sports, spa and shopping activities can be found. The hotel spa is always booked and there is not much activities organised by hotel for the younger crowd (i.e. just one hour windsurfing lesson available for 4 people every day and may be canoeing).

Central Festival, the largest shopping mall is unimpressive with mostly foreign brands and weekend market does not have a roof (Hard to go during rain). Decent Spa that is not a tourist trap is almost non existent in Phuket Town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chupachups1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Chupachups1,

Thank you for providing a review.

It disappoints me to read about your experience. This is not indicative of our normally very high standard of service and for that I sincerely apologise. I will personally discuss your concerns with restaurant and buggy team as well as look into improving experience for our future guests.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations this time around, however, we certainly take your feedback onboard. I hope in the future you would give us another opportunity to restore your faith in the Westin Siray Bay.

Be well,
Janet McNab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    639
    263
    88
    55
See reviews for
470
838
91
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed in the Discovery Suite of the hotel in May 2013 for 6 nights and it was a fabulous experience. The room was spacious, plush and the view of the bay from the full length windows was simply out of the world. Both the rooms of the suite had nice balconies where one could spend endless lazy hours enjoying the hues of the sea. The food at the hotel was great especially the Seasonal Taste and the Prego restaurants we had visited. The hotel has multiple swimming pools and we had spent some great hours swimming. The icing on the cake was definitely the friendliness of the hotel staff. I would like to thank Jack at the front office, Mai and Jay at Prego and Seasonal taste respectively.
There are however a few draw backs of the hotel:
1. The beach is a rather small strip not the typical white stretch of sand one could be expecting. More so the beach wasn't very clean due to the debris that lands there, probably due to its location.
2. The location is very secluded. So if you're looking for a quiet laid back holiday, which was our case, then this is just perfect but if you want to step out of the hotel and hop into a nice street with a few shops, well this isn't the place. There's nothing much outside the hotel. You should then rather be staying at the other side of the island which is busier.
3. Was lucky not to be staying in the rooms with a private pool because those hardly afforded any privacy, with the pool separated from the pool of the adjacent room with just a sheet of transparent glass.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with the private pool not much of privacy there. The Discovery suite is great for fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trent890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Trent890,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback. It is great to hear that you had a fabulous experience staying with us.

Thank you for your review and I will certainly pass your comments to Jack, May and Jay. We are pleased to have made your stay memorable and hope to welcome you back to the Westin Siray Bay again soon.

Be well,
Janet McNab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel was fantastic with great view and cosy lobby. We were served with welcome drinks and cold towel. We booked Deluxe room with twin bed. Room is quite spacious for 2 of us. Our room has sea view with balcony. The hotel provide shuttle service to the city, but it was far from Patong Beach (west coast). The hotel is located on the east coast. Shuttle will go to 2 shopping malls: Robinson and Central Festival on the alternate days. These 2 places are around 10-20 minutes drive away from the hotel. We paid 200 baht per person per way to take shuttle. The hotel is good for family or couple who would like to relax or hibernate in the hotel, because the location was quite far away from everything else and a little costly to travel up and down (if you take taxi). Food was good too. We booked a table for "catch of the day" promotion. Seafood was good. Staff was very friendly in general.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattySJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear PattySJ,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. It is nice to know that your experience was enjoyable.

Thank you for your refreshing comments on the fantastic views, our spacious room and service from our team. I’m glad that you enjoyed our catch of the day. Fresh seafood is indeed a must when you visit Phuket.

PattySJ, again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Westin Siray bay again soon.

Be well,
Janet McNab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My mum and I have just enjoyed 8 wonderful nights at this resort. The room was beautiful & clean and a good size. Breakfast buffet was fantastic. Many choices of food & cuisines. It is away from the hustle & bustle of Patong which suited us. Friendly helpful staff, shuttle bus service in Phuket town daily made shopping easy. We have nothing negative to say about our stay here, I would love to come back with my children in the future as also seems great for kids with great pools & kids club. Thank you!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Leah W,

It is great to know that your stay with was wonderful. Thank you for taking time to share it with other travellers.

Thank you for your comments especially on our signature Heavenly® Bed, breakfast, service from our associates. I hope you come back with your husband, family and your mum on your next visit to Phuket. We look forward to having you with us.

Be well,
Janet McNab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Firstly this is a huge hotel but don't let that put you off. Everywhere there are golf carts that will take you anywhere you want and if you set off to walk you can be sure a smiling face will catch you up and give you a lift. The best thing here is the staff. Unfailingly polite, smiling and willing to help in any way. They actually look as if they enjoy their jobs.
Breakfast vast - a huge choice all served in an inside or outside venue with views of the bay.
Other restaurants excellent quality especially enjoyed Prego the beach side Italian.
Rooms - excellent. I had pool access. I recommend asking foe "end" room. That way you get a little more space outside and do not have to "share" a patio. Yes there are a few glitches with the rooms but nothing that would spoil enjoyment. I see that one guest complained about scratches on the bedside cabinet. A little unfair when the rooms have everything you need and more. Even charging station for mobiles etc with UK plugs.. A little mean with the tea bags - two per day of English breakfast but if you ask more are supplied readily.. The only real moan I would have with rooms is the towels and robes. They need replacing. Very tired. Otherwise excellent. Good to have open bathroom for the view and even better to have privacy blind when needed. Not everyone likes to bathe /use the WC in front of their partner. I should say that the bathroom is fully enclosed - just a window onto the rest of the room. Beach - not the best feature but I think they know that and make up for it with the pools which are all excellent. Would I come again - yes would I recommend - yes. Value for money exceptional. Tours quite pricey but good - I did Phi Phi and Phang Nga . 3,300 baht each for one person but wouldn't have missed them - especially the caves. All in all excellent and am on my last day here typing this. I would definitely return. Oh - nearly forgot about the bed. Best nights sleep ever in a hotel. Fabulously comfortable and huge!

Room Tip: If you have pool access ask for end room. Otherwise ask for Sala pool villa if available. They were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Judith B,

Thank you for your fantastic review and the details you have shared with other travellers here.

It is wonderful to know that you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for your positive feedback on our restaurants, rooms, our signature Heavenly Bed and service from our associates.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back on your return trip to Phuket in the near future.

Be well,
Janet McNab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I just returned from an incredible stay at the Westin Siray Bay. The property is approximately 10-15 minutes away from Phuket Town but worlds away from everything at the same time. The moment you drive through the gates, you are transported to a place of charm, uniqueness and absolute beauty.

Arrival and check-in was flawless, handled by Jackie and his assistant. We were treated to a welcome beverage and a cool towel, both very welcomed after the drive from the airport. We were taken to our beautiful room by bellman, who also assisted us with our luggage and gave a complete intro/tour of our room, especially making special mention of the sunset view that we would have from our private balcony. Thanks for the heads up...we never missed a sunset during our stay!!

The rooms are spacious with a separate shower and tub. The tub has a window that looks into the bedroom but has a privacy blind, if so inclined.

The buffet breakfast is excellent! There was daily variety and therefore never became boring. The fresh bread and smoothies cannot be missed!

There are three pools and the beach area. We mainly used the Horizon pool (closest to lobby area) and thoroughly enjoyed our drinks at the Pool Bar and food service handled by Prego (Italian restaurant of the hotel). We also had snacks and coffees from Daily Treats, located next to the pool.

For exercise buffs, the walk around the property is great, as is the gym with its beautiful views and first-class equipment. Although there is not a stationed attendant, staff would come by every 10-15 minutes to ensure that everything was clean/wiped down, towels and cold water replenished.

We took an island tour with a private driver and we were very relieved to come back "home" after visiting other properties/beaches. Although some had incredible beaches with multi-hues of blue/green, they also had HOARDS of beachgoers. If you like having persons rubbing elbows with you on the beach, be my guest. The Westin had occupancy in excess of 80% during our stay but you could not tell...it was very peaceful and relaxing!

Highly recommended for a great stay in Phuket!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RafaATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear RafaATL,

Thank you so much for sharing your stay experience with other travellers.

Your rewarding comments will certainly be passed to our team. Thank you for recommending our resort and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Be well,
Janet McNab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Excellent resort with a very helpful and friendly staff. If you want to go to Phuket, but want to avoid the hard partying crowd, this is absolutely the best. Located on the Southwest side of the Island just past Phuket Town, it is on the water. Very romantic. But, there are some problems. They will nickel and dime you to death with prices. Not too many freebees here. You are a bit isolated, so be prepared for longer trips to the hot spots. The electricity cuts off when you pull the room key, so if you are out of your room for a while, it will be very hot on arrival. The air conditioning won't go below 23.5c/74.3F, so it takes a long time to cool down to just shy of comfortable. But, beyond that, I recommend this place.

Room Tip: Don't fall for the expensive room with a little private pool. Its like a cold jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dallas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Dallas M,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay.

It is always nice to hear feedback from our guests. I hope you had a relaxing holiday staying with us. Normally in a hot climate, the air-conditioning takes only a few minutes to cool down the room.

Thank you for recommending our resort and I look forward to your return trip to Westin Siray Bay soon.

Be well,
Janet McNab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
21.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
16.9 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
10.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
878 reviews
22.3 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket

Property: The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Address: 21/4 Moo 1,Rasada, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Phuket Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in Phuket Town
#3 Family Hotel in Phuket Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Siray Bay Resort And Spa Phuket
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket Hotel Phuket Town
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing