We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge and isolated property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very big resort (hundreds of rooms, spread all across the hill) isolated from the town but close to old Pukhet (a bit less from the airport, budget c. 45-60 min to get there).

Large rooms and bathrooms (with bath and shower) offering everything you would expect from a 4* property, although nothing to write home about.

Good pools, one with a pool bar, always great for stays with friends. Can't swim from the beach but useful for beach games or suntanning. Friendly team, always providing good service. Recommended for a weekend with friends or chilling out if you live in the region, but will avoid it for special occasions as this place is really big and could get crowded if the resort is full.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jeremy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

981 - 987 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

we booked 2 deluxe seaveiw connecting room for 4 people for 1 night
thank you very much , the manager front office ( K. Ampiwan and k. ratcha) upgrade my room to pool villa access and warm greeting us with welcome fruit and drink
really appreciate that I get a wonderful veiw and have a special time to remember with my familly
easy to go to phuket old town by car about 15-20 min
if you look for 5-6 star hotel to stay with a great valuable time dont miss this
if you travel to the stone bridge phuket ( sapanhin ) you can see this is the one hotel is the most beatiful opposite the sea is westin siray bay phuket
I really love this place and will come again for cerebrate the wedding aniversary or birthday special occasion

Room Tip: choose the room near swimming pool and seaveiw
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patporn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Patporn S,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. It is wonderful to hear your Westin stay was a relaxing one and you enjoyed service from our associates.

It is always our pleasure to have provided our guests with a level of experience that is expected when staying at The Westin Siray Bay and we look forward to creating more wonderful memories on your special celebration.

Be well,
Janet McNab
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a quick 2-night stay at Westin Siray Bay prior to another trip elsewhere, and everything kicked off great with this hotel. Pickup from the airport all the way until check-in and being brought to my room -- all good. I even got upgraded to the Discovery Suite, where I had my own separate bedroom and living area, as well as my own plunge pool.

Loved the suite and its puristic design. Simple colors were used in the furnishings, which I appreciate. The plunge pool was terrific to jump into, in the hot weather, but I found it a tad bit too shallow.

Not much of beach there, just a small stretch and one has to walk down some distance to get from the room blocks to the beach. But anyway, I was happy to stay in my suite with my own lounge chair and pool.

Speaking of distance, however, the location and structure of this hotel does make it tedious to get around. Westin Siray Bay is built on what seems to be a hillside, so the entire hotel premises is on a slope, at a graduating angle. It is not on flat land. So even within the premises, one has to navigate steep stairs or uneven roads to get from the rooms to the reception or restaurants. Walking under the hot sun and fighting the force of gravity can be very tiring. They do provide buggy rides, but the ride itself can be very rough because, as mentioned, the roads are very uneven and steep. Sometimes it feels like the buggy may just tip over from the steep angles.

Food and drinks at the restaurants are good. My problem with this hotel came only on the morning of my departure. Having booked a buggy more than one day in advance to pick me up from my room, then get me to the reception for check-out, I arrived punctually at the lobby of my block that morning, and waited 10 minutes for the buggy that never showed. I had to drag my luggage back to my room (which, by the way, involves a short flight of stairs, a lift, and another short flight of stairs - so imagine my chagrin) to call the reception again. When I asked about my buggy, they said it was on its way, but it was another 10 minutes before the buggy finally showed. That just tells me the buggy was never "on its way", the people had completely forgotten about my buggy booking.

I was leaving anyway, so I was just more than grateful to check out and get to the airport to catch my flight. But having a hotel like Westin miss out a simple buggy booking, then even lie about it rather than admitting they forgot, is just appalling and ridiculous.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirls B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear ShirlsBai,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed our spacious Discovery suite and the relaxing plunge pool.

ShirlsBai, I am sorry to hear about the buggy miscommunication. We will discuss with the team to improve on making bookings for our buggies and making sure they arrive on schedule.

Thank you for your review. I hope that we can be of your service again.

Be well,
Janet McNab
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We went down to The Westin for a weekend away and stayed in the Sala Pool Villa. after reading some bad reviews about the hotel i was quite surprised how enjoyable our stay was.
Though the hotel is run down like every other resort in Thailand seems to be here was nothing wrong with our stay. The staff were absolutly amazing from when we checked in to when we checked out. Everyone always wore a smile and went out of their ways to help us.
Our villa was great with there being ample room and having our own private pool was a nice touch. The bed was amazing as in most Starwood Hotels.
The Buffet Breakfast was superb with a large choice and excellent service. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to escape for a few days.

Room Tip: The hotel is run down but the Sala Pool Villa was a top choice
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burgsybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Burgsybb,

Thank you for taking your time to provide a review and choosing to spend your holidays with us at the Westin Siray Bay.

I am naturally delighted to know that you enjoyed everything from wholesome breakfast to facilities we provide. Thank you for sharing your comments about our pool villas.

I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Westin Siray Bay in the near future.

Be well,
Janet McNab
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

There is no doubt that this hotel is nestled in a beautiful location and the rooms and cuisine are of a high standard.
I have enjoyed my stay here overall but but there are a number of areas where I feel the hotel is severely lacking. My comments are based on my experience of staying in hotels of similar standard all over the world and I hope they are constructive.
I feel the hotel is somewhat souless, especially at night. It lacks a focal point, a good lounge perhaps where people can congregate and enjoy a relaxing drink. At present there is only the lobby which is full of transient guests and people desperately taking advantage of the free internet.
Yes, the internet...I find it mildly depressing that a hotel of this standard charges guests for internet connection outside the public area....actually I find it penny pinching.
At night, once you have had your meal, there is absolutely nothing to do. You have a choice of joining the parade of lost souls in the lobby or retreating to your room for a feast of BBC World. The bar and lounge areas are pitifully inadequate.
Generally the drink prices are steep which is also offputting. The happy hour offers two for the price of one but only if you have the same drink! Why such stupid rules?
I cannot comment on the standard of entertainment at night because during my stay here there was no entertainment.
This hotel could be 5* plus if the management took a more hollistic approach regarding the 24 hour needs of guests and appreciate that many of us want to have a choice of things to do in the evening rather than go to bed at ten o'clock.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeecol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear zeecol,

Thank you for providing your feedback.

I am indeed disappointed to hear your review. Our resort is situated in a private cove providing a relaxing stay for guests with beautiful ocean views to take you to where you can truly relax and revitalize. Being a resort, we are trying to offer choices for guests to enjoy their time here. Our Mix Lounge is open until 1 a.m. for guests who would like to enjoy the evening until late.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us.

Be well,
Janet McNab
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was the first leg of our trip this summer. I was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews regarding the beach, however, the views from the pool on the hillside were amazing. We didn't use the beach but it seemed a fairly good area with plenty of loungers when we had a walk along it in the evenings.

The hotel got very crowded at the weekends and I did find it rather annoying that there was simply not the space for everyone in comfortable places. We ended up spending half a day on a sun lounger looking out on a beautiful view, but literally melting with the heat: most unpleasant.

Another down side is that, since the hotel is miles away from anywhere, you are totally reliant on the hotel; not a 7/11 or other such shop within a good half an hour's walk. We found the food there delicious at times, but inconsistent. We had the green papaya salad several times and each time it was different- never quite living up to the first time. The food in the Asian restaurant was lovely but not spicy enough. Breakfasts were good, but the Asian options slightly limited at weekends.

Our room was perched on a hilltop...brilliant for keeping fit and working off a bit of breakfast. The views were amazing. The room was spacious and had a great balcony, the bathroom was fantastic. Housekeeping was great. A nice touch was the provision of quarter bottles of vodka and whiskey in the room at not extortionate prices.

There was a complimentary bus service to Phuket centre, but stretching out four hours there for the return was a bit much. There is a very nice Japanese that does amazing sushi right at the back next to the supermarket (much better than the all you can eat one as you enter the mall)

Did we enjoy it? Very much so. Would we go back? Possibly if we were going that way again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tikusmikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is not typical resort hotel with white sand, but good to stay calmly with panorama.
Location is ten minutes apart from Phuket town by a taxi(300B). The shuttle bus goes once an hour between hotel and the south of town(Robinson Ocean)(100B/person).
The restaurant "Seasonal Taste" serves very good dishes. I highly recommend breakfast here.
On the other hand, I do not wanna "Splash",pool bar again.
Every employee, front desk, restaurant, or call assistant, is well-mannered. I'm thankful to the front clerk to coordinate a room or time at check-in.
We enjoyed Phuket and feel to stay this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtsushiTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
21.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
10.4 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#58 of 384 in Kathu
766 reviews
21.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
5.0 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
22.3 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket

Address: 21/4 Moo 1,Rasada, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Phuket Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in Phuket Town
#3 Family Hotel in Phuket Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range: $95 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Siray Bay Resort And Spa Phuket
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket Hotel Phuket Town
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing