We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost there” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Almost there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We had a weeks stay here in January between stays in Malaysia and Singapore. Overall we were very happy here. We had a Sala Pool Villa Room which had great views. Having your own private plung pool is a big advantage and you also have sun lounges and another comfortable 2 seater (undercover) couch all on the balcony.

The resort is set on a hill side and yes it is steep in some places but the are regular "buggy"vehicles that will take you up/down the paths.

Our room was large with a walk in wardrobe which had plenty of room for our luggage, lots of hanging space and the safe located in it. Bathroom was large and well lit and very happy with it as well.

The king size bed is elevated and you can lay there and have lovely water views through your floor to ceiling windows. I agree with some other reviewers about the bed being too soft.

We found the restarants to be good. We liked Prego best but EEST was good that night we dined there. Breakfast at Seasonal Tastes was excellent. A very large range of food to choose from.

Happy (2) hours at Prego Pool bar is great value. Based on our Australian exchange rate the drinks are extremely cheap during this period. The cocktails were very good. The sunsets when we there were fantastic. So sitting above the beach, watching a beautiful sunset with a lovely cocktail what could be better.

The resort is secuded and thats why we liked it. We have been to Phuket before and had no desire to go to Patong and just wanted a relaxing comfortable resort and this met our expectations. We did go to Phuket Town but there is nothing special there.

I think where this resort could improve is the consistency of service. We had some great service from Ta(she seemed to bob up everywhere throughout the resort), Wat at the Prego Pool bar and Aiden at Prego Restaurant. However there were some staff who were not friendly and need to learn that a smile will not hurt them.

Overall we really liked this resort. We had no difficulty with language problems and where we found staff struggling a liitle with english it was just a matter of being patient and both parties soon understood each other.

Room Tip: If you can get a Sala Pool Villa you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisycutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Daisycutter,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and pleased that you enjoyed our Sala Pool Villa, ocean view and Happy Hour at Prego Pool Bar. Your comments will be passed to our team regarding the consistency of service to ascertain how this can be improved; furthermore we will be sure to pass on your thanks to Ta, Wat and Aidan for personally looking after you.

We understand that mattress preferences are a personal choice and different for each guest and as such we offer bed boards on request.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Morahan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    613
    253
    86
    52
See reviews for
447
805
86
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed here with my husband and four teenage sons in January 2012. I loved the location and the lay out of this resort. The views are spectacular. It is in a very quiet part of the island so not a fun and buzzing place for teenagers. Our check in experience was not very pleasurable. There was a lack of warmth which we had experienced in Chiang Mai a few days earlier. This is a large and impersonal resort, so I suppose you can't expect the same personal attention that you get in a boutique hotel. We were not happy with our rooms. They were dark and one had a nasty damp smell. Once we complained, we were moved quickly.
The breakfast buffet is great and kept everyone happy with a large selection to suit all tastes. The pools and restaurants were nice which is important as you are a taxi drive away from any other place to eat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmccDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear cmccDublinIreland,

Thank you for taking your time to share experience with us and we are pleased you enjoyed the layout of the resort as well as the breakfast, restaurants and pools. Your feedback regarding your check in process will be passed onto the relevant department heads to ensure we improve the experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Morahan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

I was able to get a good rate hence my very good rating.

Pro
- Very efficient and flexible room service and house keeping
- Very comfortable and clean spatious rooms, very good but soft beds, nice balconies
- Very nice bathroom
- Fantastic breakfast
- Go for hotel airport transfer It is very good
- Nice views, also from rooms
- Nice pools
- Very friendly reception staff

Con
- Secluded but can also be a good thing
- English of most staff is minimal
- Beach is poor, sometimes sewage smell close to beach area
- A LOT of stairs but carts work well, no issues, just call and they are there
- Seafood restaurant close to hotel mentioned by some reviewers TO BE AVOIDED Almost as expensive as hotel but of much less quality. I have been sick all night. Many, many mosquitoes as well at restaurant location.
- Expensive SPA
- Noise insulation of rooms good be better

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globe_trot_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Travelerworldbelgium,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us and your comments will be passed onto the relevant team members. Your comments will help us in our going efforts to improve our service and facilities for future guests.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Morahan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

The room is lovely... Auto aircon cut off the moment you open the balcony glass door. View is superb as it faces the sea. The buggy service to send you to your room is a nice touch as all room are perched along the hill.

Private beach is clean though small. Staffs are nice...Special mention goes to the Front office manager who came out to greet us. Food at the hotel was nothing to shout about.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

At first glance, the hotel grounds are beautiful. Breathtaking really. The lobby and much of the guest suites and pools face the bay. Watching the sunset here is amazing. But given that I probably wouldn't return unless I was traveling with my boyfriend. And even then, not sure I'd choose something so far from town.

On the positives, the breakfast buffet was a great value. The restaurants were very good both in service and quality of food. The rooms are large and nicely decorated. There's free wi-fi in the lobby and in the pool areas. And the pools are all infinity pools overlooking the bay. There were also daily events for the guests like yoga in the morning and surf lessons etc. Though we were too busy sightseeing to bother with those activities.

On the negative, the rooms are showing a little wear and tear. Shower had a funny smell but only for the first day or so. Not a big deal overall but definitely not a 5 star hotel standard. Pools are small and so are the number of lounge chairs available so get out early. The private beach is rocky and small, not a memorable place. And because the hotel is secluded, you're at the mercy of taxis or the hotel shuttle (which you need to reserve in advance) to get into Phuket Town. If you're looking to just hide away for a few days, that's fine and dandy. But if you want to mix it up on your trip, you're better off staying in Kata or Karon Beach. Also the hotel overcharges for tour packages so better if you head into town and book something there.

And the piece de resistance? There were ants in our room. They came out when we tossed some fruit into the garbage can. Took less than an hour! The cleaning lady then came in and sprayed bug repellent on that side of the room. Kind of gross. I would have changed rooms but was too tired after a day of traveling. Just goes to show that the rooms are showing wear if their walls/corners are letting bugs in.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear kimmi8,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are pleased you enjoyed the grounds, pools, sunsets, breakfast and food. Your feedback will be passed onto the team to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned. Please accept our sincere apologies for your discomfort. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention.


Kind Regards,
Stephen Morahan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Hi,
It was bad experience. Service level is below exceptions. I dont expect something like that from Westin. Talked few times with StevenM who claims to be General Manager. Didnt help.

On last conversation was told "We are in Thailand and relatively new hotel". Is this really excuse for bad service in 5-star Westin hotel?

Bottom - dont recommend. Go for Le Meridien if you SPG member or any other hotel. This one has pure value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olegv24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear olegv24,

We appreciate you taking your time to post your comments regarding your stay with us at the Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa, Phuket. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding some of our services and facilities across the resort.

As with any opening hotel we do our best to ensure everything is operating and in good working condition but unfortunately we did not meet your expectations during your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and recent visit.

Yours Sincerely,
Sean Raine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

First off, my fiance and I went into the week with extremely high expectations. We've stayed at Westin resorts and other SPG properties around the world, and we have come to expect great service and value from each of the places we've stayed. With that in mind, here's my thoughts and feedback on the Westin Siray Bay.

I'll start with the positive:

1) The breakfast buffet was excellent, especially since it was included for Platinum guests. The servers and host/hostesses were extremely attentive. One or twice we had to ask multiple times for water or iced coffee, but overall, this was one of the highlights of the resort.

2) The room was nice - we were upgraded to a deluxe room. The bed was a little too soft and the bath tub was kind of dirty when we first got to the room, but overall the room was pretty nice.

3) The pools were nice and the workout room has a great view.

4) The Platinum cocktail hour was well done. Not a lot of food, but the drinks were very good and the staff was extremely friendly.

Now onto the downsides:

I have stayed at SPG hotels over 330 nights over the last five years (my fiance another 150+ nights), so I may have a high bar for judging hotels. However, I come to expect a lot from Westin hotels. The following things were unacceptable for a five-star resort.

1) Overall service was extremely slow. One lunch at the pool took over an hour and fifteen minutes to be delivered, and I had to remind the staff to ensure the food was coming. There was only one person working the pool bar, which is fine, except for the fact that this pool usually had 50+ people in or around the pool, so even getting a beer or water was time consuming. Additionally, nobody ever came around asking to help you.

2) The facilities already show wear and tear even though this is a "new" hotel. Our bathroom had multiple cracks on the ceiling and in the shower, and our shower smelled EXTREMELY bad. We would take very fast showers because the smell was so bad.

3) Check-in process was very poor - We had booked the room in advance and informed the hotel we had just gotten engaged and were traveling to celebrate. Again, maybe I just have higher expectations, but when we arrived, we were told no suites were available for an upgrade (even though it showed that multiple suites were available on the Westin website) and we were also told that the hotel would not upgrade to a villa. Overall that's fine, but the front desk staff was just not very friendly or helpful. Our special occasion was never mentioned and our view was mostly of another building in the hotel.

4) The concierge either lied or was misinformed about Phuket Town activities. We asked for recommendations on cooking classes outside of the hotel, and we were told there were absolutely no cooking classes in Phuket Town. An hour of Trip Adviser searching showed us that a very famous cooking school, the Blue Elephant, was available only 10-15 minutes from the hotel. Not ok.

5) As we were leaving the hotel, I called in advance to ask for our plane tickets to be printed out and the bill to be ready at the front desk. When we got to the front desk, nothing was ready, and I had to resend our boarding passes, which cost us another 15-20 minutes. Not what I call service.

6) A 10% service charge is added to the hotel bill. Maybe this is standard in Thailand, but I don't understand how I can be expected to pay an additional 10% for each night I stay as a "service charge" without ever being told that. I had left a very good tip in the room until I saw that the service charge was automatically added. I had to go back to the room to retrieve the tip, because I didn't think the hotel was worth both 10% per night plus the tip. I hope house cleaning received a portion of the service charge.

7) The beach has a lot of rocks and shells. It didn't matter that it was a private beach because we never wanted to spend time down there.

Hopefully the staff can address the issues above for future guests. As it stands now, I cannot recommend this hotel to friends/family, especially at the price point it's going for.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Joe D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us at the Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa, Phuket. Naturally, I am disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your experience. We pride ourselves on taking care of each individual guest’s needs and I certainly do regret that this does not appear to be the case in your experience.

Rest assured, we will take your comments on board, and I will personally pass them onto the relevant managers and their teams for areas of improvement.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and all the best,

Stephen Morahan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
21.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
10.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
7.8 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket

Property: The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Address: 21/4 Moo 1,Rasada, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Phuket Town
#2 Spa Hotel in Phuket Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phuket Town
#3 Family Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Siray Bay Resort And Spa Phuket
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket Hotel Phuket Town
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing