We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six star luxury on an exceptional estate and top notch service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2011

A mate and I stayed at the Westin Siray Bay Reosrt and Spa after looking at several other high-end hotel options. We had read some of the less favourable reviews on Trip Advisor before we made out booking, but went ahead anyway on the premise that there is no place that everybody will consider perfect. We were impressed beyond all expectations, from our arrival to our check-out.

The hotel is nestled on a very fine piece of estate, away from the hustle and bustle that most people associate with Phuket. There are three infinity pools and very good amenities including a gym, a games room and good restaurants and cafes. The quality of the food was very good, especially the buffet breakfast, which had a wide variety of food and drinks. There have been a lot of comments on this site about the difficulty in getting around the property because of all the hills. This is true - it is very steep to walk even short distances but we called the buggy most of the time and each time it arrived within minutes of our call.

We had a deluxe room perched near the top of the hill so our views were spectacular. The room was great and the heavenly beds were very comfortable. The bathroom came with a separate toilet and also included a bathtub and the heavenly shower. The window pane between the bathroom and the room is clear, but there is a screen that you can lower with a control so there are no privacy issues. The deck attached to our room was quite spacious. The air conditioning in the room was a little peculiar as the reading on the temperature does not adjust itself immediately when you adjust the temperature. The toilet also smelt quite strong when we first arrived, but the smell went away on the second day.

The pools were excellent and very relaxing. Beach-sized towels are available everywhere and there are plenty of sun chairs and loungers littered around the pools. The staff also come around with iced water and Evian mist sprays so there's no worry about cooling down even if you don't go into the pool.

I note however, that we rented our own car so we were able to get around Phuket easily - this turned out to be a great idea because we had a lot more choice when it came to food options. If you do not want to eat hotel food everyday or find it too expensive, then having your own car will solve this problem (though Phuket Town is NOT fun to drive around in!). Although the hotel has its own private beach, it is not the postcard-perfect kind of beach that we commonly see on advertisements for Phuket. There are very sharp stones and shells in the water so you have to wear these special water shoes (which the hotel provides in a hut on the beach) to walk in the water or you will get really cut up feet. The water is not great, but it's unlikely to give you any diseases. Once again, if you have a car you have the option of driving to other beaches. You can also arrange an island-hopping tour with the hotel for a very reasonable price - some of the beaches that they take you to on this tour are beautiful and very remote, and it is here that you will find pristine beaches with white sand and turquoise water.

Overall the service was top-notch. We were greeted by very friendly staff everywhere on the property, which makes a huge difference when you're on holiday. We were very relaxed the whole time we were at the Westin. We ate and slept very well too. The estate is very quiet and great as a getaway to unwind and put your feet up.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank jaffa_fella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinsiraybayphuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Dear jaffa_fella,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We offer all guests a complimentary in house shuttle bus to Phuket town which leaves six times a day. We are pleased you found the service exceptional and that you could relax during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the near future for yet another fabulous holiday.

Kind Regards,
Sean Raine
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,596 - 1,602 of 2,132 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2011

We went just to relax and we loved the resort and service. Staff were excellent, food was great and it was just great time away.There was some small issues with our rooms having to be changed, however we had a fabulous time time. The beach not so great but the pools more than make up for it. The staff were really nice and very helpful.Everything was attended too in the timely manner. And my kids didn't want to come home.....

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soniaann11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinsiraybayphuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Dear soniaann11,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and the team and i are pleased to hear that you and your children enjoyed their time with us at the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sean Raine
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Laura & I flew out as a Christmas treat to ourselves. Easy connection from the airport - seamless transfers, but not cheap.
Great location, on the side of the muntains, with easy beach access only 50-100 metres from our room down a well lit open (but steep) pathway.
Usual fantastic Westin service @ check in. We rented a villa - on stilts, own (small and VERY cold!) pool) nice balcony. Killer bathroom and of course the best hotel bedding out there - the Heavenly Bed.
Nice selection of bars/restaurants to choose from - we found an asian/fusion option we really liked. Nice menu, really fresh food and pretty good service at reasonable prices. Nice "bar food" option next to the open air lobby - good for sundowners too. The buffet breakfast was pretty good, and I'm not the biggest fan of buffets, but this was on the right side of acceptable. A nice coffee & cake eaterie next to the main pool level (there are several pools on several levels!) that Laura unearthed. Wide selection of cakes etc...tiramisu was (allegedly) pedestrian.
Small but adequate gym - but you have to climb many steps to get to it at the top of the resort. So, no need for the stairmaster them. Nice bar/food option there, and a good sized pool too.
We had his/hers spa treatments. Booked a couples massage - ended up in separate rooms (?!?) but we both reported back positively on the experience.
Easy transfers into Phuket for the always great night market - but avoid the "squid on a stick" that's on offer! Plenty of good food and great bargains to be had mooching around.
Staff - always friendly. Clean, smart, trendy and we felt - fantastic value for money. Would also make a good family destination -0 there were several there that seemed to be really enjoying it. Water sports (kayaking, etc) is available, and there are plenty of pools & a kids club too. Overall, a great 3 day break!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandL_DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinsiraybayphuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Dear JandL_DXB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we have passed your feedback onto the tea. We are so pleased that you enjoy your quick 3 day break.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sean Raine
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed at the Westin for 2 nights in March. Check in was very pleasant, with cold drinks and towels while waiting. There are a lot of steps in the hotel but they have a buggy to bring you up and down from your room. Below is a list of what I feel is good and what can be improved.

Good.
1. The rooms are very large, with comfortable beds and stunning sea views. I could stay here for a week with no problem.
2. The lady at the reception (Ms. Haye) is very friendly and check in was done very professionally.
3. The Horizon pool is fantastic, with great views of the sea, and just the right depth for my kids.
4. The beach is nice, with beach soccer, volleyball and even a hammock available. The guy at the beach was also very friendly. The sea is not so nice, being on the east coast, but for that, we later spent several nights on the west coast.
5. The location near to Phuket town is good, meaning you can have very good, reasonably priced Thai food within a short drive.
6. For those that complain about the Taxi’s, my suggestion is to hire a car. That’s what we did.
7. In general, most of the staff we met are very friendly and professional. Our request for late check out was also handled very well.

Improvements needed.
1. The bathroom sealing was not very good. The water from the shower leaked to the opposite side (hallway).
2. The paint can be seen peeling in some spots on the outside, and the wooden balconies on some of the outdoor steps are worn, needing a new coat of varnish.
3. The buggy drivers sometimes drive too fast, this is quite dangerous if you have kids sitting at the back. You have to tell them to slow down. (not all drivers, just some).
4. Service at the pool is sometimes inconsistent. One day we had cold towels and water at the pool, another day not. It was 2 different attendants at the pool, so I guess the service depends on the attendant.
5. Kids breakfast is pricey. My 2 kids normally eat very little (orange juice, some bread and porridge). For the price, I can have a good dinner in Phuket.

Overall, it was a very relaxing stay, more suited to older guests or those with children who wish to avoid Patong.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven_8877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinsiraybayphuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2011

Dear Steven_8,

We appreciate your feedback and great to receive so many positive comments on your stay with us. I have shared your thoughts on the inconsistent service and yes there should be water and towels served every day. We have also discussed your feedback on buggy driver speed and we will be endeavouring to slow them down abit accordingly. Our Engineering team have followed up on the shower drain mentioned as well.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you back at the Westin Siray Bay in the near future.

Greg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed at the Westin Siray Bay for 5 nights 15th to 19th March and from the moment of our limosene pick up at the airport until we departed, we were very impressed! Firstly the checkin was efficient and welcoming and that is always the first sign of a good hotel. Next, our room!! We were in room 1824 and felt priviledged as we had an awe-inspiring view of the whole of the bay, the mountains and the sea. The room itself was fantastic as it had a side panoramic window behind the bed so at night we saw stars and the moon. The faciilties in the room were all 5 star and the ground coffee was great! The hotel pools were lovely and our favourite was "Splash" which was very private and peaceful. Breakfast buffet was 5 star with a bit for every culture and taste. I especially liked the hanging honeycomb with fresh, raw honey! Plus, the barista made a great Espresso!. Our favourite dining experience by far was Prego, the Italian restaurant. Its ambience and staff were outstanding and the pizzas and pasta were fresh and very Italian.
We had a negative experience with a poorly conceived and planned buffet on the Thursday night. It was advertised as a suckling pig, roast duck and sushimi buffett. It was terrible as it wasnt a buffett at all, more of a sampling of supermarket style sushi, very tiny portions of duck and a sad undercooked suckling pig, with rubbery skin and no meat! What was puzzling too, was that there were no accompaniements like trays of chinese vegies, side dishes etc. We complained and the head waitress initially offered us 10% discount which we thought was minimal. Other guests at the buffett were also complaining and the EEST staff didnt seem to get it. Luckily, the Westin refunded our buffett cost directly to us and we would like to thank reception staff member Grape, for her lovely service and her gracious apology on behalf of the Westin. No bad feelings in the end but EEST restaurant planners, please remember that a buffett should be properly cooked and have an array of side dishes. There is nothing worse than undercooked and rubbery pork and leaving feeling hungry.
We checked out after a wonderful stay and loved the fact that the Westin was well away from the lusty delights of Patong. I read some of the reviews saying nothing nearby. We walked to a fishing village nearby and there were little restuarants and shops in a tranquil kampung setting. I also walked around the enitre Siray Island and found it breaktaking and wondefully quiet.
Thanks again Westin. We had a fabulous stay. Gordon and Peter

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gordiereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinsiraybayphuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Dear gordiereid,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sad to hear that your experience in EEST was not up to your standard and rest assured your feedback has been passed onto to ensure this is rectified. However we are glad you enjoyed the Splash pool, Prego and Espresso at Seasonal Tastes and Siray Island.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you and Peter back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Li Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Stayed 2 nights at this luxurious resort at a very reasonable rate. This resort is truly of international standard. The staff that greeted us on our arrival was professional and friendly. The refreshing welcome drink and the cold towel was great after traveling for 45 minutes from the airport in the hot and humid Phuket weather. The staff took extra effort to explain the facilities in the resort before showing us to our room. This resort is built on the cliff overseeing the sea. The rooms are big and spacious. Every room has a balcony with a sea view is stunning and mesmerizing. This resort is less than a year old, so the facilities are new and modern. There are 3 pools in the resort and a few restaurants to choose from. For those families with children, there is a Kids Club that arranged fun activities for the children so that the adults can relax in the pool or spend some private time without the kids  Overall impression of the resort is very good. A few things to note though for those who wants to stay here. Firstly, the resort is situated at a very secluded spot in Phuket. Good for those who wants to have a quiet getaway but it is quite a distance from most of the attractions in Phuket which are mainly near Patong beach. There is a free shuttle bus to Phuket town from the resort but make sure you book early as there are limited seats. To go anywhere else, you will have to book a taxi which does not come cheap.  One option is to rent a car during your stay so that you are not "stucked" in the resort. Secondly, the restaurants in resort are quite pricey. There is no other alternate restaurants outside the resort within walking distance. Lastly, while the resort has a private beach, it is not exactly like the many fantastic beaches that you find in many parts of Phuket. For those beach lovers who is looking for white sandy beach with clear waters, this may not be what you are looking for.

Overall a superb getaway for my family. 

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cplim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinsiraybayphuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Dear cplim,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed the sea views from your room and Westin Kids Club. There are two restaurants within walking distance from the hotel which serve authentic local Thai food.

We look forward to welcoming your family back to stay with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Li Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

After travelling in the Middle East, and then up in Chiang Mai, Thailand, we were ready for some total relaxation. The Westin Siray Bay is a gorgeous resort. It is built on the side of a cliff, so the rooms all overlook the sea...a perfect concept for any hotel that is built on a beautiful body of water since most people enjoy the view of the water. Some "ocean view" hotel rooms that are advertised are a bit deceiving because you don't see the ocean unless you get out on your balcony and stretch yourself around the corner, but these sea-view rooms are visible from the comfort of your bed! We were greeted at the spacious outdoor lobby by a friendly host with cool beverages and a cool washcloth as our hotel agent sat and reviewed all of the amenities of the hotel, gave us an itinerary of events at the resort (including a half-price pasta night at the Prego Restaurant) and explained our room. Afterwards, a driver took us by golf cart up the steep road to our room. We had the deluxe sea-view room which had a balcony including a couch and a couple of lounge chairs. Our driver came in with our luggage and explained everything in the room to us -- from the free coffee and tea to the remote-controlled shade in the bathroom. The room is very spacious, and I was most impressed with the bathroom which was very large, and included a speaker system for the TV. The restaurants are well-staffed and offer such an array of foods that you couldn't go hungry if you tried. There are relaxation areas atop a couple of the restaurants which had live music and with the warm sea breezes and large couches making for a very romantic setting. The ambiance of the whole resort is one of romance and relaxation. The entire staff was friendly at all times, always smiling and greeting us as we would pass by. The beach is private to the resort and very well kept up. It's a steep walk to the beach and there is no transportation by cart to it, so you have to walk up and down. There are 3 freshwater swimming pools and they are beautful -- there are lounging areas buiilt into the swimming pool with jets so you can lay and relax, and a swim-up bar with stools in the water -- all facing the sea! We would go back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsummer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinsiraybayphuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Dear dsummer56,

Warm greetings from Phuket. The team and i are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and especially the amenities in the guest rooms, bathrooms and outdoor pools. We are glad the ambiance of the resort left you feeling relaxed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sean Raine
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
21.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
16.9 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
10.4 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#64 of 390 in Kathu
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
979 reviews
21.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
8.6 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket

Address: 21/4 Moo 1,Rasada, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Phuket Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in Phuket Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range: $133 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Siray Bay Resort And Spa Phuket
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket Hotel Phuket Town
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing