We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phuket OldTown Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Mei Zhou Phuket(Phuket Town)(Great Value!)
$48
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Zolitude Resort and Spa(Chalong)(Great Value!)
$282
$167
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meroom(Talat Yai)
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Memory at On On Hotel(Phuket Town)(Great Value!)
$30
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Signature Phuket Resort(Chalong)(Great Value!)
$47
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan Suwantawe(Phuket Town)(Great Value!)
$33
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa(Chalong)(Great Value!)
$77
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chinotel Phuket(Phuket Town)(Great Value!)
$17
$14
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
8
12
15
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
12
15
8
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 46 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Like a previous reviewer, we really enjoyed the location in "old town" Phuket - close to markets, local buses, good restaurants, etc. The hostel is very clean and airy, free breakfast and free wifi in cafe area (reasonable rates for PCs there too). Staff were really helpful and friendly and we got a good price on a local tour through them as well. I highly recommend this hostel.
The only "downside" for me was the fact that our room opened on to the hallway and we were disturbed at night by noise from other guests. It wasn't a really big problem, however, as most guests were considerate and kept their voices down. All in all, a really nice, friendly and clean hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greymousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket O, Manager at Phuket OldTown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad that you've had a good experience here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Hostel is clean with breakfast included, reasonably priced ( double: fan room - 450baht, a/c room 550baht )unfortunately most of rooms have windows facing corridor… anyway you can always check room first before you pay so it is up to you; I stayed there only for one night so I didn’t mind.
There is only one thing I want to warn you: DO NOT BUY any tickets through the reception! (They sell transfer tickets to other island and trips I think). We bought from them transfer: Phuket to Koh Lanta -taxi plus FERRY for 700 Baht each person which we thought was a fair price. Unfortunately our journey turned out to be a long way in a minivan with poor a/c. The average price for transfer Phuket-Koh Lanta by minivan is 250-300 Baht so you can see that we have been seriously overcharged and really disappointed as we wasted most of our day in a van. On Koh-Lanta they left us in the middle of nowhere, they did that obviously for the reason - there were overpriced taxis and tuk-tuks already waiting for you!
Anyway, enjoy your stay in Thailand and remember you will be ripped-off many times so do not let this spoil your holidays :)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tortuga779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunanta, Manager at Phuket OldTown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2010

Making understanding

According to Tortuga77 ' s comment about the overcharging of the trip to Lanta Island. We would like to expain that we get the net price at 550 Baht from the ferry owner. Not 250-300 baht as you understand. Please check to get a correct information. We really concern about your comment. Because to be honest to our customers is very important policy of our hostel.

Thank you for your visit and your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

A Phuket Town backpacker / budget no-frills bargain at 400 B a night for a fan room, bathroom and breakfast. The young women who work there are fun and friendly. It's nice and new so beds are great and everything is fresh and clean.

I loved the location as the Old Town is an up and coming old Chinese area with fantastic listed buildings and arty / trendy bars. It's near to local (very reasonably priced) restaurants as well as western style ones. I thought it a much nicer place to stay than the overly developed and in my opinion ugly beach resort areas - there is a bus nearby to the resort beaches for 40 B if you want to go for the day.

I found the local people very friendly and got taken out to dinner twice by locals I met during my stay.

The town has a great weekend night market - not very touristy so cheap. I got an hour foot and shoulder massage for 150 B.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firexhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket O, Manager at Phuket OldTown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad that you've had a good vacation here. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews