We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day on the Speedboat”

Charter Yachts Phuket
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private Day charter aboard our luxury 20 meter 'Sunseeker' yachts or aboard our twin engined speedboats to the amazing islands around Phuket. Fully crewed. Registered with Tourism Authority of Thailand.European management.
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Day on the Speedboat”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our party of 7 had a wonderful day out on full-day speedboat private cruise. The 3-man crew did everything possible to make sure we are comfortable and well looked after. We had lots of drinks onboard and local fresh fruits was free flowing.

Being a private charter, we can talior the cruise to what we like to see and spending the necessary time at each spot. Also, there is no waiting for 20 others.

We did kayaking through the caves (500BHT per 2-pax cannoe).
As there were James-Bond island was very crowded, we did not visit the island but just tooks some pictures from the boat which saves us time.

Took us to 'egg island' for snorkeling which was excellent.

Overall a great experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank D24d24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SF
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worst ever company to do business with!!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Please do not use this company for any of your excursion if you want to be treated well as a customer. They have to be one of the worst company I have ever dealt with. We were on a private chartered boat on December 29th 2012 with a party of 10 with 3 crew members on board of the "Fast New (2008) Twin Engined Speed Boats" as depicted on their web-sites.
First of all, the boat is not NEW at all!! It is somewhat run down and may need some major maintenance as a whole. We were supposed to go up north to Phang Ma Bay for a full day excursion and visit the islands around the bay. We were taken to see the caves on kayaks on our first stop but this is where the nightmare begins. The boat apparently had a major hole in the front of the hull and was taking in water as it waits for us from our kayaking trip. We had to go ashore to one of the private island nearby where we had to embark off the boat and wait for another boat to pick us up. We were told that we had to wait for an hour before we can continue with our trip but we ended up waiting for 2.5 hours. By the time, we exchanged boats, load all of our equipments, gears, etc, 3 hours have gone by. We had not even had lunch yet at this point. We went to another island to get some food and by the time lunch was finished, it was already approaching 5:00PM. We didnt even get to go snorkling or visit any other island at this point because it was getting late in the evening, so the Thai captain decided to go back to the Royal Phuket Marina where we started our trip in the morning so we can have a chat with the owner and express our disapppointment from our trip. When we arrived back at the marina, the owner was waiting and when we asked him for some kind of good-will gesture and perhaps provide us with some kind of credit or refund, he was upset!! He told us that we were taking advantage of him and that he provided us with a better boat and that he is losing money due to costs of gasoline for the new boat. I could not believe the nerve that this person had as a business owner. He even threatened to get a lawyer if we write something bad about his company. He went as far as calling us ungrateful Americans who had an "AGENDA" all along and was out to get him - which I responded if he were doing business in America with that kind of attitude and customer service, his business will not last more than a month.

Doesnt he realize that he just ruined someone's vacation and that time we spent waiting around for another boat is not replacable? I hope no one will ever his services again.. or if they do, they do it on their own risks.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
20 Thank rriveong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharterYachtsPhuket, Owner at Charter Yachts Phuket, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Some times your best is just not enough…

Oh Dear! What an unhappy customer.

Having provided charters to hundreds of guests for the last 7 years and been fortunate enough to deal with some very pleasant people we sadly had this record broken. It is not to say things have never gone wrong but we have always been honest with our clients and always done our very best to make sure our guests are taken care of which customers have responded well to.
On this occasion a speedboat was booked for 6 adults plus one child. In the end 10 people arrived. There were several changes up to the time of collection as to where the clients wished to be collected from.

During the first hour of the charter a small hole was made in the speedboat by a submerged, floating object. This is the nature of being at sea (This speedboat was issued a survey certificate by the Thai authorities on 27th November 2012 and passed with no problems). Our obligation under contract was, if the charter was cancelled to refund the cost pro-rata. We always are aware our clients are on holiday and we strive to ensure they have the very best experience. The clients had paid 35,500 Baht for a Thai speedboat. We did not want to spoil the client’s day so decided to prepare and immediately dispatch a 60 ft Sunseeker Predator Luxury air conditioned motor yacht. The charge for this yacht is 149,950.00 Baht per day. The clients were transferred to this luxury yacht and according to the captain were (as anticipated) very happy. I personally delivered the replacement yacht to the guests and they made no complaint and were surprised to have the speedboat replaced with a luxury 20 meter yacht. The speed boat was then driven back to the marina. It seems after the guests took lunch they returned to the yacht and were having arguments amongst themselves. The captain did not think this was anything to do with the boat.

The captain was instructed to extend the day and take the yacht to a private island where he was to provide the guests with cocktails etc at the company’s expense and they could enjoy snorkeling before experiencing the spectacular sunset. Whilst on the way to this private island, the charter’s wife called the office an hour before the charter was to end to ask for a refund (This was 5 hours after the replacement yacht was provided). When it was explained that the company had provided a luxury yacht at no extra cost, was extending the time for the charter, and that the fuel alone on the yacht exceeded the whole cost of the speedboat charter she became abusive and said if she did not get a refund she would rubbish our name on Tripadviser. She then came off the telephone and started using foul language to the captain and crew. The crew reported this back and it was then that we decided that we were not prepared to allow the crew to be subjected to foul language and the captain was asked to return. I greeted the guests on their return to the marina and sought to engage them about the day’s events. They were only interested in ‘getting a refund or they would rubbish our name on Tripadviser’. Many of our clients are from the USA and like all our clients are all valued.

I can put my hand on my heart and state that I personally, and the Company and crew did our very best to overcome the problem with the speedboat, not by just replacing it, but by replacing it with a luxury yacht to enhance the guests experience, extending the time etc. It seems even this was not appreciated. We tried to turn something unfortunate to something good!

People must read our reviews and make their own mind up. We have found this experience very upsetting as we pride ourselves in always doing the very best we can for our clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exclusive way to tour the islands!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We wanted to tour the islands surrounding Phuket at our own pace and decided that private transport was the best option. Charter Yachts Phuket has competitive pricing and exceptional staff. We chartered a boat and spent the entire day exploring caves, secret swimming spots and deserted isles. Highly recommend, worth every cent! Our captain and his team knew exactly where to take us to see the best of Thailand. One regret is that we stopped for lunch instead of eating on the boat. If you book, don't waste time with the lunch spots - better to enjoy on board.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelite27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“THE ONLY WAY TO GO!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We chartered a boat for a full day! This meant we could go where we wanted, when we wanted. There was no waiting for 50 other clients to load off the boat.

Our crew of three were wonderful! We went kayaking through the caves. They took us to another island to snorkel. They provided us with 5 huge loaves of bread to feed the fish. We wouldn't have thought to bring this. Offering the bread made the fish feed right out of our hands! It was amazing! We were taken to yet another island to have lunch at a small restaurant. The food was authentic and tasted wonderful. Did I mention our crew also provided fresh fruit for us! It was all prepared and ready for us each time we got back on the boat.

Of course you want to inquire how much these trips cost when booking them, but be sure to ask how many will be sharing the experience with you!! Four in a speed boat is a lot different from 50 in a tug boat!
Thanks Geoffrey for offering a 5 star experience and 5 star staff!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank 4galtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience, best day ever!”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I was in Phuket with a group of photographers. We chartered a boat out to Phi Phi island. One of the great things about the day was that this company was available for us to head out early in the morning. This proved very helpful as the day went one and we discovered how crowded the beach became. We were able to enjoy a good hour and a half pretty much to ourselves! After leaving the beach we headed around the island to an amazing snorkleing spot. The crew provided the gear and also loaves of bread which attracted the amazing fish right to us.
We then headed to another secluded lagoon where we were able to swim right off the boat and enjoy the amazing water. We then headed to Phi Phi Dong island to have lunch. After a great time there, we hit one last spot to snorkel. We were provided a spread of fresh fruit and snacks throughout the day and the crew was amazing.
I would highly reccomend this company for any adventure that you are wanting to experiece while in Phuket, they are awesome.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Hank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charter Yachts Phuket also viewed

Chalong, Phuket Town
 

Been to Charter Yachts Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing