We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay again”
Review of Rome Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rome Place Hotel
Ranked #50 of 92 Hotels in Phuket Town
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Very expensive for what it is. We only stayed for the Phi Phi Island transfer but that wasn't even worth it, we could have done better elsewhere. Front staff barely speak english and are unhelpful, breakfast was nothing like advertised, the expensive internet was down, hotel in the middle of nowhere. Rooms and male staff are fine, but you can get way better for 1/2 price, such as Athome Hotel (amazing hotel that we ended up going to).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Miss_Jessica1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 106 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2011

We have stayed there for one night.
We've took the plane from Chiang Mai and on the next morning we were leaving to Phi Phi.
Since the flight was arriving late we decided to book a transfer in advance with the hotel. The manager confirmed everything to us but upon our arrival at the airport we could not see the driver. There were a lot of drivers waiting so we decided to wait a bit to see if we could see ours.
After 45 minutes waiting (and more than 20 people asking where would we like to go) there was only a driver waiting so I have decided to ask if he was the guy. The name on the board was a completely diferent from my girlfriend's name. He was rude and there was no reason why because the mistake was not ours!

I would say that this is a cheap hotel to stay and it is ok to stay for one night if you dont care with customer service. However I think you ca find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Raul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We had four rooms for three nights. Rooms were good airy clean but with very very small toilets. The A/C's were working but not chilling. The house keeping was perfect and fast. The rooms were clean but cockroaches were seen beneath the matteress.
With rooms one has to see the toilets and kitchen and here both were not good. Too small toilets and very less varietyand quantity offered in breakfast .
Overall if one goes for less budget keeping the food away it is good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ANIJHON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

It's dirty, dated horrible. I wouldn't stay here again for free. Staff are rude. The place hasn't been decorated for at least 20 years. The room smelt damp. Just bloody horrible

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ukboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We were very pleased with this hotel, clean, great price, the best massages we have had in Thailand and Cambodia, we have a great contact for taxi since we find almost no taxi speaks english so it's very hard to go around and get info, great price and service, Mr Verasak 089-8782537.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sobetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for one night before catching the morning ferry to Ko Phi Phi (which they can also arrange, but for a little more than the travel agent we used). We both thought the hotel was a great value for the money: we got our room for 600 baht (we were quoted 720 baht but asked for a discount because it was the low season).

The room was much nicer than some of the other 600 baht hotel rooms I have stayed in in Thailand: large, clean, quiet, a comfortable bed, a mini fridge with complimentary water, and a generally classy room than one might expect. It is close to the center of town also (a block from the clock tower), so you could walk to pretty much everything listed in the Lonely Plant (the hotel is not listed in the LP however). If I ever get back, I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank velz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 27, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
1.6 mi away
B2 Phuket Boutique & Budget Hotel
0.6 mi away
Chinotel Phuket
Chinotel Phuket
#14 of 92 in Phuket Town
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
PHUKET TOWN INN
PHUKET TOWN INN
#9 of 11 in Talat Yai
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Phuket Crystal Inn
Phuket Crystal Inn
#27 of 92 in Phuket Town
75 reviews
0.9 mi away
P.K. Residence
P.K. Residence
#60 of 92 in Phuket Town
7 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twin Inn Hotel
Twin Inn Hotel
#58 of 92 in Phuket Town
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Place Hotel

Address: 23/8 Soi Hub-Ek, Phuket Road | Taladyai, Muang Phuket, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 92 Hotels in Phuket Town
Price Range: $13 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rome Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Place Hotel is located in the heart of Phuket City. Close to Shopping Center and Marker just 5-10 minutes walk and also close to Rassada Pier just 10 minutes drive. Phuket Bay or SapanHin is 1 kilometre away. Go to beaches is also just 20-30 minutes drive. But guests can walk to Ranong Road to get on local bus (30-40 baht per person) to varieities of beaches. It leave every 20 minutes. We offer Massage on 2nd floor which is very cheap (2 hours traditional massage 320 baht), accommodation and restaurant mainly serve Thai Food. Free internet at the Lobby area and also in the room with a 100 baht per 24 hours. 30 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rome Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Place Hotel Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing