We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Karon Living Room

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karon Living Room
Ranked #11 of 147 Karon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Arrived here to find it's a bit further away from Karon Centre than we expected. It was a 15 min walk to the very very packed beach and the main road you have to walk along has no pavements so you have to traffic dodge all the way. The main road also suffered from very smelly drain so walking to eat, drink or beach was not pleasant.
The room was large, clean and basic and the a/c was old and very loud so we had difficulty sleeping. We did mention this to reception and they smiled but did nothing about it. The pics show a small outside garden but there is not one.
Breakfast was basic but ok.
Would I stay there again....No I think you could do better else where.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    106
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
41
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu Shi, Sichuan, China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Karon Living Room staff were always helpful and willing to serve us. I liked the comfortable style of the central gathering rooms. The hotel room was a nice size and very comfortable. You might want to ask for a room that is not on the main road side as there is a bit more street noise. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This review could be slightly biased as we disliked Phuket as a place! The hotel itself was situated 10-15 walk from the beach along a very busy road, which resembled Blackpool, flashing neon lights everywhere. Karon Living room was very basic and lacking any character which which we has been accustomed to around Thailand. If you are after a real 'Thai' vibe, my advice would be not to stay here it has no charm or atmosphere. The rooms were clean and spacious, with a decent tv but very overpriced for what you get. Wouldn't return to Phuket or Karon Living Room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile


I stayed here for two nights and loved it! It was clean, it had hot water... what more can you ask for?! The location was a bit far, but really not a bad walk at ALL. Don't let that deter you.

The best part about this place is that my friend left her phone there and within minutes of us emailing, she responded letting us know she would ship the phone to our next destination... and she did! Not only that, she called the hostel and let them know a package was on its way! VERY rare to find someone so willing to go out of their way for a stranger. I loved my stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamrobyn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My 8-yr old and I stayed for a week in this clean, well-kept, hospitable accommodation. The desk staff is helpful, kind, and professional. The lobby is well-lit and pleasant. Rooms are clean, bright, spacious, air-conditioned. Soap and shampoo are provided.
Walk to the beach (great swimming) takes 10 minutes and this is when you get to check out the village. The temple is near-by, 2 minute walk; market is Tues. and Sat., 4-9.
Beach towels, boogie-boards, beach toys are provided, no charge, for borrowing. Scooters rentals on the premises are 200 thb a day. Tickets for activities etc, and car hire, is done through the front desk - extremely efficient and easy. We found our driver, "S", this way.
Internet is in the lobby, as is food & beverages.
The price is great too, especially considering the cleanliness and amenities and management. We stayed somewhere else too that cost more, offered less, and just wasn't as well run - funny how it's the little things we take for granted and then really miss when they aren't around.

Overall, a great, affordable place to stay especially if you are new to Phuket/ Thailand.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tao707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The staff were very helpful and willing to help with anything information. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. We really enjoyed our stay there. In general, Karon is quieter than patong and so this hotel is located in a quieter area and most places close around 11 or 12am. if you are looking for a vibier nightlife, then patong is a 10min ride by scooter from here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmadiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Karon Living Room, Phuket, Thailand where I stayed for just 2 Nights but it was my best place ever visited i.e. Phuket & its various beaches such as Karon, Kata & Patong Beach were the best & Karon was best for me among all of them I visited. I never liked the beaches but after visiting Phuket it has been changed forever for me i.e. from thereafter I have started liking & loving the Beaches of Thailand specifically.

The Hotel is situated on the main Patak Road going towards the Karon Beach & Hotel is a nice one with spacious room, with cleanliness & all other amenities being provided at very reasonable prices. From the Hotel its a pleasant Walk of 10 mins. towards the North direction for going to the Karon Beach which has white-sand beaches, crystal clear water & the crowd is limited & mostly Europeans. Before living for the Karon Beach tell the Hotel Reception so that they would be giving you a Towel for the use at the Beach-side.

At last but not least I would highly recommend to visit Phuket if anyone visits Thailand as its the only place without seeing it your Thailand visit would not be considered as a valid one & its really worth seeing it & do keep to have atleast 4-5 days time at ease to enjoy it completely with nature at its best all across Phuket. I have not seen Hawaii but can assure anyone that Phuket is not less than it & can be more than it depending on one's personal choice.

Phuket as a whole is a destination which serves all the segments of the Travel Industry beginning from Luxury till Budget segments at an very attractive price which no one sitting in the North American & European continent can ever imagine about it unless they reach there.

PHUKET is my all-time favourite location on this third rock from the Sun which has everything that our mother-nature can offer us from Mountains, Greenery, Sand, Sea & Sun. Weather is tropical during the summer-time with high humidity levels but the mornings & evenings are pleasant when it becomes windy there.

Room Tip: Half of the Hotel Rooms are facing the main Patak Road & remaining are facing the back-view whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnuragKumarGoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#26 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simplitel Hotel
Simplitel Hotel
#36 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#66 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#93 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karon Living Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Living Room

Property: Karon Living Room
Address: 481 Patak Rd. | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karon Living Room 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karon Living Room is located on karon Beach. Phuket. Thailand. We are offered Superior, Deluxe King and Mini Suite room with high standard cleanliness, relax and homely atmosphere like you stay @ home at living site you can enjoy with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karon Living Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Living Room Hotel Phuket
Karon Living Room Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing