We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean, nice staff, lots of facilities and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pineapple Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 147 Karon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean, nice staff, lots of facilities and good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I had a great stay at Pineapple! It's nicely located 5 min from the beach and <5 min from everything else. I stayed in the dorm which had everything that I wanted, from tons of fans to a locker, towel and a good bathroom. It's owned by Steve and Lek, who are both very friendly and helpful. When I was here the prices were a bit lower than normally because of low season. I paid 175 THB for the dorm, which is a lot cheaper than anything else I found. You get a fast wifi connection, a computer free to use for guests, and they also have snorkel and other beach stuff to borrow for free. For the people with a higher budget they also have more luxury rooms. Recommendation for everybody who doesn't want to stay in one of the extremely upscale, expensive Phuket resorts.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    93
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
86
57
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were looking for the cheapest most acceptable place to stay when we booked this place so we weren't looking for much. Looking from the outside that was exactly what we got.
We were however pleasantly surprised once we got in the room. The room was Huge! there was an en suite, fridge, TV, wardrobe, dressing table, drawers, a huge window to outside, A SAFE and air con too.

The location was ideal for us, we weren't in to the loud party scene which is why we chose to stay in Karon. Pineapple was out of the way a little bit more but tucked in just behind the main road so it was there if you wanted it but you could shut yourself away in peace at the same time.

The guys there were fantastic, really helpful. If you need to hire a scooter then do it from them, everyone requires a passport to do it so if you're going to leave yours then it might as well be where you're staying. The bikes are really well looked after too, we hired one for 2 days and drove the hell out of it and it never struggled, never failed.

Just remember to be safe and don't hire one with no experience, the roads take more concentration than back home and the medical bills are insane. I have both a bike license and I got my IDP (international driving permit) before leaving home and we've still been put in some tricky situations by other drivers.

They heard we had booked a trip with a company and explained that they could get the same trip and save us 1000 baht if we wanted, no pressure just there's the offer, if you want it come and see us, if not no worries. Such a friendly approach.

If you're going to Phuket and Don't want to be in the hectic area, stay here. It's that simple.

I hate giving excellent scores all round but I really can't fault anything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We found this place in our guidebook (now a few years old) and then booked it based on the reviews we read on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. On arrival we were met by Saai, who was very friendly and helpful throughout our 7 night stay. The room was large, very clean and it was the small things like having 2 bottles of drinking water everyday, 2 glasses, a fridge and relatively good Internet that made it stand out from other places. Having breakfast downstairs every morning meant you could socialise with some of the other people staying there and Saai was always around should you need any help. Location is really good, 7 Eleven just round the corner and the beach and several restaurants no more than 7-10 min walk away. Great value for money !

Room Tip: We were on the top floor at the back of the building, very quiet and good size. Room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlienB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Pineapple was much cheaper than any other place nearby, and there were some great things about this place. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is delicious and affordable. Now for the bad -I think we may have gotten the worst room in the place. There were no screens in the windows, so we couldn't leave the windows open at night to circulate air and cool things off. Sometimes the shower worked and sometimes it didn't, and when it did it was just a trickle. I was confused because I had read reviews on here that said the bathrooms had just been redone. I think with the high rating on tripadvisor, things must be much better in the other rooms. Basically, your experience with the rooms here could vary widely so try to look at a few. A word of caution - the taxi mafia in Phuket is ridiculous. 400 baht to go from Karon to the big party beach is the set standard, no bargaining accepted. Easily the highest priced transport of a month in Thailand. I could literally get across the country on a bus for that much money. If you're on a budget and you want to go party around Bong la road, plan accordingly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cstemler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineapplePhuket, Owner at Pineapple Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
This guest stayed in the one fan room we have (not en suite, all other rooms are) and that bathroom has not been renovated. We will put a screen on this room as being a fan room it needs it. Just one of the improvements we'll be making during the low season. Also at the end of March we did have a water supply problem caused by the lack of rain. We were buying truckloads and only once or twice did the tanks empty completely and then only for a short time.

As for the price of transport in Phuket, this is well-documented all over the internet and there's nothing we or anyone else can do about it,sadly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The owner is a nice guy ....decent rooms..
Reasonable prices ...'.....
Good location........
The beach is 200 metres away
Lots of Russians near the beach area so this hotel location is a refuge from them

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

All service experiences in Asia is with a smile, the added value here is Steve and his wife Lek share their local knowledge and help so ask for it, it saves time. Good and clean rooms with frig, hot shower and complimentary water. Situated in less hectic south Sanur with good choice of resto's and warungs and supermarkets within crawling distance. Beach is a short stroll but do ask their card for the nextdoor resort where you have swimming pools and good chairs and direct beach access as well. To avoid being ripped off by the Phuket taxi maffia ask Steve to arrange pick-up. Additional bonus for me as solo traveller are the most interesting people met here during five months Asia but of course this is very personal.

Room Tip: Front rooms have good possibility to dry swimsuits etc but are hotter as exposed to direct sunshine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineapplePhuket, Owner at Pineapple Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for the review Peter. Just that we are in Karon, Phuket and not Sanur, Bali! But I know you know that and at your age a slip of the keyboard is permitted! Only joking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bulgaria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Pineapple for the whole of our winter break in Thailand - two months.

The room was basic but very clean. Towels were provided when needed and bottled water each day. Contruction was going on out side and the noise from the road was a pain but no fault of the Guest house.

Every one was so nice there Steve and Lek would do anything for you nothing was too much trouble. Saii and Toon were always on hand day and night , in fact all the staff were lovely.
The girls Geena and Pim were adorable.

The place was a little untidy but very very clean. Close by to local shops, the beach and bars.

Local buses close by, but they stopped at 5pm going into Phuket Town, and no buses into Patong..
The guest house have a taxi service at resonable prices.

Compaired to other places in the area the food and drinks were very well priced.

Would stay here again. PS STEVE thanks for the oxo's

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynebulgaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineapplePhuket, Owner at Pineapple Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
And not many people come all the way to Thailand and go home with OXO cubes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.6 mi away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#26 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#20 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Thavorn Palm Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Phuket Orchid Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineapple Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Guesthouse

Property: Pineapple Guesthouse
Address: 291 / 4 Patak Road | Karon Plaza, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pineapple Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pineapple Guesthouse caters to visitors from all over the world. Just four minutes walk from Karon Beach, Pineapple offers a variety of accommodation from superior king bedded rooms with balconies, cheaper king, twin and triple rooms at the back of the guesthouse, one fan room and a ten-bed mixed dorm. Rooms all have air-conditioning (except the one fan room, which is also not en suite), cable TV, large fridge, safe and hot shower. There's free wifi throughout plus a computer available for guests.We can arrange airport pickups, assist with tours and onward travel.We try to offer the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pineapple Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineapple Guesthouse Hotel Karon
Pineapple Guesthouse Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing