We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely O.K.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secret Cliff Resort
Ranked #105 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Barely O.K.”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hotel is nicely located on a hillside with nice sea views. It is a bit secluded from the road noise and from the hustle and bustle of the city.
Our room was on the very top of the resort on a very steep road. We have been using our scooters to move within the compound and to go to the breakfast room/restaurant that is located on the other side of the main road. Some days, traffic was so intense that it was difficult to cross the road to go to breakfast.
Rooms are O.K. but very basic. It was relatively clean even if the garden/access roads were not well taken care of.
The worst part of the hotel is the staff who is having a terrible attitude. Almost rude at times and totally not reflecting the Thai legendary hospitality. Receptionists seemed overwhelmed and were simply incompetents. Restaurant staff was just O.K. as long as you do not ask them anything.
Own transportation mean is necessary if you stay at Secret Cliff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    213
    86
    57
    87
See reviews for
66
236
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We spent 7 nights @ this hotel in early March and had a very relaxing break. The food was beautiful, although a little pricey but with magnificent views over Karon Bay, it was well worth it.
They have a pianist play most nights while having dinner, which, whilst taking in the night lights of Karon and the fishing boats out working, is a great way to finish off the day.
A shuttle leaves after breakfast for both Karon and Patong which is a simple 5 to 7 minute ride.
The staff were fantastic, as most Thai people are and always with that loveable Thai smile.
Rooms were a bit small where we stayed, but with a big balcony looking out over the Andaman Sea, why would you want to stay in your room?.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Restaurant side of the road as there are two sides of the highway used for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

helpful friendly staff...great location ...rooms clean and secure..highly recommend a visit..far enough away from the hussle and bussle of patong but still only a 5 minute ride in..great buffett breakfast..cool aircdfon in room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Fla.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent 37 days in Room 129, the room with the spectacular view!!
Our room was perfect, clean, comfortable, big, with all the necessary conveniences.
We found the hotel to be in a great and convenient location...between Karon Beach and Patong Beach. It is not within walking distance of either place...,Tuk Tuk fare about 300 Baht.
The staff was very respectful, friendly and always willing to help.
The Breakfast area has a magnificent view. The breakfast offered a good variety and was well presented.
When booking this hotel, we would suggest you book at the resort.

Room Tip: The rooms with the sea views are great! Rooms 120-129.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmokingSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We loved this hotel. WE had a sea view hotel and the view was incredible. The room was huge!!! Breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only drawback to this hotel was the stairs but when you are on a hillside, that is what you get. We would stay here again. We liked the location because it was right inbetween the two great beaches and shopping. Unfortunately, you had to get a tuk tuk or taxi to go anywhere because of the traffic. However, the staff always got us rides when needed and there was no problem getting a tuk tuk back to the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower side of the hotel are better than on the upper side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarryFArris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We loved this place! The rooms were quiet, very comfortable and clean. Friendly staff, willing to help, everyone spoke English very well and the sincerity was genuine.
We checked in at 1 am and the staff was still extremely helpful.
It is quiet so if you want nightlife you have to go to Karon. 5 min taxi ride, 300B, so cheap. It is also a nice walk, hilly but safe and easy.
Rent a motor bike to go back and forth. 300B for the day, rentals on site. Well worth the money.
Great pool, nice bar and wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Good for couples, maybe too quiet if you want nightlife in the hotel. Very close and convenient to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGBobO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have stayed in 5 star hotels right to even back packers lodges in stays during my vacation, never I had an experience worst then this hotel. From the Staffs right to the Services.

First day we arrived, they relocated us to an entire different hotel saying the rooms we booked has some problems which they would not accommodate us in their hotel. Being a customer I did have all the rights to deny the offer and tell them no way I demand a room in that hotel not being relocated to a different one. I was nice enough to take their offer to relocate us to a different hotel. Yes, they did tell us that they would upgrade us to a better room due to the inconveniences. Prior to their problem, we had to reschedule our entire itinerary for the whole stay. Upon leaving to the other hotel we told the front counter that we would like to book a bike from the hotel and the front desk staff by the name of Boyd said that he would reserve and keep the bike for us so that we can use it on the second day as soon we got back to this Hotel. Just when we got back to the hotel, we asked for the bike and all they said was the bikes are all taken and they cant give us a bike. They said that they would give us a bike on the next day. Still we swallowed all their crappy excuses and we took the "tuk tuk" around to get to places.

On the 3rd day we asked the front desk manager whom happen to be a Bangladeshi,I do not recall his name. We asked him for the bike and all he said bikes are all taken - first come first serve it seems. This guy said it very rudely, which no one has ever spoke to me like that, it was not only him but the entire front desk was bloody rude and told me "what you want me to do" ?? I told them that I booked the biked ever since the first day we arrived and that is not consider early enough ? Even told him that I had confirmed it the night before with their staff by the name of Boyd and all they said that they don't know and they asked me to go look for him. Honestly is this what you guys from Secret Cliff are trained to do ?

So for the rest of fellow tripadvisor readers, please refrain yourselves from this hotel as the view and the rooms are not like what it appears on any online hotel sites.

Room Tip: Completely avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PravinKanesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Karon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
3.3 mi away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#9 of 133 in Karon
588 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,030 reviews
0.7 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#100 of 133 in Karon
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
2.1 mi away
Phuket Island View
Phuket Island View
#75 of 133 in Karon
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Cliff Resort

Property: Secret Cliff Resort
Address: 707 Patak Rd. | Karon Cliff, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Cliff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Secret Cliff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant Hotel Karon
Secret Cliff Resort And Restaurant
Secret Cliff Hotel
Secret Cliff Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing