We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place home from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 151 Karon B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 26, 2011

our second visit to karon sunshine and hope there will be many more. Guest house very clean and comfortable, the staff can,t do enough for you, the service is the best! Great meeting place for a meal and drinks and to meet new friends .The location is very good with only minutes to the beach. The hosts Greg and his wife Thai will make you feel very much at home,as will their little dog :LUCKY;Can,t wait to go back We have stayed in other guesthouses and hotels in karon and this is by far the best. Try it and see, you won,t be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riddlecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronSunshine, Owner at Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2011

Hi,
Many thanks for your comments and we are all glad you enjoyed your time with us again. It was our pleasure having you both here but i cannot believe how quickly the time went. Lucky has been beside herself for the past week as she is still looking for MaMa2 and you are not around.
Next year eh!
Until then survive the rest of Winter and have a great Summer.
Best wishes,
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 207 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed for 10 days in January 2011. All of the staff were outstanding and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms offer good value for money and the guesthouse is centrally located (the beach is an easy 5 minute walk and the street is full of great restaurants, bars, massages, markets). We ate quite often at the guesthouse and my husband particularly liked the barbecue which takes place a couple of times a week. If you are looking for quality budget accommodation, you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goldiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronSunshine, Owner at Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2011

Hi,
Thank you for taking time to write a review and alos many thanks for your comments.
It always our pleasure to to serve nice people and it is no problem for any of our team to pass on info or places to go, things to do etc or just have a chat.
Thai's cooking is excellent but if you need a "traditional" feed after all the rice and noodles then the BBQ hits the spot. I am glad your hubby enjoyed the food.
We look forward to seeing you all again and we are ready for the next JACK ATTACK - go Jack!
Best wishes,
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Greg is really nice. Staff warm and friendly, always smiles to guests. Location very close to the beach (P.S: on a very busy street. Music from bars nearby won't stop until 2am ). Room clean and have almost everything you need.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraPEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronSunshine, Owner at Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2011

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are appreciated so we can "fix what needs to be fixed" and continue doing what works well.
Your comments on the noise in the street is welcomed and timely as the Govenor of Phuket has focussed on cracking down on rogue establishments that break the closing time laws. ( the closing time is actually 12.00 midnight). You can see various articles in the Phuket Gazette on the topic. At the time you were here police did visit Karon and enforce the closing laws but the key will be for continual policing. I will play whatever role i need to to ensure my guests are safe and comfortable. Sorry if your stay was negatively impacted by the noise.
Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you soon.
Best regards,
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Great location right in the middle of all the nightlife. Room was cleaned everyday. Friendly staff. Beach towels supplied which was a big help. Free wifi. All good, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArtyFuffkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronSunshine, Owner at Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2011

Hello,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review - it is appreciated.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We only stayed for one night, but had an excellent time and would recommend this place without hesitation. The place is clean and comfy, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and you location is fantastic, right in the middle of town of Karon but at the same time just a stone throw away from the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scuba__m128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronSunshine, Owner at Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2011

Howdy,
Many thanks for your comments and taking the time to write a review.
Hopefully we will see you a bit longer on your next trip to Phuket.
Best regards,
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

I planned to stay here as the start of my holiday, Greg had room for 4 nights and I had to find a follow-up. If I have had known in advance that they had such a nice guesthouse and staff I would have booked here much earlier so I could stayed here for the full 3 weeks.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronSunshine, Owner at Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2011

Hi,
Thanks for your comments and taking the time to write a review.
We would have loved to have you stay longer so you know next time, OK?
Happy travels and see you again soon, i will not say "totziens" but see you later mate.
Be dunkt,dunk ye well!
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Reviews do Karon Sunshine justice, and although I only spent 2 nights here, in early December 2010,i was happy with my stay.
Clean and comfy (noise was no problem in my room-not sure what problem others referred to). Tea and coffee facilities, iron, hairdryer in room were pluses for me and not
always found in well priced accommodation.

Host and staff friendly and helpful.
I would happily stay here again if I return to Karon Beach,and am happy to recommend it to other travelers.
Nice and close to the beach too!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaynius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronSunshine, Owner at Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2010

Hello, many thanks for taking the time to write a review - it is greatly appreciated.
We are glad you enjoyed your say with us and we hope you one day join the band of people who re visit and saty with us again.
I am glad you like the small touches like iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee, beach towels and wet room amentities. We try to add value without adding price and if you can think of anything else we could provide , let me know.
Thanks again for the review and hope to see you again soo.
Best wishes,
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.0 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.0 mi away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#96 of 135 in Karon
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#33 of 135 in Karon
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#64 of 135 in Karon
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant

Address: 528 / 14 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Price Range: $20 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar and Restaurant is located in Karon Beach on tropical Phuket Island. We are an Australian owned and operated establishment that offers a safe, homely atmosphere in which to relax, unwind and enjoy yourself. Our good size rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable. Our restaurant offers an extensive variety of western and authentic Thai food. Cold beers, wines, spirits , cocktails and the best Irish Coffee in Karon are served in our bar. We are 5 minutes walk from the gentle lapping waves of the Andaman Sea and in the heart of Karon's night life ,entertainment and restaurant area. Bustling Patong is 20 minutes by Tuk Tuk away.Come and join us for some warm, personable, genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant Hotel Karon
Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar And Restaurant
Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing