We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Metadee Resort and Villas(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$141
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$54
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$478
$461
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa(Karon)(Great Value!)
$54
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$207
$144
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Club Resort(Karon Beach)(Great Value!)
$96
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$45
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sawasdee Village(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$115
$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveler rating
123
75
7
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
75
7
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housesuperior roomtop floorsatellite tvfree bottles of watersmall balconycleaned dailyair conditioningbeachhairdryermassagebaht
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 214 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was the cheapest hotel we stayed in during our travels round Thailand. The building is lovely – a brightly coloured townhouse style guesthouse along a street of bars and restaurants. The staff were very friendly, and our room was clean and had everything we needed. The guesthouse is only 5 minutes to the beautiful beach and close to all that Karon has to offer. There is also a fab Indian restaurant next door which we went to one night.

We had a lovely quiet night the first night we stayed, but the second night there was some kind of karaoke going on next door which kept us awake, but apart from that – no complaints!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronSunshine, Owner at Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Hi,
Thank you for your comments and taking the time to write a review for us.
It is nice to hear you geneally enjoyed your stay with us - sorry you were disturbed by noise next door. Thai karoke is the usual form of entertainment for parties but the 1.00am curfew for music should still be followed even though we are in the quiet season. Do you know where the music was coming from? I have a feeling it was coming from a small bar about 4 shops along from us. I will check with staff and speak with the establishment if i can determine who is the culprit. At least i hope it was nice Thai music and not the sound of animal being strangled.
We enjoyed you staying with us and hope to see you back this way again when your next trip WILL be much quieter.
Best wishes,
Greg and the Sunhine Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The staff make this place. Before we arrived we recieved an email saying that we had been upgraded free of charge - simply because the room was free. We arrived and booked 2 further nights after seeing the room. The customer service and friendly smile are the main positives to note. Only a couple of minutes to the beach, and in a great area just off the main strip. The staff gave us discount on drinks, free welcome drink, and knew us very well by the time we left.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronSunshine, Owner at Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Hi,
Many thanks for your comments and especially for taking time to write a review for us. It is great to hear you had a good time and that the crew looked after you. I have said this before but i will say it again that my guys can stand up to many of the bigger and better (?) establishments around town when it comes to service, friendliness, genuine warmth, honesty and fun. Are we 100% perfect absolutely not but we do try and listen to our customers and we do try to improve where we can. Our goal is that every guest comes away with a good feeling about their experience with us. Thank you to my team for making your stay enjoyable.
We enjoyed having you stay with us and we would love to see you again next time you are back this way.
Best wishes,
Greg and the Sunshine Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed at Karon Sunshine Guesthouse for 3 weeks in April/May this year and it was fantastic...the staff are friendly and happy and always willing to help with anything and all have a great sense on humour...nothing was too much trouble...every facility was within walking distance..including the beach...i enjoyed my daily evening beach walk...would highly recommend this hotel to anyone....
Graaza...Malaysia....

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank graaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronSunshine, Owner at Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2012

Wow, did you get home, drop the bags and do a review for us - now that is quick. Many thanks for your comments and taking the time to do write a review for us. I will pass your comments onto the girls. Glad you had a good time and it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. There are not too many gentlemen like us left ............., well like you anyway!
As you have experienced all the staff have an inate sense of fun and mischief and each demonstrates these characteristics in their own unique way. All they need is a little encouragement to get them going and look out they're onto you.ig, Good stuff and helps us be a little different to the big inpersonel hotels.
Next time you are looking to Karon for another break we would love to be able to look after oyu again.
Best wishes,
Greg and the Sunshine Girls ( stand up comics live on stage all day and night in Karon!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed there for 6 days.

Location

Very strategic location. Along the road, there are many restaurants and pub nearby for you to choose. Beach is about 5 minutes walk. It is easy to rent a motorbike or car if you plan to travel around and Phuket bus also passes by if you wish to travel to Kata or Phuket Town.Walking to Kata would take about 25-30 minutes.

Guesthouse
It's a 3 storey guesthouse with the bar located on the ground floor.The rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floor and it is a walk-up stairs.

We stayed in the Standard Room which has a back view.This is a basic guesthouse with basic facilities such as satellite tv, hot water,aircond, mini fridge, small dressing table and joint toilet bathroom. It's all in one, like most of the typical old asian house toilet. Room is clean daily and towels are changed every 3 days. Beach towels are available if you are going to the beach.

Overall, the price of the accomodation is reasonable. I would recommend you to stay if you are on a budget.

I miss their dog too, Lucky. Such a cute dog.

Room Tip: If you want a front view and larger space for you to walk, I recommend Superior Room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronSunshine, Owner at Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Hello,
Lovely comments - many thanks and also a big thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad you enyoyed your stay with us and that we were able to meet your expectations.
Our mission, if you like, is to continue to be a small, friendly place , located in a great location that offers real value and added services where we can like beach towels, library, wet room amentities etc. Nothing flash just a nice clean, no BS ,enjoyable, safe and friendly place to stay.
I don't know if you saw the economy room but it is a little bigger than a standard room has all the same amentities - air con, fan, safe, ensuite etc and at this time of the year ( may to sept) exceptionla value at Baht 440 per night ( about $US 14.00). Only draw back is it does not have open and close windows ( has windows at the ceiling level to let in light approx 3 meters high) and no view but a good room for sleeping. If you are looking for a simple room at a real budget price then this is it and double the price of 2 beach chairs. Anyway worth considering if you like more space.
We welcome you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes,
Greg and hte Sunshine crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't have asked for more considering the cheap rates! It's by no means a 5 star hotel but the location was perfect, the wifi super fast and the room was clean and cosy. The girls were friendly and helpful. My only criticism would be that I had to get up 2 flights of stairs to get to my room and this made carrying heavy luggage difficult, but it was a minor complaint in the grand scheme of things. Would highly recommend this place if you're looking for a cheap place to stay that is comfortable but not extremely fancy.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babooshka29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronSunshine, Owner at Karon Sunshine Guesthouse, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Hello,
Terrific, glad you had a pleasant stay and that you were well looked after whilst you were here and thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review for us.
I completely emphathise with your comments on the stairs and whilst i find it much easier to climb now that i have given up smoking, i know when i have reached the top and glad to take a break. The good news is there is a comfortable room awaiting you when you get there and the air cons kick in pretty quickly - think of the calories you are burning through this cardio vascular activity........
We do not pretend to be anything other than a 3 star or 3 1/2 star establishment and try where ever we can to deliver that little bit extra either through our warm and genuine hospitality or things like having beach towels for our guests, the book exchange library, WIFI throughout the building or offering the wet room amentties like shampoo and soap. Hopefully these small details are important in the long run.
We look forward to seeing you back in Karon in the near future.
Best wishes,
Greg and the Sunshine crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews