We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant with superb food ”
Review of Sabaijai Cafe

Sabaijai Cafe
Ranked #13 of 500 Restaurants in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $64
Cuisines: Thai
Description: We are willing to serve our home recipe to all customers, however, as our small kitchen that can cook the foods dish by dish so at the peak hour the food might takes around 45 minutes to an hour.
Restaurant details
Description: We are willing to serve our home recipe to all customers, however, as our small kitchen that can cook the foods dish by dish so at the peak hour the food might takes around 45 minutes to an hour.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

Been here twice in the 3 days I was in Karon. Food was really good. Tried the pad thai, tom yum kung, green curry, panang curry (yellow curry), tom kah kai (tom yum with coconut milk if I'm not mistaken), amd they were delicious and suits our tastebuds! Prices are comparable among all the shops that we have been to as well.

Its less than a 5 minutes walk from Chanalai Hillside Resort, and about 10 minutes walk from Karon beach, so it was really convenient. There are both indoors and outdoors tables, and air-conditioning was available indoors which allowed us to escape the phuket heat. However do note that they have a limited number of tables and it was nearly filled at lunchtime during the low season in May, so expect a bigger crowd if you are travelling in the peak season.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank nyiauwenjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 856 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I had read the reviews on this restaurant before leaving home and since it was close to our hotel, we decided to try it on the very first day of our stay. That was a good decision. The food was so good! Every subsequent time we went (about four more times), everything we tried was outstanding. Always piping hot and fresh with excellent flavour, we didn’t have a bad meal there. In fact, every time we tried a different restaurant, we would comment, “it’s not as good as Sabaijai”.

The staff were lovely too and they enjoyed interacting with us and helping my husband learn new Thai words. He really enjoyed their Thai Iced Tea and became affectionately known as Mr Chai Yen (thai for iced tea).

Prices were excellent - very, very reasonable. The restaurant is small in size (it is wise to book if planning to go for dinner), but big in service and flavour. Do yourself a favour and give it a try. You won’t regret it all at, and if you’re not staying in the area, make the effort to get here. There are not too many restaurants in Karon that I feel absolutely confident to recommend, but this one I certainly do. Well done to the staff of Sabaijai.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Melbournian_Sunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

Strongly recommended: Crab with glass noodle and fried prawn with garlic and pepper, perfect with a Singha beer :)

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank gizemguven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

We were spoilt as this was our first lunch of the trip and turned out we had one of the best dishes. Green curry with roti just excellent also had shrimp cakes which were pretty good. A highlight lunch in comfortable air conditioned cafe like space

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank kbuckle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

After a few disappointing, touristy meals at the other recommended trip advisor restaurants in Karon Beach we were so pleased to eat Thai as it should be. The staff told us Sabaijai means 'be happy' and certainly we were very happy eating here for the next 4 days (except closed on Sundays). As it is a small restaurant with limited tables inside we decided to book ahead and tried a range of meals in the menu. Favourites include the crispy larb chicken salad, penang curry, massaman curry and papaya salad. The staff are all friendly but the main front person was amazing at making you feel welcome and letting us & others know how long to wait for food. Sabaijai is away from the main shopping/restaurants and close to Best Western Ocean Beach. Go to this restaurant and you will be happy that you did!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sabaijai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing