We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa
Ranked #45 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“value hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I'm staying here for two nights of a 8-day-trip in Phuket islands. After staying holiday inn and Burasari for 6 nights, alpina is the last hotel we stay. the room is fantastic as it combines Thai style with modern facility in a huge space. the view is so so except pool access of ground floor. all you can see from the balcony is small hills with village houses. the pool beats all hotels i lived but it closed at 7pm.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surealwxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    233
    92
    27
    29
See reviews for
133
266
29
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

i booked through email, they have a good offer while i stay there. They have special package for me, they give us : 1x dinner, 1hour spa for couple, free wifi, transfer in and out service. Restaurant price is reasonable and good taste. Bed is very nice facing the pool. Like it very much. Recomended for honeymooners.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Not the greatest location, however pool access rooms are fantastic. There was a whole group of us that went there twice in the past three years. Restaurant food is ok, but the cocktails are super. pool area is great and the spa is really really really good!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SonjaBla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Some people will find anything to complain about! I couldn't find anything major enough to criticise! I found the staff friendly enough without being over the top! On a arrival we were upgraded to a pool terrace room for no apparent reason which got things off to a good start!

Yeah drinks aren't as cheap as in patong but you'd expect to pay more at the hotel, the most I think I paid was around £6 but that was for two drinks with it being happy hour!

What you have up appreciate is you're in a different country with a different culture and not everything will be same.... It's about embracing diversity....

Thank you Alpina for making my stay super!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Maitai75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

In short the hotel is fine, though its trying to be grander than it is, and only some renovation will sort that out and a revamp of the onsite entertainment. Generally my husband and I liked it despite some of the bad stuff and when we moved on to Koh Lanta we missed our room at the Alpina. I suppose we accepted some of the bad stuff because we paid roughly £43 a night and at that price you know it's not a 4 star hotel (even if it says it is).

In more detail: it's true that the hotel staff on the front desk are not amazingly friendly. They don't greet guests as they come in and out and they make no eye contact. We were checked in by a woman on reception who although was clearly intelligent and efficient, just didn't seem that friendly. We'd been traveling for 18 hours before reaching the hotel and rather than saying hello, she greeted us with 'passports and reservation please' or something to that effect and seemed a bit miffed as to why we weren't really with it.

To counter this, we were upgraded when she saw on our reservation that we were on our honeymoon, and so for no extra charge, we were put in the pool access room which we were really happy about. I'd also like to say that all staff *not* on the front desk were really friendly and always said hello. We were sent a platter of fresh fruit on our first day of arrival, and the cleaning staff decorated our room with rose petals to greet us which was really sweet. I'd also like to say that the room was serviced every day about noonish to a high standard, and we always had everything replenished properly (unlike some other reviewers have experienced).

I've read in other reviews that the rooms smelled damp, and its true, ours did too. Once I took a shower I knew why - the bathroom in our room was poorly designed so the water was collecting alongside the bath (my husband is a builder and pointed out there should be a slant there and there isn't, so the water was probably dripping down and collecting under the bath. The tiles also had some mould in them and need chemical treatment. However like some other guests have commented, after using the aircon regularly, the smell seemed to stop being a problem.

The room's decor was nice, and was the bed was comfortable. The TV reception was a bit poor, and although sun didn't hit our balcony directly, after 6 days I realised this was a blessing because I quite liked the shade. Sleep quality was great because the hotel is situated away from the main drag of noisy bars, and so we slept well. Would have been nice to have a mosquito net though.

Personally I thought breakfast was fine in comparison to some of the other places we stayed at whilst in Thailand - it was standard as far as Thai places go. Despite what one bad reviewer said, I thought the egg station was clean and that they didn't offer cheese in the omelets was fine - its Thailand, who wants to eat cheese for goodness sake? It is true though that the breakfast staff whilst sweet are very casual in their approach and we often had to get our own coffee and cutlery as they often weren't about - I think this is largely due to staff numbers being low during busy periods.

Food and drink: when we got room service the food was fantastic (their Tom Yam soup is to die for), though a bit expensive compared to restaurants offsite. Drinks were definitely overpriced in the bar (we paid £10 for a pina colada!) and we avoided socialising inside the hotel because the entertainment was really bad (sorry singers!) - it was really dated and we had a better time off the premises.

So there you have it, some good, some bad - we liked it more than we disliked it though.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool access are worth it, and the rooms at the back of the hotel are particularly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaidey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa in Kata. There were 6 of us ( age range 20 to 66) and we had 4 rooms all on the top floor overlooking the fish pool with spectacular views of the hills.

We specifically chose this hotel as it was set away from the main road that runs from Kata to Karon and is therefore very quiet but within walking distance of bars, cafes and restaurants.

The rooms are large and well appointed with hairdryers, bathrobes, slippers, toiletries, fridge, safe, plug in mozzie repellant and TV (some channels had very poor reception particularly BBC World News). There are some signs of wear and tear but nothing major. The whole hotel was clean and we found the beds to be very comfortable. The air conditioning was good but when on full, it is noisy but we find this to be the case in any hotel we have stayed in. When turned to low, the air con is much quieter. The balconys have sun loungers and tables but no cushions but you can use the seat pads from the chairs in the bedroom.

Breakfast was buffet style with a huge array to choose from.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful particularly as we arrived at 03.30 a.m and were we were very tired. The 2 chaps on night duty were welcoming and showed us to our rooms.

Most staff speak some English but frequently things would get lost in translation as it were. Whilst their English is much better than our Thai, we were surprised that their level of English was very limited. We met the Manager Gino, a Maltese, who explained that many staff are attending English classes to improve their language.

The hotel has its own private section of Kata Beach and the shuttle bus runs hourly to take you there and back. Sunshades, sun loungers and beach towels are provided. You can walk to the beach from the hotel in about 15/20 minutes.

The pool area is lovely although we only spent 1 day sitting here as we are beach people. We were also put off sitting here as there was a large English family who decided to bring their own music and play it so loudly that it collided with the music that was being played at the pool bar. Happy hour is from 5.00pm until 6.00pm where it's buy one get one free. There is also a pool side menu and we had a delicious chicken kebab. The mojitos are also very good.

The bar has happy hour from 7.00pm until 8.00pm. There is a resident duo who sing nearly every night. Unfortunately, the volume is so loud you can't really have a conversation without shouting. We pointed out to Gino that when there are only 3 people in the bar, it's perhaps not necessary to have the volume so high. He acknowledged this and said he would do something about it particularly as we had said that we would leave the bar and go somewhere else for a drink because we couldn't hear each other talk. Consequently, the hotel is losing valuable revenue. Similarly, we ate dinner only once at the hotel restaurant because of the volume of the singers and we couldn't hear ourselves speak However, for our remaining 6 nights, no change on volume levels despite the bar and restaurant only having on average 4 people per night at any one time!

We made use of the spa and had body scrubs and massages which were wonderful.

We ate at several good restaurants in Kata including Mama's and The Coffee Club but our favourite was The Two Chefs. We also went to Mom Tri's which was lovely.

We booked a trip to Phi Phi Island through Phuket Sail Tours which was excellent.

We also did the elephant trek which we booked through the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it.

We also did a 2 day 1 night trip to Bangkok which we arranged ourselves.

I would recommend this hotel and would return provided the singing duo's volume was turned down! We all had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TOM186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvidovre, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed two weeks at the alpina, and enjoyed it. Very good room service, large pool, very friendly staff, and good breakfast. The hotel is very large, but its still nice and cosy. The rooms and beds are nice as well. The location is perfect if you want more Thai-style. It is near a road where the thai people also eat and shop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JuliaS288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#9 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach Heights Resort
The Beach Heights Resort
#32 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andaman Cannacia Resort
Andaman Cannacia Resort
#26 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa

Property: Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa
Address: 7/1 Ketkwan Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#25 Spa Hotel in Karon
#37 Family Hotel in Karon
#38 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#38 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an eclectic mix of unrivalled services and facilities, Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa is the destination of choice for singles, couples and families alike. A combination of charming oriental hospitality showcased by friendly and personalized service and intelligently designed facilities creates a perfect holiday experience with memories to last a lifetime. The resort's peaceful setting fosters a laid-back and relaxed ambience in which guests can completely switch off and enjoy the luxury of the surroundings and the many facilities at their disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Phuket Nalina Hotel Karon
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort And Spa
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing