We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit hit and miss...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa
Ranked #44 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at the Alpina with my partner for 8 nights in a Jazz Pool access room.

Check in is from 3pm and we arrived early at 12pm and had our bags placed on the bell hops trolly. Driver beeped twice and yelled out check in but no body came to assist us. Not minding doing things for myself and understanding we were a little early I pushed to trolly up the ramp and into the lobby. We stood there for a few minutes with the only staff member at the counter busy with another customer. She eventually acknoledged us and told us to sit down in a chair. Cool towel and fruit beverage were brought out shortly after which was nice. Check in after that did not take long and we were shown to our room and shown around it. We looked around the resort and the grounds were well maintained and had a very nice appearance about it.

The room was quite spacious and had an excellent bathroom with a very large shower and dual wash basins. The bed is quite hard but I did not mind it and slept very well every night. The direct access to the pool was the best thing about the room I highly recommend these rooms. They are however getting very close to needing refurbishment and wear and tear is showing, loose bathroom fittings, loosing fittings near the bed which feel off, mildew on the roof, wear showing on the furniture. Kind of at the point were it will just get worse if not attended to. The hotel is nearly 6 years old.

Three bad things about the time spent in the room. The free Wifi provided was close to useless on most days and only worked intermittely with it going out for an entire day with nothing being said to guests until we asked the next day what was going on as we had important things to do. This was a big issue for us during our stay.

The TV reception is rubbish and cut out completely on a few occasions. The confusing list of over 80 channels (mostly thai) are a joke. The hotel has known this for at least 6 months and nothing has been done its just not good enough. House keeping was another total let down in standards. The floor was swept only with a brush (sometimes not even brushed at all!) and never vacumed and would still be unclean. The bed was always made poorly and the sink in the bathroom was not always wiped down. Tolietries were never replaced once in the 8 days and the ash tray on the balcony never emptied once. We just ended up putting the do not disturb sign up and cleaned it ourselves not a great impression.

I stayed at the Alpina with my partner for 8 nights in a Jazz Pool access room.

Check in is from 3pm and we arrived early at 12pm and had our bags placed on the bell hops trolley. Driver beeped twice and yelled out check in but nobody came to assist us. Not minding doing things for myself and understanding we were a little early I pushed to trolley up the ramp and into the lobby. We stood there for a few minutes with the only staff member at the counter busy with another customer. She eventually acknowledged us and told us to sit down in a chair. Cool towel and fruit beverage were brought out shortly after which was nice. Check in after that did not take long and we were shown to our room and shown around it.

The room was quite spacious and had an excellent bathroom with a very large shower and dual wash basins. The bed is quite hard but I did not mind it and slept very well every night. The direct access to the pool was the best thing about the room I highly recommend these rooms. They are however getting very close to needing refurbishment and wear and tear is showing, loose bathroom fittings, loosing fittings near the bed which feel off, mildew on the roof, wear showing on the furniture. Kind of at the point where it will just get worse if not attended to. The hotel is nearly 6 years old.

Three bad things about the time spent in the room. The free Wifi provided was close to useless on most days and only worked intimately with it going out for an entire day with nothing being said to guests until we asked the next day what was going on as we had important things to do. The TV reception is rubbish and the confusing list of over 80 channels (mostly thai) are a joke. The hotel has known this for at least 6 months and nothing has been done it’s just not good enough. Housekeeping was another total let down in standards. The floor was swept only with a brush (sometimes not even brushed at all!) and never vacuumed and would still be unclean. The bed was always made poorly and the sink in the bathroom was not always wiped down. Toiletries were never replaced once in the 8 days and the ash tray on the balcony never emptied once. We just ended up putting the do not disturb sign up and cleaned it ourselves not a great impression.
English is poorly spoken by most staff, don't bother calling the front desk just go there yourself and explain what you would like. Every time I called I just got a lengthy confused conversation in broken English. This has been highlighted by other guests, I don't expect all staff to speak it but at least the front counter staff could be better trained. Most staff were very friendly however.

Ok now to some of the good things. The breakfast was good always a decent selection of western and thai foods. The egg station where you can get eggs cooked any way you like is a nice touch. Staff do not serve anything you just get up and get anything including coffee tea etc etc.

The large pool and pool bar area are excellent with great swimming to be had, plenty of deck chairs to lounge around and catch the sun. Happy hour is great value between 5-6pm, around 170 Baht for 2 cocktails. The barman was mostly on his own and had to serve food as well and was always running around, very overworked which made service very slow even with only 6 or so customers, took up to 20 mins to get one drink sometimes. Not that we were in a rush but happy hour only lasts 1 hour. Tipped the poor bloke he deserved it.

Ate at the Mamma Mia Pizza restaurant once and it was ok. My salami pizza was on a nice base but a little tasteless, did not eat there again just so many other better cheaper options at your doorstep. Had room service once, it was again just ok. Took over a day for the plates to be removed from our front door after the ants had got to them....i mean really so many staff must have walked past them.

The location of the hotel was good, nice and quite away from the hub bub. A shuttle is provided every hour to Kata beach. The website states 'Private stretch' of Kata beach which is totally misleading, there’s a 'few' beach chairs which are taken by 10am and most people stayed there the majority of the day. Anyone including hawkers can take up a spot right next to you there’s nothing private about it. There’s one staff member who stands around looking at the beach and not much else. Drinks and snacks are provided by a beach vendor not the hotel.

As you can see it’s a bit of a hit and miss sort of place. Not being a chain resort, the standards vary greatly. This is not 5 star but there are certain things that can be fixed to vastly improve the guests experience. Stay here if you can get a good deal on a pool access room you will have a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Pool access room or a pool villa if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMaster666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 730 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel could do with an upgrade in places but the swim up room we had was a good size,the shower was brilliant and the only criticism was there was not enough drawer space for two!
The breakfast was good and had a great choice of food and the staff were friendly and helpful.
There is a shuttle to the beach every hour but you can actually walk it as it takes about 15 mins,the only problem is you have to be at the beach before 10am or after 12pm or you may not get a chair! The beach sun beds are a bit tatty and the covers are pretty grotty but you get a nice thick beach towel to cover them!
The hotel is in a great location for the shops ,bars and restaurants in kata and for the money is good value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alisonhaagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The staff at this hotel were professional and and friendly. We stayed for 10 days. 5 days in a pool access room, 3 days in a pool view room and on the last night, an upgrade to a pool access suite. Wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lefetele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I take a lot of holidays in resorts which are usually all inclusive. this place had breakfast included and it was fantastic everyday. We loved our room, we had pool access from our balcony and that was as terrific as you can imagine. really big bed( california king)we had no problem sleeping with no noise at all from any room around us and they were all occupied. A/C worked really well, shower is amazing, the only teeny tiny negative was the TV reception was terrible. but not a big deal. The staff were just wonderful at all times and really helpful. we arrived after 30 hours travel and they wanted us to wait 3 hours. I explained how exhausted I was and could they do anything. They did. we had our room in 15 minutes. how many people arrive feeling refreshed yet they listened and made it happen.
The hotel was very clean, food in restaurant was great, We were delighted and highly recommend them. I have never had a better experience in that we had no complaints even if we dig. I cannot find one. no TV is not a bad thing lol. We had 4 hours extra after checkout until we needed to leave for the airport. we paid a small extra and had our room until the last minute.

Room Tip: They only have rooms facing the pool, and we had the main level with pool access. it was incredible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendyptoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Definitely one of the best hotels in Phuket ,I enjoyed every second of it. massage shops and excellent. I was with my boyfriend and my sister and he had a wonderful time .they have such a lovely big swimming pool so special. Great service!!! I will be back

Room Tip: Rooms at The corner are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wonderful440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked a pool access room for 5 nights and was very happy considering this cost less than $60. Real value for money here. Everything was fine with one exception. The breakfast is superb. Eggs which ever way you want including poached. Great variety. The shuttle bus works well and the beach equipment was adequate considering it was included in the price.
The hotel has free beer and wine every Thursday evening for a few hours. Here you will get the opportunity to air any grievances directly with the hotel manager Gino. Not many Hotels offer this type of opportunity.
Gino is an engaging character who is only too happy to hear your thoughts on the hotel and it's staff.
My one complaint was the TV reception. It was very poor. We enjoy keeping up with the latest news and sport. Gino stated that the hotels large TV reception amplifier, which was located in the hotel basement had been broken by flooding water. As a replacement the hotel had installed a system which worked on a relay by boosting the signal as it stretched out to the extremes of the hotel. He admitted that he had been ill advised and based upon the continuing complaints he will revert back to the previous central system.

Room Tip: The donuts at breakfast are wicked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cruiserSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

After starting a week's stay in Patong, we left after two nights, and headed to Alpina. We first visited this quiet and relaxing hotel 5 years ago. We were warmly received and check in was quite quick. As the room needed another 30 to 40 minutes of cleaning time (we arrived before the check in time), we chilled in the pagoda reading our books. We booked 3 nights at the hotel in the pool access room. It's worth a little extra to have this perk. The room was simple yet well laid out. The breakfast was quite good - not a huge variety but the menu changed slightly everyday to give some range.
The hotel has a designated area with lounge chairs in Kata Beach which was quite handy. The hourly shuttle bus to and for the beach was useful too. The area has grown since our last visit but not as thriving as Patong. The streets were quiet and no hassling message parlor nor vendors to annoy you to buy some handy crafts.
We will be back - for sure!!! Can't wait!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank msjahki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#9 of 136 in Karon
652 reviews
2.1 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#4 of 136 in Karon
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#17 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,005 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 55 in Kata Beach
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa

Address: 7/1 Ketkwan Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#26 Spa Hotel in Karon
#37 Family Hotel in Karon
#38 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#38 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $42 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an eclectic mix of unrivalled services and facilities, Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa is the destination of choice for singles, couples and families alike. A combination of charming oriental hospitality showcased by friendly and personalized service and intelligently designed facilities creates a perfect holiday experience with memories to last a lifetime. The resort's peaceful setting fosters a laid-back and relaxed ambience in which guests can completely switch off and enjoy the luxury of the surroundings and the many facilities at their disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Phuket Nalina Hotel Karon
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort And Spa
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing