We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan Karonburi Resort
Ranked #65 of 133 Hotels in Karon
malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simple but nice”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

if you are on a budget... this would be a good hotel...
the room is spacious ..and clean... the room view is a bit awkward though coz the room design are slanted..

if you wish to see the ocean view then get the highest floor. level4.
breakfast is OK.. not much choices....
Staff is nice and friendly ...

the location is near to the beach, you can walk across the road. ...
yup the hotel is on the other side of the beach...

down side is you have to have transport to stay on this side of phuket...
you can rent a moto bike for 30 baht per day....

practically.. what you can do there is lazying yourself in the sun ...
that is of course the main agenda of coming to phuket !..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1derwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    146
    51
    23
    16
See reviews for
77
133
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed here for a week on our honeymoon. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful in every need. Our room was clean and well equipped. Hotel pool was excellent.

Hotel location was excellent. The Karon beach had enough shops and restaurants, but wasn't too crowded. I can recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Phuket is just another sea town where you get all the modern amenities. This Hotel is on karon beach beside the karon shopping centre. You just need to cross a road and you will get on the beach.

The rooms are good and modern. We booked the sea view rooms and we just got a very partial view of the sea from the rooms balcony. Bathrooms are good, big and clean. We do not need to tell the house keeping everyday to clean the rooms, but they did it themselves. Breakfast did have variety but we stayed there 6 days and almost all the same everyday. Swimming pool is big and good, they also have a pool bar. All staff were helpful and always greeted us with a smile.

The location is good and you can walk to Karon shopping area. There you also get tuk tuk or taxi and you can move around anywhere. There are many eating places and minimarts all around the place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strawberryz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I stayed at the baan karon buri with a friend of mine. We were both looking for a cheap stay with airconditioning. So, we were greatly surprised to have a spacious double room, large bathroom with bath, balcony(not much of a view from side of building), the best room service, omgoodness, did we eat alot of room service. After walking most of phuket during the day, it was great to stay at a place close to everything. This place is on the beach and very close to the markets, and the 30baht blue buses stop out the front to take you into Phuket town. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and dont mind guests stocking up at the free breakfast each morning. You'll need it! A very convenient place to stay and alot quieter than up the road at patong beach! Great escape after each long day!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kut86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

after specifically requesting the room configuration the first night i had to sleep with the person i was travelling with because the hotel claimed to have over booked. however i saw this happen to another traveller and they were not happy either. otherwise this hotel was good, location and room were fine. i was just offended at being expected to sleep with my friend. i didn't see the staff try and put 2 blokes together. i would recommend this hotel but be aware you might have to sleep with someone you wouldn't normally choose to sleep with.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank emac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavle, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed only one night at Baan Karonburi but got a very good impression of the Hotel. It´s conveniently located close to the beach, just outiside the noisy Center of Karon.

The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. It was ok for us to keep our towels and stay by the pool in the afternoon even though we had checked out.

We ate at the restaurant twice. The portions were large and the food was very tasty both times. Breakfast was good but a little crowded.

We had a room with pool access in the new part of the Hotel. Our room was great - spacious and luxurious. The only negative was a nasty smell from the drain in the shower.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sun010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for five nights. We were delighted to check in and be taken to a clean, large room with a view of the pool. Along with the brilliant beachfront location of the hotel, the gorgeous room is the only reason to stay here.

The following morning at breakfast, we saw flies buzzing around the fruit and veg, while the chef and numerous waitresses stood by as if they didn't notice or care. The sausages look uncooked. Not only is the food very poor, the service is atrocious. Breakfast runs from 6:30am till 10:30am, however, from 10:15am, the staff are rushing around to clear the food and plates away, thus making guests feel unwelcome.

The hotel pools are well maintained and normally very quiet, though not as quiet at the poolside bar, which charges extortionate prices for all drinks.

Another couple of nice touches are: ESPN on the bedroom television and a gym (which is very small but has treadmills and a cross trainer).

Another gripe with the Baan Karonburi Hotel is the cost of using the hotel's WiFi. 70 baht for 30 minutes and 120 baht for 60 minutes are the only options available. There are no day/week/fortnight tariffs available and because of this, the hotel lost out on some business from myself.

All in all, this is a reasonable hotel that suffers mainly from an inefficient staff whose hearts are clearly not in their jobs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JT1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#99 of 133 in Karon
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#87 of 133 in Karon
311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Phuket Island View
Phuket Island View
#73 of 133 in Karon
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
1.0 mi away
Baan Karon Resort
Baan Karon Resort
#66 of 133 in Karon
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woraburi Phuket Resort & Spa
Woraburi Phuket Resort & Spa
#5 of 7 in Karon Beach
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Karonburi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Karonburi Resort

Property: Baan Karonburi Resort
Address: 194/1 Karon Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Karonburi Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Karonburi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Karonburi Hotel Karon
Baan Karonburi Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing