We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baan Karonburi - on Karon beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan Karonburi Resort
Ranked #61 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Phuket is just another sea town where you get all the modern amenities. This Hotel is on karon beach beside the karon shopping centre. You just need to cross a road and you will get on the beach.

The rooms are good and modern. We booked the sea view rooms and we just got a very partial view of the sea from the rooms balcony. Bathrooms are good, big and clean. We do not need to tell the house keeping everyday to clean the rooms, but they did it themselves. Breakfast did have variety but we stayed there 6 days and almost all the same everyday. Swimming pool is big and good, they also have a pool bar. All staff were helpful and always greeted us with a smile.

The location is good and you can walk to Karon shopping area. There you also get tuk tuk or taxi and you can move around anywhere. There are many eating places and minimarts all around the place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strawberryz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 348 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2011

I stayed at the baan karon buri with a friend of mine. We were both looking for a cheap stay with airconditioning. So, we were greatly surprised to have a spacious double room, large bathroom with bath, balcony(not much of a view from side of building), the best room service, omgoodness, did we eat alot of room service. After walking most of phuket during the day, it was great to stay at a place close to everything. This place is on the beach and very close to the markets, and the 30baht blue buses stop out the front to take you into Phuket town. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and dont mind guests stocking up at the free breakfast each morning. You'll need it! A very convenient place to stay and alot quieter than up the road at patong beach! Great escape after each long day!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kut86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

after specifically requesting the room configuration the first night i had to sleep with the person i was travelling with because the hotel claimed to have over booked. however i saw this happen to another traveller and they were not happy either. otherwise this hotel was good, location and room were fine. i was just offended at being expected to sleep with my friend. i didn't see the staff try and put 2 blokes together. i would recommend this hotel but be aware you might have to sleep with someone you wouldn't normally choose to sleep with.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank emac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed only one night at Baan Karonburi but got a very good impression of the Hotel. It´s conveniently located close to the beach, just outiside the noisy Center of Karon.

The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. It was ok for us to keep our towels and stay by the pool in the afternoon even though we had checked out.

We ate at the restaurant twice. The portions were large and the food was very tasty both times. Breakfast was good but a little crowded.

We had a room with pool access in the new part of the Hotel. Our room was great - spacious and luxurious. The only negative was a nasty smell from the drain in the shower.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sun010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for five nights. We were delighted to check in and be taken to a clean, large room with a view of the pool. Along with the brilliant beachfront location of the hotel, the gorgeous room is the only reason to stay here.

The following morning at breakfast, we saw flies buzzing around the fruit and veg, while the chef and numerous waitresses stood by as if they didn't notice or care. The sausages look uncooked. Not only is the food very poor, the service is atrocious. Breakfast runs from 6:30am till 10:30am, however, from 10:15am, the staff are rushing around to clear the food and plates away, thus making guests feel unwelcome.

The hotel pools are well maintained and normally very quiet, though not as quiet at the poolside bar, which charges extortionate prices for all drinks.

Another couple of nice touches are: ESPN on the bedroom television and a gym (which is very small but has treadmills and a cross trainer).

Another gripe with the Baan Karonburi Hotel is the cost of using the hotel's WiFi. 70 baht for 30 minutes and 120 baht for 60 minutes are the only options available. There are no day/week/fortnight tariffs available and because of this, the hotel lost out on some business from myself.

All in all, this is a reasonable hotel that suffers mainly from an inefficient staff whose hearts are clearly not in their jobs.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JT1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Just went to their Lai Thai restaurant for an early lunch with my girlfriend because it is facing the sea.

I ordered a seafood pizza (it written homemade pizza in the menu). The pizza came pretty quick and for sure I can tell that the crust is not homemade.

I ate one slice of the pizza and found out that it was hawaiian pizza instead of seafood pizza. So it was obviously the waiter who got our orders wrong.

Without any hesitance we asked another waitress to check whether the correct order was being served. She realized that the wrong pizza was served instead of the seafood pizza which we ordered. We insisted to change to the pizza that we ordered because the Hawaiian pizza tasted really bad with all the sour pineapples and the sour sauce- doesn't taste like hawaiian pizza at all!!! My girlfriend nearly got gastric on the spot.

Went to complain to the manager and sadly he refused to be responsible for the mistake made and he insisted that it is impossible to change a new pizza because we already ate 2 slices of the pizza.

I asked whether it is alright to just pay for half pizza and the drinks and let us go. He shouted "no no no no cannot" because we already ate 2 slices of the pizza.

So we just asked for the bill and go. In the end, they charge us the hawaiian pizza price (220B) instead of the seafood pizza price (200B). We just paid and go.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

All be very aware this hotel is bad very bad, in 5 trips to Thailand within 10 years this would rate withourt a doubt as the most dishonest and terrible hotel ever. It started when we booked 5 days prior to arriving with a Tat office in Bangkok, we booked interconnecting rooms with pool access for ourselves and 2 kids (7 & 14), as well as a our oldest daughter and her fiancee (3rooms in total) with another 2 rooms 4 days later for friends travelling with us. Upon arrival at 4pm in the arvo we were greeted by the fact that they did not have interconnecting rooms for us at all,and were told that they actually didn't have a room for our kids. After much arguing they soon found to our amazement interconnecting rooms on the top floor of the Delux building (sea view rooms I was told) but wait for it I would have to pay for the upgrade (400baht) as well as an extra 600baht for single beds in the kids room (I have never ever heard of the later). When I complained about this to the receptionist who was helping us she stated that it was the agents fault for not confirming anything with them, my reply to her was that it was her hotel that had taken our money and was not prepared to refund us, to which she could not respond to. My daugter also paid to have her room upgraded to pool access (something that was promised when booking in Bangkok). After a sleepless night my husband and I proceeded down to sought out a few things about the extra charges and another lady who was lovely told us not to worry there would be no charges at all for the rooms.When our other friends arrived 3 days later they were provided with 2 single beds in 1 room ( Mum, dad and 18 year old son)they were also told that there was no more rooms, suspiciously as soon as an upgrade was mentioned spare rooms and beds became available.The restaurant is foul (couldn't work out why it was always empty) Breakfast is fly covered, new food is thrown on top of old, nothing kept cold, and very limited selection . Also beware of the middle aged Thai gentleman who works the food areas who sells tours on his so called fathers twin engine speed boats (nikon company that leave from boat harbour 10 mins away) that will take you where ever you want away from all the tourist spots etc etc etc . The tours are organised all out to PHI PHI island not what you want and the boats are shocking (he is very shady and money has to be exchanged in your room etc he claims the tours are so good but the hotel must not know. The Boat tour is terrible and expensive that is why the company is not represented in any hotel. We also found things would go missing if they were placed near a bin area we are sure housekeeping just through anything we lost photos, and other miscelaneous items from this hotel. Upon checkout we were charged for a broden glass that housekeeping broke (we assumed thatthey would record this they don't and guests get the blame if you don't report this. We were also charged for 4 beach towels that were left out on our balcony drying on the towel rail provided. We know this because we were in the pool / bar area until late and had to organise housekeeping to come and clean our room later that afternoon, and the towels were not replaced as per usual. This has to go down as the WORST and most DISHONEST hotel stay we ever had.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nueng95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#106 of 136 in Karon
277 reviews
0.7 mi away
Phuket Island View
Phuket Island View
#68 of 136 in Karon
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#33 of 136 in Karon
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Baan Karon Resort
Baan Karon Resort
#60 of 136 in Karon
138 reviews
0 mi away
Woraburi Phuket Resort & Spa
Woraburi Phuket Resort & Spa
#7 of 11 in Karon Beach
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Karonburi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Karonburi Resort

Address: 194/1 Karon Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Price Range: $32 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Karonburi Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Karonburi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Karonburi Hotel Karon
Baan Karonburi Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing