We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please read this review before booking this hotel.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Village Resort and Spa
Ranked #51 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Please read this review before booking this hotel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is advertised as a 4.5 star hotel when it really is only 3 star with some areas falling to 2 stars. There are two types of accommodation, one being a garden villa or the higher priced pool villa, which allows you to step from your room directly into the swimming pool. I opted for the former, as the idea of a swimming pool outside your bedroom didn't appeal to me nor did the increase in price. I booked through Booking.com and requested five nights in a garden villa which was confirmed once payment by myself was submitted.
When I arrived at the hotel in December I was informed that I had been given an upgrade to a pool villa at no extra cost but, unfortunately, there is some construction work behind the villa, which didn't start until 9am. I conveyed to the receptionist that I would prefer the original garden room that I had booked, but was informed that that wouldn't be possible as they were all full. When I told them that I had confirmation of a garden room villa booking and that the room should be available to me they could not give me an answer but offered their apologies. What has happened here is all the clients who had paid extra for the pool villas have been giving the alternative quiet garden villas, due to the construction work, and those customers that had paid for the less priced garden villa were not upgraded but downgraded to the supposedly noisy pool villas.
A warlike siren would sound at 8am (not 9am) and construction work noises commenced and lasted all the day. One particular stormy night the wind forced some of the building material to crash about from 4am until the siren started four hours later and sleep that evening was out of the question. What made matters worse was the bed was a futon mattress housed in a wooden frame to make it look very Japan like and was as hard as a board.
Apart from the nightmare room issue the hotel is run well below the expected Thai standards that we have come to experience on our travels in their hotels, and I would have to say it is most probably the worst hotel I have stayed in. I was happy when my five days' stay was over.
Breakfast is very poor. Sickly sugar sweet processed orange and pineapple juice was all that was available, and was difficult to swallow.The hot food (under plastic domes) was cold. There was only two fresh fruit choices, watermelon and pineapple, and no dragon fruit, papaya or mango, which are the main staple fruit crops of Thailand.
The hotel charges 200 Baht a day for wifi, which can't be sourced any further than the reception area, so there was no internet service available in the villas. In all the bars, restaurants and five star hotels in Karon and Kata wifi is available and FREE.
On the whole, it seems as if the hotel is trying to save costs everywhere and this is evident from the poor breakfast, chargeable wifi, and cheap futon mattress. PLEASE, consider alternative accommodation if you are wanting to stay in Karon Beach, as there are a lot of choices and better places to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank Paxton255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    94
    31
    11
    12
See reviews for
27
228
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Village Resort Spa is a very beautiful experience from the easy check in, to the huge Pool Villa rooms. We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and was up graded to a Pool Villa. The breakfast is great, all we required, the dinner was sensational, as with the staff.
My only complaint is the door locking system, I would prefer a more secure method of securing at night.
The nicest part of this Resort is no children and only 34 villas so everything is so close to walk to, as we have stayed as numerous hotels through out Phuket.
The beach is only a short walk, the restuarants and shopping are about 10 min easy walk.
Thank you to the staff for a memorable 4 days with you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennycowie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was the best hotel in our entire trip to Thailand. We booked a room and when we got there they gave us a free upgrade. The staff was super kind and welcoming. It wasn't very cheap, but the value was great to what the hotel has to offer. The rooms are amazing, the pool is great and the spa was very nice. I would definitely recommend this to everybody.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

So, 4+ stars for the people and 2 of 5 for the Resort (keeping in mind the price and their own advertizing). We stayed in a Pool Villa for 6 Nights. It is overall pretty and the location isn't bad. There just are too many little things off to justify the price:
Breakfast is mediocre. Dinner is better, espically liked their spicy Thai Salads.
Jacuzzi hours are twice a day before Lunch and in the afternoon...hu? Should be flexible per Guest choice or at least available around sunset.
Some of the Waterfeatures (particularly in the entrance) look unfinished.
Pool Villa bathrooms are connected to next door neighboor and you can hear literally everything.
The breakfast, Lunch, Dinner area (only one restaurant) is very close to some Pool Villas which takes away from the privacy of "your own Villa".
Leak in the Roof in the bathroom during strong rain and bathroom overall has a cheap feel to it.
So in summary, if you get a good price this is a very nice place in a nice part of Phuket (good mix between Patong Party and Beach serenity...) with a wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Get a Garden Villa or a Pool Villa away from the Eating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian_70s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Arrived in a monsoon downpour the resort looked pretty ordinary.The sun came out in the afternoon and so did the beauty and the atmosphere of the resort.The rooms are really like chalets in wooden jungle style very cosy and comfortable.We thought the breakfast was adequate I have had better in Thailand.This place is located just outside Karon town a short ten minute walk,and about five minute walk to the lovely beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ok here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The village resort was an oasis of tranquility. We stayed 7 nights and it was all sublime. I loved how massive the rooms were. we had never seen anythng like it - separate bedroom , living area and dressing area/wWIR. I dont know why peoepl complian about Thai beds, ours was fine and i selpt like a baby!
We were in a garden villa and no complaints, i dont think i woudl have used the lagoon access area anywasy. The main pool area was gorgeous, water temperature spot on and happy hour 2 for 1, which also seemed to spill over to happy 2 hours ;-)

We did the cooking class and were surprised to be the only 2 particpants so attention given to us was excellent. My husband was iffy on the class at first but said it was one of his highlights!
Teh Village is very well lcoated, short stroll to teh beach, with lots of chairs available. And a short stroll inot the main street and temple markets.

Staff were super friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was ample, nad actually much biiger than i was expecting from a aplce with only 34 villas. Always chairs by the pool both in sun and shade to suit your preference. Decks wiped down daily. Water supplied in rooms a bonus. two excelelnt super cool air conditioners inr oom. Rooms serviced daily and in a tiemly manner.

Resort is adults only, no cildren allowed so not suited to young families, but perfect for couples or people looking for peace and tranqility.

The resort truly made our holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skwyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was impressed by the peaceful quality of the resort. The staff is incredibly attentive, friendly, and welcoming. No request is too minor and is executed with grace and humor. My husband and I stayed in one of the villas without a swimming pool. The little veranda was charming, a great place to sit and enjoy the cool breeze coming down from the mountains. The rooms in the villa were superbly clean, as was the huge shower and bathtub. There was also plenty of complementary nescafe and tea, as well as two bottles of water per day. Upon our arrival we also were greeted with a plate of fresh (and very tasty) bananas. The toiletries in the bath are very nice, we think that folding the washcloths into little rabbit shapes was especially cute. Our villa also had a separate dressing area with robes, flip-flops, and a complementary safe. The bedroom was separate from the living area, and it had its own air conditioning system. We didn't need it much because the one in the living room was plenty to keep the whole villa cool. Perhaps the only negative thing we might say about our stay is that the bed was very very hard. We were a bit sore after we left. Nothing that would keep us from visiting again, though. The hotel restaurant is great, we had both steak and porkchops, both were fantastic. The buffet breakfast is immense! Everything from fresh fruit to fried rice to made to order eggs are on the menu. The pools are also super. Don't forget the hot tub above the waterfall, it's great. The swim-up bar is fun too, although do note that at happy hour buy one get one free drink means that everyone will receive two drinks of the same kind. The spa is also great, super relaxing. All in all, we highly recommend this resort. Wish we were still there still relaxing in the gardenlike courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tulipanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Front Village Hotel
The Front Village Hotel
#84 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Centara Villas Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket
#30 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Resort and Spa

Property: The Village Resort and Spa
Address: 566 / 1 Patak Rd., Karon, Phuket 83100 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#29 Spa Hotel in Karon
#33 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#42 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#45 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Village Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Village Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Karon
Village Hotel Karon
The Village Resort And Spa Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing