We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Calm on Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Village Resort and Spa
Ranked #54 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have just returned from a week at this hotel and we were most impressed. Our villa (garden villa) was spacious comprising of living room, walk in wardrobe, large bathroom with huge bath and separate shower and bedroom with super king size bed. We purposely booked this to avoid noise from the pool, but actually there wasn't much noise from other guests, partly I think because kids under 12 aren't let in (bonus!).
Breakfast is a Buffett but you can also get egg based stuff ie. omelette cooked to order. The restaurant menu is both Thai and International. We couldn't find fault with any of the food. It was all cooked to order, as you could see into the open kitchen, and the quality and quantity were superb. The slightly higher cost compared to outside the complex was justified we felt by the serene surroundings and the quality we experienced. The service was non-intrusive and we opted to eat here several days because of this.
The position of the complex is approx 4 min walk from Karon beach, and a10 min tuk tuk ride from Patong or Kata, again a bonus to us as it provided a quiet retreat, probably not best if you want loud brash nightlife though.
Overall I would highly recommend this place to people who want a quieter resort, who may want to dip into nightlife occasionally in a taxi/tuk tuk (300 Bhat to Patong) and don't mind paying slightly more for some exclusivity.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank simplesimon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 355 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

Nice hotel, in an extremely quite area - Karon is not exactly famous to be a lively town or to have especially beautiful beaches.
The room was large and well decorated, even if I could not define the hotel as luxurious for the lack of details towards little things and for lack of personality and good service.
Breakfast is not very rich/various, bathroom amenities are essential and basic, drinks at the bar are not especially good (but yet, pricy).
When we arrived there, and it was high season the hotel was half empty. We got a deal with Agoda with 40% off, but still so the hotel was pricy and the cost above the real value.
Located in a not very convenient location, taxies were struggling to find it. Not to mention that in this area of Phuket, taxies price their fares really high compared to other places in Thailand - forget about taximeter.
You can find similar hotel at a better cost in Benidorm, and surely in Phuket. Karon is not the most recomended destiny for your trip to discover Thailand, it is actually pretty boring.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CristiKant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We spent 3 weeks at this resort in February in a pool access villa.The villas are quite spacious and well appointed. Prospective guests should realise that the pool directly outside your villa is purely for refreshing yourself as they are only 800mm deep.The breakfast whilst adequate is really not up to a standard one would expect from a resort that charges for a 4* resort. The staff are very keen and courteous but desperately need training on guests requirements.Mam is the only person who has a command of english and can understand you,she will be missed when she leaves at the end of Feb. Po the housemaid was excellent.The only downside was the inability of the staff to understand english and the breakfast variety and quality otherwise the resort itself was A1.Just a hint the so called tuk tuks all have set charges,its a cartel, and the minimum charge even for 1 Km is 200 Baht or A$6.50

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Ive travelled extensively over the years. Therefore this review is from a traveller who knows a good thing when she sees it, reading this review may be the best thing you do. Its 100% honest and impartial and am not connected to the travel industry at all.

I highly recommend the Village resort. Its quiet, surroundings are beautiful, a five minute walk to beach (fact not fiction - cross over road and over the lake) and staff are not over bearing.

We loved the Village Resort, however we encountered only one problem the whole visit (on the actual day we checked in). When making the booking we requested not to be near any stagnant water. We arrived to find they’d assigned us the end villa next to the spa. Some Tropical Villas have a water feature in front of them; however the water was very stagnant (unpleasant to say the least, no way we could have relaxed outside if we’d sat outside that).

The Manager was quickly summoned and took concerns seriously and dealt with them effectively. We asked if there was any way we could be moved to a new villa not near the water feature pointing out it was stagnant and we'd specifically requested not to be near this.

The Manager acted promptly and efficiently. After re-jigging we were moved to another villa which happened to be a pool villa (upgraded at no extra cost). We didnt expect this as we just wanted to be away from the water feature and would have been happy to have been moved a short way from this. The manager explained she wanted us to be happy during our stay and if we were happy then she was happy.

The Manager explained the water filters in the water feature had broken down some time ago and that she would take action to rectify this issue once and for all.

Sure enough, within a day the water feature was drained fully and thoroughly cleaned. It looked so much better, had new rocks placed in bottom instead of water, didnt smell and looked nice resulting in the feature being 100% better for the few guests whose villas were near it.

We were extremely impressed how quickly this was done (though I think something eventually had to be done given previous comments of this in Trip Advisor).

Just give this place a chance, it really is a lovely place especially for couples, you will not regret it!

The breakfast buffet was lovely, plentiful, with lots of choice, food was fresh and re-filled often and also upon request. Staff were friendly, attentative whilst not overbearing. Mam (one of the Managers) was exceptional in her duties seeing that guests were happy each day. Anu and the breakfast team were great and so was Pu from housekeeping who was exceptional in her care and attention (Pu would make and leave the most amazing animal shapes made out of towels on the bed every other day e.g. elephants, crabs, rabbits etc). Pu was extremely friendly and we appreciated her care and hard work. She always smiled.

So give this excellent resort a go! A top resort, very romantic, quiet and with a great location. Give it a go!!!

Room Tip: Id recommend getting a pool villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We spent a week in a pool villa here. The grounds are very pretty with lots of trees and flowers, the pool area is nicely landscaped with a little waterfall, jacuzzi and varying depths (it's more for cooling down than swimming lengths). There's also a sunken pool bar which gets some action at happy hour time however even the happy-prices are less happy than what you pay for the same drink in town. There are comfortable loungers around the pool, some of the guests stake their claim before breakfast by spreading their towels around. You'll need your mozzy protection in early evening and also in the morning as there's a lot of water and plants around the hotel, i got quite a few bites at breakfast.

The spa looks very nice but despite the offer of 50% off for first treatment we didn't try it. There are no beauty treatments, it's all massages and wraps. (The Movenpick does a great pedicure if you need one).

Overall the Village is pretty, human-sized, friendly, relaxing and a far cry from some of the big, concrete hotels and resorts around town. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are a spacious and nicely laid out (front sitting room, bathroom /dressing room area then a slightly somber bedroom with raised bed surrounded by slippy wooden floors). Dipping into our small veranda pool at the end of the day was a real luxury.

It all sounds good, however for around 200€ a night including breakfast it just didn't feel worth it:
- The hotel is located a little outside of town, it's only a 5mins walk to the centre or a 5-10 min walk around the lake to the beach
- Breakfast has only a couple of Thai dishes and these have been toned down for foreign palates. The rest of the breakfast buffet is fine but fairly uninspired. No fresh juice.
- The bed is hard and so are the pillows
- The cleanliness of the bathroom was not up to scratch - old shower head and stained walls. It needed a bit of a spring clean/refurbishment. Cobwebs and hair in shower all week not ok. That said, the bedroom area and sitting room area were comfy and clean
- No free internet. When you're paying 200± euros a night being charged 100 baht for a 1 hour connection is just stingy

We had shopped around on the internet before booking this hotel, globally it's still a good deal by comparison to other hotels in the same price range in Phuket. Perhaps Phuket in general has become so overrun with tourists and hotel construction (you'll hear the hammering of busy building sites in lots of places) that the prices have been driven up.

The main beaches (Patong, Karon, Kata) are jam packed with sun loungers. We rented a scooter and went exploring most days, here are a couple of beaches we dug out which were much calmer with clearer swimming water:
- Paradise beach + Tri trang beach to the South of Patong
- Bang Tao beach to the North of Surin beach - very long beach with nice swimming water, for once there was way more sand than sun loungers
- Laem Sing beach between Kamala and Surin beaches - breathing space between loungers and beautiful, clear water to swim

Having been in Thailand a couple of times Phuket was not our best choice. From what I saw in one week here a lot of the tourists seem to have skipped reading the 'respecting local customs' section in the guidebooks. There are tourists wearing only thongs on the beach, topless. It was standard to run into sweaty tourists in the supermarket wearing only their swimwear. Evening time brought more of the same underdressing affliction but with added bling and heels, I can't imagine what the Thais must think.

Many restaurants tout Thai, Italian, Russian and seafood(?), you'll need to dig around off the beaten track or simply go to the market stalls to eat if you want more authentic dishes and flavours.

Elvis was the last baffling addition to the mish mash. There are Elvis impersonators everywhere in Phuket. What's going on with that? We found one bar with a very good band doing rock covers, I think it's called the Surin bar.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WatchysWayOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

This was mine and my partner's first stop on our Thai honeymoon. Rooms were great, spacious and really clean. Staff were really friendly and breakfast was awesome!

Is about a 10 minute walk to Karon which is a smaller version of Patong. Quiet, lots of older couples, had a blast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Arrived here on 11th December 2011 for 8 days. We were allocated a Thai style villa with plunge pool outside the front of our veranda, the villa was a decent size and tastefully decorated with Thai style furniture, you have a living room with the usual fridge, tv and large Thai couch. Large sliding doors give you a view out across the complex. Nice size bathroom, deep bath and large shower, very concrete looking though. The bedroom has a large Thai style bed, if you have any back problems then this bed is no good for you, it's set into a platform and you walk up steps pn either side to get into it but you have to bend down onto your knees to get into and out of it, very difficult. The bed is so hard we needed two mattress toppers for comfort. The staff are wonderful and cannot do enough to help you. The breakfast is sufficient, weird tasting cereal, fresh fruit, usually some Thai veg, rice or noodles, bacon and eggs, it's all enough to see you through to lunch. We ate in the restaurant a few times and the food was lovely and not expensive. When booking we were told the beach was right across the road from the resort, they forgot to mention very busy road to cross then walk over a little bridge across a swamp and a 10-15 minute walk. Beach looked lovely and views but after watching lots of folk bringing their dogs to the beach and watching them allow them to do their business everywhere and not pick it up I was put off going again. The spa in the resort was brilliant and the girls who do the treatments are really good at what they do, very relaxing. All in all we enjoyed our time at this resort.

Room Tip: Pool view villa numbers 1-12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Front Village Hotel
The Front Village Hotel
#81 of 135 in Karon
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,045 reviews
0.6 mi away
Centara Villas Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket
#30 of 135 in Karon
1,133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Resort and Spa

Address: 566 / 1 Patak Rd., Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#30 Spa Hotel in Karon
#33 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#45 Family Hotel in Karon
#46 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $80 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Village Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Village Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Karon
Village Hotel Karon
The Village Resort And Spa Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing