We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed low season late June to July 2014.
This place is clean, organised and works.... Something you cannot take for granted in Thailand.
Great value deals include breakfast and dinner ... Quality of buffets for both were terrific.
Indian and German ownership I think ensures professionalism and quality service.
15-20 minutes away from the Patong "action" but only a free shuttle or a 400 baht (~13 USD) Tuk-Tuk or aircon taxi ride away.
Family friendly And you can get your fix of AFL (until Abbot cuts funding)
Mostly Aussies with some NZ, French, Russian travellers ...
Also less than half hour to chalong pier ( for Island trips)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Abridgetoofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    464
    144
    47
    32
See reviews for
428
546
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Have just spent a truly wonderful stay at Horizon Karon Beach Resort - room facilities clean, spacious & comfortable - the best staff - friendly & helpful. Would recommend this hotel/resort to anyone who is looking to have a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Layne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We chose Karon to avoid the Patong area of Phuket and overall we were not disappointed. The Horizon Karon seemed the best choice of hotels on offer in the area and they have a child-free section which we liked the idea of. The Club rooms are really well appointed and having a pool access room was perfect for us. Mini bar was well stocked and really cheap so we were happy to use it when we needed to. Staff were amazing and happy to accommodate any request. We went on a Thai Cooking course tour arranged at the hotel tour desk, which was hands down the best day in Phuket.

GOOD THINGS: Club rooms are beautiful and spacious, Club pool is adequate for the number of guests and the drinks and food from the pool bar are exceptional value and of a really good standard, staff are fantastic from front desk to housekeeping. Breakfast was just OK,

NOT SO GOOD THINGS: Mattress was like sleeping on a rock - way to hard, pool tiles near the room access had a scummy film over them and gave the feeling of it being less than clean which put me off a little (but only a little, the rest of the pool was lovely), buffet dinners were not nice at all...really substandard quality in the food which was very disappointing so we went into town for dinners and lunches and found some amazing eateries both on the beach and on the main road.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Horizon Karon Resort and would recommend it if you are not looking for a five star experience. At best the Horizon Karon is a really good 3 to 3 half star hotel. What lets it down is the lack of good food (which I found surprising as Thai food is amazingly tasty) and dining options - its buffet or nothing really. If you are travelling without children the extra dollars for a Club room is well worth it as it has a different atmosphere to the rest of the hotel. The hill thing is not a biggie, there is a tuk tuk on demand service until 9pm after which time you have to walk it (good to burn all the food you eat when in town!!)

Room Tip: Best pool access room in the Club area is the room at the end closest to the pool bar. You have a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holidaywhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent services I experienced in your property during my stay. Proffesionalism shown from all levels especially staffs in kids club.Great hotel landscape makes us felt comfortable n enjoyable. more frequent shuttle to patong will be credit expecially in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stickydust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was our second stay at Horizon Karon Beach and it was just as enjoyable as the first. The staff are all so helpful and friendly, they really cant do enough for you. The room facilities are clean, spacious and comfortable. Although the resort is up on top of a hill, they offer a free tuk tuk service to ferry you up and down. We were travelling with two small children and had prams for them both so we would take advantage of the tuk tuk rather than walking up the hill with the two prams. The hotel is very kid friendly and it has a separate section for people travelling without kids which is awesome because we didn't feel as though our kids were being annoying to any other guests. The restaurant is also fantastic, the buffet breakfasts and dinners give a huge array of different foods and once again the staff are just gorgeous. They were so fantastic with our kids and a great help. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with kids request a room on the ground floor to avoid carting prams up the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is my first visit. It was recommended to me by various friends. All what they said about the Horizon was true to the letter. Beautiful resoert, great views from the roof top, great facilities that cater for every one, being solo or family. I just loved the whole experience. Even as a solo visiter I was spoilt in every way. Every interaction with staff was enjoyable, always smilinng and can't do enough to make my stay a very enjoyable one. At this instance I have to mention Irish, Urai and Emmy Guest Relation Staff for being very helpfull in every way. To say the least they just have great staff, great service, great food and facilities. I can go on and on and on but you have to be here to experience the real thing. Thank you everyone for a most enjoyable holiday. I wish I have stayed longer.

Room Tip: This reesort cater for everyone, solo, couples amd families. Many accomodation options to choose fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikhail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is my third time here. My kids five and nine absolutely love it. Fantastic pools n very very kid friendly. Staff literally falling over my kids. Beautiful pools and great location. Remember, if you don't like hills or walking don't stay here. About a 5 minute walk up the hill each day to the resort from the beach. They have a shuttle if you don't want to walk. Great breakfast and good value for money. Resort set out beautifully and very green gardens n manicured. Very clean resort and great staff. Wouldn't recommend staying at their sister hotel in Patong Beach. Very much three star and not in the same league. I loved that they had a free shuttle a couple times a day to Patong. Karon is a much nicer place, great day spas, cafés and shopping. Patong way too busy and over rated. Karon Beach is beautiful and not over run like Patong.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#24 of 134 in Karon
1,233 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 3 Soi Karon, Soi 2 | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#13 Spa Hotel in Karon
#19 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#19 Family Hotel in Karon
#23 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to enjoy a luxurious, fabulous yet affordable vacation in Phuket by the beach? Indulge yourself in this beautiful, upscale resort with spa facilities at affordable prices. The resort is surrounded by nature and is spread over 16,000 sqm. of land and is like your own private paradise. Shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance, and its more relaxed and quiet setting is the preferred choice of families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Karon Beach Hotel Karon
Horizon Karon Beach Resort And Spa
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing