We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely comfortable place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our group of 5 women stayed 9 nights in this lovely establishment. The rooms were great, buffet breakfast was great and the dinners were not too bad. We spent some time in and around the 'adult only' pool and again no complaints. There were other pools as well that were also nice and clean and large. The staff were friendly and accommodating.
The resort was up a rather steep hill so walking down was ok but up was rather hard. There was a Tuk Tuk service though that would drive you up and down until 9pm. I would have liked this service to go till later as a nice massage that left you feeling so relaxed before bed could prove somewhat less relaxing after having to climb that hill t 10 or 11pm. The beach is dangerous to swim in so best to go to another not far at Kata. One problem is that after a while as you have to travel to most things, the taxis start really adding up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
There are newer reviews for Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

Anyone that gives this hotel has a lot of issues and probably spends majority of their life complaining
I am not one to rave about a hotel at all but since being home I have not stopped telling people how great this place was
It was fantastic
service was outstanding - the staff were all so friendly and helpful and even offered to refund our room when we had to leave early to get home for a funeral ( we didnt ask them for a refund they were kind enough to help us out and offer)
The buffet breakfast and dinner was amazing, as was the pool and pool bars
Location was great and the free shuttle into patong really helped our wallets
Yes there is a little hill to climb, but if your staying in karon chances are you are going to be doing alot of walking anyway, or hiring a bike so its not an issue, we met alot of elderly people in the hotel who made very good use of the free tuk tuk that takes you up and down the hill

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DGemGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

If you are looking for a way to relax, not lift a finger/escape from the toils of reality a while - this is a great affordable way to do so. If you want to be in the middle of things consider Kata or further along the road to the Karon township. If you want to walk around and discovery things that way, this is a good option.

I must say as a solo female traveller, I stood out in this family and couple oriented resort, but I don't know how that can be avoided in such a situation.

Room Tip: I had the next to best category of room (not the special sealed off wing) and found it exceeded expe...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Wonderful resort - location was great, the food was excellent, and the room was large and very comfortable. The resort provided transportation to Patong, which was great. I read some negative reviews, I can tell you first hand that my experience was entirely positive.

Room Tip: Privilege Wing is excellent
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We recently stayed 4 nights at the Horizon Karon Beach and booked one of their Club Rooms with pool view. located in their Privilege Club wing (no kids under 18). The Privilege Club offers inclusions such as a separate swimming pool (with swim-up bar), free Wi-Fi and access to the Club Lounge where you can get free coffee/tea all day, plus snacks and drinks between 12 - 2pm. Our room was huge, and the bathroom had a full-size deep bath, plus a balcony overlooking the pool area with 2 lounge chairs.

As we were travelling during low season, we got a fantastic rate that included free buffet breakfast (same as most hotels in Phuket), but also included a free buffet dinner. The menu had a different theme each night, and while some dishes were available each night, there was enough variety and plenty of options to choose from. Breakfast also offered a huge range of choice.

The staff are brilliant. All are super friendly, always greet you with a smile and only too happy to help.

The hotel is within easy walking distance to both Karon and Kata beaches and shops. Like other reviewers have mentioned, this hotel is at the top of a hill and the hotel itself has quite a lot of stairs. While it's a good way to work off breakfast, it might be a bit more difficult for those with mobility issues.

The hotel has a free shuttle service to it's sister hotel in Patong. These run at scheduled times and the Horizon Patong is located a short walking distance to Bangla Road and Phuket Square shopping precinct. Or you can take a tuk-tuk or taxi, which will cost around 400B or around AUD$12 each way.

We loved our stay at the Horizon Karon and hope to visit again!

Room Tip: If you manage it in your budget, and are not travelling with kids, go for a room in the Privilege Cl...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julianfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We just returned from 6 nights at Horizon and absolutely loved it. The resort was amazing, the rooms and facilities were great. We stayed in the Privilege Club wing of the resort so we had access to an adults only pool as well as the main pool. They also have complimentary snacks and drinks every day. The location of the resort is good, its close to the kata shops/restaurants but not too far from karon centre. The beach is about a 5 min walk straight down the hill. Walking back up the hill isn't too bad either but they provide a tuk tuk service to take you up and down the hill whenever you want. The buffet breakfast was good with a lot to choose from and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Overall the resort has an amazing and relaxing atmosphere and I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I would recommend the Privilege Club wing for travelers without children, its nice and quiet but ove...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We just returned from 6 wonderful nights at this resort, I travelled with my father 72 and Daughter 11yo. The resort itself was amazing beautifully presented gardens, pools, bars, rooms everything. The staff were all wonderful so friendly and helpful. Cannot fault it at all highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AliGum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
1.4 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 3 Soi Karon, Soi 2 | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#13 Spa Hotel in Karon
#19 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#19 Family Hotel in Karon
#23 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $63 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to enjoy a luxurious, fabulous yet affordable vacation in Phuket by the beach? Indulge yourself in this beautiful, upscale resort with spa facilities at affordable prices. The resort is surrounded by nature and is spread over 16,000 sqm. of land and is like your own private paradise. Shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance, and its more relaxed and quiet setting is the preferred choice of families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Karon Beach Hotel Karon
Horizon Karon Beach Resort And Spa
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing