We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Raven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Raven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Great family resort.
I thought the resort had very few guests because it was so quiet, but its not until you see everyone enjoying themselves around the pools in the afternoon you realise just how full the resort is.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    437
    142
    47
    32
See reviews for
411
524
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I and our 16 year old daughter spent 5 days here in December and we loved this quiet, beautifully landscaped resort in the quieter part of Karon. It was a perfect location with just a short walk or shuttle ride , down the hill to the village for shopping, restaurants and the beautiful white sandy beach of Karon. If you wanted to go to other local beaches or the main part of Karon a tuk tuk (taxi) was available to take you there for a few dollars. We arrived at the Horizon just after midnight and we were very disappointed with the size of the room and the fact that we had paid for a pool superior room which was meant to have a view of the 2 family pools but instead we had a garden view. With a phone call to the reception we were given a choice of a better room with a direct pool view or a room in the privilege club section of the resort. for an upgrade of only $15 a night extra. We upgraded to the privilege section of the resort which provided an adult only pool area, a much larger room, better decor, access to the Privilege Lounge which provided free lunch time snacks of pizza, chicken bits, sandwiches and more and drinks. The upgrade also provided free internet 24/7 for our daughter in the room or anywhere throughout the resort, which is perfect for any teenager!! We would return here as staff and restaurants were great!!
OHHHH one not so good thing is that the beds are very hard (We found this in all 3 resorts we stayed in, in Phuket.) We had soft doonas put on top of the mattresses......Just ask them at reception and they will improve them for you!!!

Room Tip: Go Privilege Club if you don't have children or if you have teenagers 16+.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ffletch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

This was a fabulous way to celebrate my 50th birthday. We stayed at this resort in August 2011. We booked a 10 night stay in a pool access room in the Club Wing section, As soon as we arrived we were greeted with a cold towel and drink by the friendly staff and check in was very professional. To our surprise we were offered a free upgrade to the pool access suite !!! The suite was absolutely beautiful.

All the hotel staff were lovely and we were greeted every day with smiles and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was great with a huge variety every morning. Horizon was close to everything with plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby.

Excellent massage ladies first on the right at the bottom. We had a wonderful holiday, we loved it so much that we have already booked to go back in 2012, can't wait.

We highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We recommend the pool access rooms in the Privilege Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AdamR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our Family of 5 (my husband, myself, daughter 19, son & daughter both 14) had our first trip to Thailand in November, 2011. All our friends who had been to Thailand previously had stayed in Patong but we were told Karon Beach is a bit more laid back & we couldn't have been happier! The Horizon is beautiful with fantastic facilities & staff who are so welcoming & friendly :) We had rooms with pool views & whilst they are on the fairly basic side, they were clean & comfortable & had everything we needed. The location is perfect with a short walk to beach & shops (ok, it is on a hill but it's not a huge deal & you can always get a complimentary tuk tuk up & down the hill from resort if need be) It is also only about 15 minutes from Patong with a complimentary bus ride from resort that you can book, so you can have the "full on" Patong experience if you want. If you're looking for not too crowded & wonderful service... this is it! (p.s. You HAVE to have the banana pancakes at bottom of the hill late afternoon/evening, they are divine & make the walk back up the hill to resort worth it!!!)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JFWMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed here for a family reunion in August 2011. We were given rooms next door to each other. Pool was good, room was tidy, air conditioning icy!. Although we were told we had ocean view rooms, we couldnt see the ocean?? The pool bar was nice although I dont think there was any alcohol in the cocktails and all cocktails tasted the same. Breakfast was included and it was good, a large choice of food. The resort is up a small hill and its steep, especially when you have little kids with you. There is a tuk tuk that can take you up and down, but it doesnt run all the time and depending on the driver, it can be harrowing! There was one guy "the cranky guy" who would just go the maximum speed up and down the hill and then come to a screeching halt. We were holding kids so this wasnt good at all. Nice place, but a bit far out for general shopping. This meant lots of taxis etc. Look at Patong instead

Room Tip: There are no elevators. We had toddlers with us so we had to carry them up and down the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reculvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

good accommodation, close to everything. beach, restaurants and shopping. Nice bright rooms. good service. site can clearly rekomonderas.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed at the Horizon for 8 days from the 25th of October in a pool view room. The room was a good size, comfortable and clean, with an excellent view of the hotel gardens and pool area. The resort is situated about 150 metres up a small hill from Karon Beach - if you can't walk up this hill then you must be either severely handicapped or very drunk.The staff are friendly, the breakfast more than adequate and the two main pools were a good size and uncrowded.
Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank efnbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#20 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beyond Resort Karon
Beyond Resort Karon
#15 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.3 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 3 Soi Karon, Soi 2 | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#17 Spa Hotel in Karon
#19 Family Hotel in Karon
#22 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#23 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to enjoy a luxurious, fabulous yet affordable vacation in Phuket by the beach? Indulge yourself in this beautiful, upscale resort with spa facilities at affordable prices. The resort is surrounded by nature and is spread over 16,000 sqm. of land and is like your own private paradise. Shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance, and its more relaxed and quiet setting is the preferred choice of families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Karon Beach Resort And Spa
Horizon Karon Beach Hotel Karon
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing