We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroach on bed, poor management and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #17 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2009

I stayed 3 nights prebooked in early December 2009 and found the Centara Karon Beach probably the worse hotel I've stayed in for many years. The management were inflexible and seemed more interested in extracting as many service charges or "fines" as possible. Their internet charge was 10 X the local cafe rate. The staff were on the whole pleasant but there was a distinct sense of following a set routine and thus actual customer service was fairly poor. The room size was OK, but this was offset by the pest problems; red ants in the bathroom and a cockroach on the bed when I returned one night that forced me to change rooms. There was no pest reporting procedure as I got a blank look when I asked about this. I was staying several floors up so I think infestation could be a problem. Apart from a mention by the checking out staff no kind of formal mangemant apology was offered.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thamesman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,248 - 3,254 of 3,909 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2009

We are vegeterians on holiday to Phuket Centara with family. The staff were the most helpful and humble , they were there to assist with all and sundry. The chef there called Nipon sorted out our Vegi Food ( no fish, no eggs, no animal fat). We had fab Thai Vegi Food. The Food ,the Weather, the Venue ( and al ist facilities), the Staff were too good. I really could not Fault the place. The Beach is a 5-7min walk...and a nice walk at that. The General Manager..Andre...was helpful as ever...

The Centara is well managed place. From the General Manager to the room cleaner..very himble and helpful. They all helped make our holiday FAB.

Thanks to the Centara.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haribolharibol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Had a great holiday. Hotel good,very clean, staff very nice, food good choice, hotel close to Karon town, try not to stay in main hotel, rooms not as nice as Lagoon rooms, we changed rooms after one night.
We booked all our trips just outside the hotel at Tod's tours they were very helpful and much cheaper than other places.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaz_Roll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We stayed here at the end of Oct to begining of Nov for 10 nights. I have to say I was very dissapointed this hotel is indeed five mins from the beach but it's location means it is also central to Karon's main street which is at full volume every night to at least 3 am in the morn. It was honestly so bad my partner slept in the bathroom!!!!! We were however located in the high rise apartments which probably contributed to receieving the noise level as they face the main road. On arrival at our apartment I was a little dissapointed as the room was much smaller than the brochure and alot more dated! We are not adverse to noise as my partner owns a night club, but just want to stress that the noise from the street was beyond load as each bar competes with the next! Also they are building next door so no escape at the pool either. The beds are hard to the point of being uncomfortable and they furniture was very dated. We asked to be moved after a few hours of arriving to one of the apartments located further back and was told there was nothing until 5 days later half way through our stay and at a cost to us!!!! The food is very expensive in the hotel, so each out its almost half the price and the fresh seafood is five star. The big buddha is well worth a visit as is the butterfly sanctuary, Phi Phi Isl day trips via speed boat (snorkelling was fab) and if you hire a moped which meant we could get around the whole Island then head for Laem Sing beach just the other side of Kamala beach this was a little piece of heaven and the little cafe to your right just as you come down the steps serves the best Pad Thai I had all Holiday. As a whole I found Phuket very commercial and very repetative. I love Thailand as I have visited before but would not venture back to Phuket again unless staying on one of the islands. This is not a get away from it holiday, I felt like I needed another when I got back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarahd2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

We stayed at the Centara for 8 nights in Oct/Nov 2009. Upon arrival we were allocated a superios room in the terraces. Our room was big with a king bed but located right opposite the noisiest karaoke bar i have ever heard. Im a very light sleepr and knew I wasnt going to be able to sleep with the noise, even with the doors shut i was super loud. We asked for another room and the staff did their best to find us one, the one we ended up with was much quieter bit it was smaller and they had to put 2 beds together to make it a king size, not the greatest but it was fine for the 2 of us and id rather have a quiet night. Buffet brekky was included and it was very good, our only complaint would be that my partner is allergic to cows milk and there was no soya milk anywhere to be found at the hotel so we bought some at the supermarket nearby and took it to brekky every morning! We swam alot in the terraces pool, it was quieter than the lagoon pool (full of kids). Happy hour everyday for 4-6pm is 2 for 1 cocktails but they are still cheaper at the bars outside the resort. The gym at the resort is very good if youre that way inclined on holidays. Its about 5 minutes walk to the beach, head down in the morning and rent a beach chair for 150 baht for as long as you want. This resort is very well located as far as Karon goes, youre right in the middle of all the best restaurants etc whereas the Hilton is much further away from everything. It will cost you around 300 baht to get to patong in a tuk tuk, this is pretty much a set price though its a little cheaper coming back.Best places to eat in Karon were the Red Onion (amazing thai food and so cheap), a little indian/thai place right across the street from the hotel (great food and service, always quiet too), and the Little Mermaid is good for lunches. Get massages and manicures at Happiness Massage just across from the resort (you can bargain a bit with prices). Beware, if you are a party animal (we arent) then i would say to stay at Patong, Karon isnt really too happening at night time which was fine with us but may not be for those who like to go clubbing. If you like a bit more laid backness and peace and quiet though, with bars thrown in, Karon is definitely the way to go. Get your laundry done at one of the places on the street, there is one right opposite the Centara that was fabulous and so cheap. The supermarket is good too for basics and beers!Internet cafes are so much cheaper than the hotel which is crazily overpriced for net.Beware, bring tons of sunscreen as it is ridiculously expensive here and you will need it. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here, the Centara is good overall, in need of a a bit of a spruce up but the gardens are great and the pools nice. The staff can be a bit officious though.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heids24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Travelled with daughter.stayed for about 10 days.checkin was ok apart from putting us in a double!that was easy sorted out for twin bedded room.room was very nice with a balacony with to chairs and a nice view of pool.room had all the the things u need,safe, mini bar fridge,tv with sat channels.and the air con was so nice!!!.i recommend you get to key cards and leave 1 in the air con.

We had a lagoon view room and it was just great a 2 min walk down to pools and awsome swim up bar.MAKE SURE YOU PARTAKE OF THE 2 FOR 1 HAPPY HOUR DRINK SPECIALS!!
Breakfast was included in our room cost and you have a choice of two areas.so if 1 is full just go 2 the other 1.
The staff are always very happy 2 help and are very nice.the lady who did our room service every day did a real great job.make sure you leave a tip for the room service people on bed when you leave as they work very hard as u will see.
there are 3 pools to choose from so it is not to hard to get a lounger by a pool.and the staff do not allow the pratice of loungers being held by people leaving a towel on them all day.
great stay.great staff and awsome food

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwipaul_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

We stayed here for a week in january09.The hotel was great for us as we wanted to be near the beach but also have the option to chill by the pool,which was large and spotlessly clean if not just a little too "quiet" for our liking.The staff are always friendly,nothing is too much trouble.The rooms were spacious and cleaned every day.We left some watches and money by the side of the bed one day and returned to find them placed neatly with a letter kindly asking us to keep valuables in the safe provided.Each night we would sit on the hotel terrace during "happy hour" sinking cocktails and several singha's before heading for a meal in town.Great place if you want a central base to visit Kata and Patong etc.A two minute stroll and your on the beach.I'm fussy however i couldn't fault this hotel in any way what so ever.Will definatle be going back this january.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrspliffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
0.8 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#10 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $61 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing