We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #17 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We (me and wife) flew from bangkok to phuket and had this hotel booked from net for the ocean facing room. The welcome to the hotel was also okay, and we were asked to wait for some time b4 the hotel authorities prepared the room. But this preparation took them 2-3 hrs and we had to wait in the lobby area. And after the long wait, when we got to the room, the view to ocean was just OKAY. The hotel is not far but at some distance from ocean, and its just that inbetween buildings are low rise.
The room was gud, with ample space and all the mentioned facilities. The breakfast was also very gud, special mention to the traditional thai music they play at the breakfast time. luved that.

But the staff at the pool is is arrogant, not polite. we reached the pool area about more than 1/2 hrs before the closure time, but the pool attendant started denying the entry to area, saying "we are closed" . And wen i asked to call up the manager, the guy started commenting for the dress code for pool, which was not mentioned anywhere.

At the billing time also, we were charged for the items we didnt consume from mini refgirator. wen asked for clarifications, they removed those items from the bill, but it took them more than 1/2 hr for doing it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ManishB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,349 - 3,355 of 3,964 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2009

After reading all the reviews I took an open mind as some were bad but most were good and it seemed value for money. We wanted somewhere quieter and relaxing something we thought we would not get in Patong. We left after 2 days and where do I start. We booked a room with an ocean view (see the photo),
I was under the impression that this hotel was not in the middle of a street/village but quiet and tranquil and not far from the beach.
Its not, our room faced the front and the side and the 3 nights there we were woken by noise be it trucks, buses collecting people on tours, dogs, tuks tuks.
If in one of the rooms with the pool access then it will be quieter, but I expected a complex almost similar in layout to the Hilton (we went exploring).
Karon and the Centara resort is neither one thing or another, it's not Patong but it's not quiet enough to believe you are staying in a beachside resort. The place was not clean for example our bath towels and the pool towels were stained and badly washed and the chairs in the azure restaurant were meant to be white leather and honestly needed a good scrub. Our room was cleanish but the water in the taps was so orange it was ridiculous (see photo). All the poolsides are busy with the usual mandatory reserving of loungers and all in a line so you had no space on your own.
With kids and lilos in every pool (there was no escaping) it seems like a package holiday place, so after 2 days we could not wait to leave.We even thought of paying extra for a Cabana room etc and thankgod we did not.
The staff as mentioned by someone else were not helpful, they simply just did not want to work especially the staff at breakfast. We needed to call home at one point and there was no one that could help us as to what was the best way of doing it, costs etc. since there is no real concierge.All in all one of the worst places I have ever stayed

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcgringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We had a fantastic 2 weeks in thailand at the start of July. We paid for a superior seaview room in the terraces but felt a bit overlooked on the balcony with loads of other balconies nearby) but upgraded to a lagoon room which was much nicer with a pool view. Stayed around the pool much of the days but expect to reserve a sun lounger by 8-8.30 ish, even in low season. Breakfast was great, lots of choice, didn't eat in the hotel on an evening. Visited Phi Phi, and James Bond island, elephant trekking day trip (all booked at Tods Travel just along from the Centara, very nice friendly people), hired a jeep for a day (£10 bargain), all of which were great experiences. Even got teeth whitened (7000bht in patong) got a suit made (4000BHT) just round the corner from the Centara. Overall the hotel and Karon were a great base which to explore phuket, Kata was a nice 20min walk away along the beach, and we got the hotel minibus to Patong (100BHT each) there are lots of restaurants in karon, which are really cheap, also in Kata too (Toro Grill Kata was great) Would also recommend the Hot Curries of india restaurant in Patong, very nice food and cheap.
would definately recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sara235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We stayed at a hotelroom in the main hotelbuilding (there are three) for two weeks in december and loved it.
The location was splendid, just a 5 minute walk to the nearest beach.
And with lots of good resturants and minishops just outside the hotel.

Rooms were clean and great, although the beds were really hard. But I've heard thats common in Thailand.
The staff was awesome, they tended to you for every little whim, always smiling and always nice. Especially the staff in the poolbar were nice to interact with.

The breakfast (included in our package) was terrific, lots to choose from and tasted excellent, we loved going to breakfast every morning.

We also used the spa and the fitness center (although both could have been open a bit longer than nine in the evening) and were pretty satisifed.

The hotel itself, really clean, comfortable and relaxing all over. Close to both beach and many great resturants, and also buses/tuk-tuks are just around the corner.
Would definitley stay there again. Recommend it if you are staying in Karon.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H79R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

i had a fantastic time in this hotel. they made my stay a very rememberable one. we had booked online and they emailed us the exact location of the hotel and the direction to get to the hotel. the taxi drivers who are avaibale outside the airport took us to the hotel and we were greeted with a very warm 'asawadika' (hello in thai), nice colds juice and some wet towels. this was very refeshing to start with. as i did the paper work the lady who attended to us did her part of the job and took another 10 minutes to allocated our room and we were shown our room quickly. we were given a room in 'The Lagoon' which was on the ground floor and swimmingpool facing. it also had a good view of the hill near by too.as our room was on the ground floor, we had the advantage to sit ouside and and enjoy the swimming pool grass.
This resort offers three kinds of accmodation; The Tower, The Lagoon and Tropical. each one has a benifit of it's own. the Tropical is beach facing unless u get a higher floor . The lagoon is in between wiht the benifit of free spa, acess to the three pools they have and Tropical has an extra benifit of a free cocktail. as far as the The Lagoon i think it was very appropritate for family.
the morning breakfast was very lavish. they changed their special menus everyday and also had the standard englidh breakfast. they even made freash 'Roti' everyday. the other food from the menu was available at reasonable prices. the sea food restaturent is something that we missed and i do recommend to try out. there are even other reasturants from Arabic to Indian to western.
the staff are very polite. everytime they see a guest they bend down and say a hello with a smiling face which is very welcoming. they are very helpful in terms of hotel information or touring information. they tell what is where exactly. but the only problem is that it takes time for them to understand english. guests have to speak very slowly.
the location of the hotel is an added plus. as advertised it is only a five minute walk from the beach and it is surrounded by alot of reasturants form Irish to Indian to American.
i feel it is a very friendly hotel for families and always kept up the beachy feeling!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DK897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Pool area was nice, food was on the average.
Clean and safe hotel for someone who wanted a getaway. Rented a car and was delivered at the lobby. Staff were very friendly and nice.

Would recommend for families with young children, since the young children would enjoy the pool. However, the hotel is not located near the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaterColorKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Stayed in Premium Deluxe (Tropicale) rooms for a week wit the Tropix benefits included.
Good points:
+ nice staff, everything went smoothly
+ Tropicale pool nice
+ my wife enjoyed water aerobics
+ 3 free drinks between 17.30-19 in the Tropix lounge. Cocktail is the same boring one every day, but you can get a nice glass of wine instead. More bang for the bucks, wine is expensive here.
+ mattresses quite OK
Less good:
- room was a bit worn, does not give Premium deluxe feeling
- had two cockroaches in the room, but this was swiftly taken care of, apologized, and good will was shown
-room features show WLAN access , but this is not free, rather expensive actually. Had free access to Internet computer in lounge, so not a big problem

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaNarski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
0.8 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#10 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $55 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing