We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday- Just need more sun loungers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #18 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday- Just need more sun loungers!”
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday to Phuket staying at the Centara Karon Beach Resort in Phuket. Initially we were sceptical about travelling to Thailand, due to this time of year being the start of the monsoon season, but decided to bite the bullet after getting a fab deal (via [--]), which reflects the low season rates! We had wonderful weather during our 2 week break, only having one day where it rained and was overcast.

We booked this hotel, after much deliberation of reading the reviews on this hotel and have to echo the sentiments of others, that the grounds, rooms, service of staff and amenities were wonderful. In hindsight, when we go back to Thailand again, we would book a beachfront hotel, as despite it only being a short walk, the area surrounding the hotel was not that great and did not give the feeling of a tropical paradise!

We stayed in the Premium Deluxe room, which overlooked the Tropicale pool. As seasoned travellers, the quality by which I book our hotels, largely rest on swimming pools and this did not fail to disappoint. It was always a divine temperature, never busy, had a swim up bar and was huge, to undertake some lap swimming, as well as just cooling off...

The lagoon pool, was more aimed at young children and families and the plunge pool, by the main hotel was just another option. The hotel's Spa Cenvaree, was lovely and reasonably priced. You could pay for treatments much more cheaply in the shops outside of the hotel complex, but I am a firm believer in that 'you get what you pay for'!

There are also some lovely restaurants close to the hotel, our particular favourites was the Bamboo Kitchen & Two Chef's. Also good was the Red Onion (always busy), Karlssons and Vitaporn (both along the beach road, about a 10 min walk, from the roundabout by the beach).

Whilst we were there, we celebrated our 2nd wedding anniversary, so we ate at a lovely resteraunt in Patong called the 9th Floor. It was a cocktail bar/restaurant with floor to ceiling glass windows, which concertinas’ out. This was our most expensive meal, with drinks, but a special treat. The resort hotel also gave my husband a complimentary birthday cake, which tasted fab!

Due to staying in the Premium Deluxe rooms, we were able to access the Club lounge. Whilst this was nice, the facilities were slightly deceiving and disappointing. Tea and Coffee was free during the day, but not water or soft drinks. The all-day snacks advertised were 2 jars of cookies and the free cocktails and drinks between 5.30-7pm daily, were restricted to 3 per person and in 11 days, it was only the same cocktail that was available. The plus side was that the evening canapés were nice and you could have beer/spirits/wine in your free drink quota.

My husband had a lovely suit made, whilst you get lots of touts in the street outside, we went with the services of Pooja, which is located in the resort gift shop and we cannot recommend them more highly. The suit is excellent and cost 4200THB, which is roughly£80.

We also booked our Elephant Trek, via Amazing Bukit Eco Adventures Safari tour, who we also used for our transfer back to the airport, again, who we recommend. The agent for this was in a small counter of the shops nearby (walk past the Irish bar, outside the hotel, turn left and she is on your left by the back exit of Happiness massage parlour).The trek was at a beautiful reserve, with the elephants kept in good conditions.

We also went to Patong via Tuk Tuk several times, for some shopping, expect to haggle, but there are bargains to be had! All in all, a lovely hotel and holiday, my only bug-bear was the lack of sun-loungers, so you have to get up at unearthly times to reserve one and if it like this in the low season, then I can only imagine how awful it must be when the hotel is at full capacity.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lecajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,914
    1,263
    385
    126
    56
See reviews for
1,625
1,317
85
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

As first timers to phuket we werent sure what to expect especially for only au$80 a night for the four of us. we were very pleasantly surprised upon arrival. As a family of 4 we stayed in the lagoon deluxe room. It was clean and spacious on the ground floor only meters from the pool. we loved it. the water pressure was great in the large bathroom and the beds were firm and extremely comfortable. My back which is normally sore feels great.
The resort has beautiful well kept gardens and we found the breakfast really good. even our fussy 7 year old walked away full every morning. The location was perfect for us close to convenience stores and restaurants. We recommend papaya their chicken satays are devine and the red onion had fantastic food. our son loved the duck.
The service at the hotel was very good. We had a few health issues while in phuket and the assistance we received was fantastic. we were even able to get a doctor to our room to see our children and they helped out by calling in thai and cancelling tours for us.
we loved this resort and phuket generally. be sure to try the pancake cart on the corner for 30bt they are a steal. our kids loved the banana chocolate ones.
we didnt really visit the beach as our hoiday was cut a little short by me being rushed to phuket international hospital for the last 3 days of the trip for an underlying health issue they should have been picked up months ago.
we strongly recommend this hotel for families and cant wait to return to phuket.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bullfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Stayed Ten nights which seemed to fly by.
Location
Hotel located in Karon which I thought would be better as away from the hustle and bustle of the main patong area. On hindsight would have stayed at a nice hotel in patong as near beach and shops and can take cover in the hotel when want to get away from it.
Taxi ride no less than 250 but can pay upto 450/500 b so think on for costs.
Hotel
Very nice and modern and recent refirb by the look of things, quite a large hotel with 3 main areas.
Orginal booked tropix based on reviews but when arrived we where placed on the 3rd floor/ be warned no lifts at all and three to four flights of hefty stairs not the best, quite steep too.
wanted ground floor and none available so paid to upgrade to cabana
Can say the tropix room was very nice indeed so if you book ensure you get a ground floor or second at best, unless you like to work your bottom and legs of course but would not recommend if you are three sheets to the wind and have to climb those stairs..
Cabana was really nice and again agree with other reviews need more sunlight also beds a bit shabby in small courtyard.
Room
Roomy enough with tea coffee facilities
pleasant decor, plasma tv ,very nice on whole
thoughfull touches like mosey plug in and new mats issued every day, condoms in mini bar/ pool towels replaced every day in own whicker bag/ robes slippers and sandals ( although if you have under size 6 feet you look like you are wearing your dads slippers, massive!
every evening nibbles arrive in room get a free cocktail delivered and comp brecky in bed, if you want
Bathroom
Walk in shower but no bath, chaise lounge fitted
a raft of goodies including usual shampoo and conditoner but again quite extensive with body lotion sun lotion etc very nice
Towels
White fluffy changed upto three times a day
Pillows
Top marks with a good pillow menu on offer here
Spa
Very nice had many treatments really good here/staff in the main excellent
Food
Very good indeed, service issues in most restaurants, waiting times, eg had to wait 45 mins for a pizza for lunch which was served to partner 15 mins before mine arrived, which was a salad.. ironic
waited 20 mins before drinks order taken and another 15 mins before it arrived.. breakfast tray was not taken away till 2030 hrs one night after complaining 3 times.. etc
this did take the shine off the holiday, which is a shame as it could be wonderfull
I would stay at this chain again though and would stay at the hotel as on the whole it was not bad at all..the staff seemed good at flying around being very busy but not being very productive i thought.
Offers/Tips
You can follow the bars and get buy one get one from around 1700 till 2300
free baht promo but on food and bev and spa
Watch Irish bar over the road tried to charge us a double bar bill
Thomas tailors over road excellent

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daisy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Hi all

Read all the reviews and seems that most ppl find this hotel is good .
However my friends and me are the unlucky ones ...

Room was good HOWEVER Bad Service !!!!

1) We suspect the hotel staffs tried to attempt to out safety Box (In the room) . When we returned to our room after our islands tour, we are not able to access to our safety box and we had to ask for the hotel assistance to get it unlock! He told us IF someone tried to attempt to open the safety box for more than 4 times ... it will be reset. Very disappointing !!

2) The toilet was not being cleaned properly ( Dust Bin and Toilet Paper not being empty and refill )

3) Their English standard is really not very good!! We booked for the SPA on Sat night for Monday evening slot and the SPA Manger did reconfirm the date and time for us during the phone conversation. And what we expect!!! The put out slot on Tue evening instead !! OMG !!! We are checking out o tue morning how are we possible to have the spa on tue evening! And the SPA staffs can still joke ard and laff when we were so pissed for not having our SPA done ! Cant understand why their service is so so bad .... they can send us the bill informing us that we are checking out on Tue morning and the amt we haf to settled .. but the SPA can still mistake us for Tue evening Slot !!

We were so pissed and we went for a complaint to the Hotel Manager on the spot ( And he is not ard ) so we spoke to the supervisor ... And they give us some discount blar ....
Its not abt giving us discount and we will be happy . Its abt the level of service standard

However , we did mentioned to them we are NOT going to vist this resort anymore ... as there are too many unpleasant things happened . Very Very disappointing .. Hence personally i would not recommend my friends to stay in this hotel at all . Although its 3 or 4 stars hotel , nice rooms etc , bad service ...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank fluttyGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed at the Centara as part of our honeymoon. We spent 3 nights in KL and then went on to Bangkok for 2 nights. We had 8 nights at the Centara in a Cabana room.

After reading reviews on here we upgraded our room to a cabana with a private pool and we're so glad we did. The 'Terrace' part of the hotel is a high rise block and doesnt look half as nice as our area.

when we arrive there was sparkling wine, a tropical fruit platter and a chocolate cake with 'happy honeymoon' iced on to it! The room was amazing and the pool was great.

We had a wonderful time at the Centara and would recommend it highly. The only niggle we had was that the housekeeping staff would put our dirty roomservice trays outside on our terrace and they would be left there for sometimes quite a long time. The worst ebing when we had 3 room service trays waiting to be collected after 2 days, they were finally taken after 2 phone calls to complain. The other thing was the pool sun loungers, there just werent enough and we didnt get a sun bed untill our third day there. There are rules at the pool to say that after 30 minutes of not being used the beds would be cleared for other people, this was not enforced and people would leave towels there all day and return 3 or 4 hours later!

The staff were lovely, very friendly and welcoming. We ordered a barbecue on our terrace and whilst we were out they transformed our terrace with a huge barbecue, laid table, chairs, loads of salad, breads, a side table full of dips, oils, seasoning and dressings. Later on they brought the fresh food, we had 2 rock lobster, 2 blue crab, 6 huge prawns, cockles, mussels, clams, tuna steak and sword fish steak. It was amazing and with the best meal we had all holiday. They even brought us a spotlight to make cooking easier. It was very romantic and a wonderful idea, the whole thing cost £20 for the both of us!!

In the Cabanas you get the option of having breakfast brought to the room for no extra charge, we used this quite oftern as the breakfast buffet was quite busy and hot. the breakfast menu was nicer on the room service menu too.You also get complimentary cocktails and canapes brought to your room between 5 and 7pm.

The buffet breakfast was very nice though, good quality, large selection and good service. We normally went around 8.30am and found no queues btu we did see people queuing about 10am.

The one big disappointment of our stay was not being able to swim in the sea. We much prefer the beach to the pool but didnt go as it was too rough to swim.

Apart from the few small niggles we loved it here, we had a wonderful honeymoon and would recommend the centara. however I have noticed that people staying at the terraces have felt differently.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzAnnHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

nobody helped us at the reception, the room we reserved was not availablethey, so the room they gave us was very dirty it had like a blood over the courtains. the room was not the best for a honeymoon.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reha00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed with friends at the Centara Karon Resort for 8 nights as part of a two centre break in May 2009.
On arrival we were both upgraded to a Lagoon Poolside rooms. This proved to be great as we could just open patio doors and virtually walk straight into the pool, just one of the three pools available at the hotel. The room was large and airy, spotlessly clean and was cleaned daily. The gardens were lovely as were mix of bars and restaurants. We did not have one bad meal. The buffet breakfast was amazing, so much variety for all tastes and nationalities and the food was very fresh. ALL the staff were so very gracious and nice with great sense of humour, and this really did apply to all the staff, and the waiters and waitresses always seemed to remember what we preferred to drink. We could not find any fault at all with this hotel and would thoroughly recommend it.
The hotel is really lovely, in a great location, just a few minutes walk to the beach.
A must on the beach is a Thai Massage - £6.00 for an hour. Both my husband and I had one - lovely!
As for the restaurants in Karon Town, there are many good ones to choose from.
Would I go back to same hotel - WITHOUT A DOUBT, and I really hope I will have the opportunity to do so.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
2.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
2.9 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#11 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing