We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #18 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for the Family”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Centara was great for the family we had a Lagoon Room which we walked out the door and straight into the kids pool. Only a short walk to the other 2 pools as well. Karon Beach is a lot quiter then Patong which I would recommend for families.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reigan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Regina N,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, we very much appreciate it here at Centara Karon Resort, Phuket.
We are indeed great for families so I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Lagoon Room. Yes, it is a walk through your balcony door and the kids’ pool is quite literally in front of you, likewise the two other pools are in close proximity.
Karon beach is a lot quieter than Patong and it is also more aesthetically pleasing.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and had a really great time; we always aim for customer satisfaction.
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to Centara Karon Resort, Phuket. Once more I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the recommendation.
Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,857
    1,234
    374
    122
    54
See reviews for
1,568
1,286
83
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,005)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have just returned home after spending 10 nights at Centara Karon and I have nothing but good things to say about this place
We arrived at 11am and after reading the negative comments about check-in, I was expecting a long wait however by 11.30 we were in our room with our luggage, the Reception staff were great and there was no issue with the language barrier at all

We had only 1 minor hiccup during our stray when the fridge stopped working, but with-in an hour it had been replaced, apart from this the rest of our stay was incident free

Breakfasts were good with plenty of things on offer to cater for all tastes and you never ran out of coffee or tea, the staff in Lotus were excellent, we only ate lunch and dinner once in the resort and both meals were nice (Woks on Fire was a food night)

We booked all our taxi’s from the resort and were lucky enough to get Mr Owen as our driver, he was great and we booked him for all our other trips, I wholly recommend requesting him as your driver

We were also lucky enough to have Dang as our housekeeper, she was great, always happy and smiling, her work was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for her

All in all it was a great place to stay, we stayed in the Cabana’s, which were really nice and I wholly recommend this resort to anybody who wants to stay in Karon

Room Tip: Cabanas were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Darren N,
I was delighted to read you had a speedy check-in at our Front Desk, that our Front Office staff checked you in before the stipulated 2 p.m. check-in time and you had no issues with language, absolutely splendid.
Regarding the fridge breaking down, I do apologise. However I was delighted to hear that within an hour your fridge had been replaced.
Our international buffet breakfast is excellent, which is well reflected in past guests’ reviews, I am pleased you enjoyed it. Our chefs work extremely hard to cater for all tastes, so I will be sure to pass on your kind comment. Indeed staff at the Lotus Restaurant are excellent and I am very happy they did a sterling job with their customer service. Yes, we offer very good meals and buffets for dinner, our Woks on Fire is just one example.
In terms of our driver, Mr. Owen, thank you very much for your kind words. I was very happy to hear he did a superb job of driving you around the island, whilst ensuring you enjoyed your day trips. I will pass on your kind words to Mr. Owen.
Dang our housekeeper does a magnificent job, her work is excellent and you are quite right nothing is too much trouble for her. Likewise I will be sure to pass on your comment to Dang.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderful review, it is very much appreciated.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Karon Resort, Phuket in the future.
Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Spent 10 days here and have been extremely pleased with the service, cleanliness, facilities and value. It is 5 mins from the beach and has 3 pools to choose from, 2 quiet and one with kids slides etc. catering for families (we stayed clear of it).

Staff are ver friendly and helpful.

Would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the old building on the 7th floor with great view of the sea 500 mts away. Nice and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noelmiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Noelmiddleton,

Thanks for taking the trouble to review us, it is very much appreciated.

Yes, we are about a 5 minute walk from the famous Karon beach and right next to the local amenities.

We do have 3 pools, the one with the kids’ slides tends to attract the families, the other two are more often quieter.

I am pleased you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful, we always strive to make our guests feel welcomed.

Thank you for the recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Karon Resort, Phuket in the future.

Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We just arrived back home to Adelaide and would just like to share that the Centara Karon Resort in Phuket is just a great place to stay.
Excellent service - great food , three amazing swimming pools - kids really had a great time.
No complaints just great service all-round.
We will be back.

Room Tip: We upgraded our room for no extra charge- get one by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Simon d,

It is really nice to read that you and your family had a great holiday and you had a great stay with us.

We do indeed at all times try to provide excellent service, so thank you for your kind comment.

Likewise I was pleased to hear that you took advantage of our amenities like our swimming pools. Yes, the kids’ slides are very popular with children, so I am very happy your kids had a great time.

I concur our food is great, we offer fresh ingredients, great chefs and the opportunity to dine in our delightful grounds. Whether it’s dining from our Azure and Lotus restaurant menus, our themed buffet nights, BBQ in the Beer Garden or your very own personalised BBQ in one of our cabana properties, we do offer excellent value for money. Thus I am delighted you really enjoyed our food, absolutely wonderful.

Thank you very much for the nice review, it is very kind of you.

We do look forward to welcoming you back when you decide to return to Centara Karon Resort, Phuket.

Kind Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

had 7 fantastic nights here , the hotel is only 5 mins from the beach , so not to far to walk ,the buffet breakfasts have a good choice of food , there are bars and restaraunts are just outside the hotel grounds which also serve great food & drink's, the 3 pools were spotless clean as so were the hotel grounds , the staff were very friendly at all times , it was perfect

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micka90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear micka 90,
I was delighted to hear that you had 7 fantastic nights at our hotel; we do work very hard to ensure our guests have a great experience.
Yes, our hotel is only a 5 minute or so walk from the beach, we are also located right next to all of the amenities that Karon has to offer.
Indeed our international buffet breakfast has a good choice of food, we do cater for all tastes, I will pass on your kind comment to our team of chefs who will be more than happy you enjoyed it.
Our pools are actually cleaned daily, so yes they are spotlessly clean. The Gardening Department do do a wonderful job of maintaining our hotel grounds, and our staff are friendly and helpful at all times.
Thank you very much for your review, it is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Karon Resort, Phuket.
Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Me and my mum stayed in Centara for 10 nights and it was absolutely amazing experience ever! The staff was friendly and helpful.
We loved the breakfasts it had so much variety of food, fruit and bread.We were full every morning.
We are back to UK for 2 months and we already manage to book next year but this time for 16 nights . Cannot wait!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Katy Z,
Thanks for your review, it is welcomed.
Wonderful to read that you and your mum had an amazing experience during your 10 night stay.
Our staff are indeed very friendly and helpful and they do pride themselves on one hundred per cent customer service satisfaction.
Our international buffet breakfast most definitely has lots of variety, our chef’s work extremely hard in maintaining our very highest of standards.
We most definitely look forward to welcoming you back next year when you return for 16 nights, make no mistake we will be working just as hard so you can have another amazing Centara Karon Resort experience.
Kind Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I just got back from a 4 night stay at the Centara and absolutely loved this place. I normally stay in Patong, but going through a marriage separation, I wanted something different, seeing as I want a new start in life and not familiar stuff, so I decided to stay here and away from the frantic scenes of Patong, so I could relax and forget about everything

What a great decision it was. The resort is nice and clean and the rooms are very spacious. I stayed in a Lagoon room. The staff are very polite and friendly and are happy to assist you in any which way, or even more than happy to say a simple hello. I have heard of Thai hospitality, but the staff at the Centara take it to a whole new level

The swimming pools are nice and big and lots of fun, especially the water slide. Im 36, but I must admit, I could not resist the slide. I had to go on it once or twice, or 30 or 40 times during my stay

The one thing that really stood out for me was when I organized a taxi through the resort. The girl that organizes it (IM so sorry, but I didn't get her name) is really nice and friendly and organized it within minutes and I was picked up by a hotel employee called Mario. Perfect

I organized to go to the Tiger Kingdom and Mario stayed with me the entire time. I couldn't help but to buy him a drink and a sandwhich and he was extremely gracious for that. I saw the go kart track next door, and wished I organized to go there also, but Mario, being the person that he was insisted that I go once I told him, and drove me there, parked the car and waited for me to go round, before taking me back to the hotel

Even though English is not Marios first language, he was very friendly and spoke very well and professional and helpful. I had no issues with him and even had a laugh or 2 to and from the Tiger Kingdom

This resort is more catered to families, but travelling on my own, I really enjoyed this place and plan on staying there again. The atmosphere, the staff, the property, everything about it is appealing to me and I succeeded in doing what I planned on doing and that's relaxing and forgetting about my troubles back home

Thank you Centara. Please keep doing what you are doing and I can assure you, I will be back again and again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FotisPliakouras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear FotisPliakouras,
Let me firstly begin by thanking you for such a nice review.
We do pride ourselves on being a very nice and clean resort with spacious rooms.
Our staff are extremely polite and courteous to all our guests, so thank you very much for saying that our staff take Thai hospitality to a whole new level, absolutely delightful.
I am really pleased that you took advantage of our swimming pools and of course our slide, delighted you had such a nice time.
The lady who would have organised your taxi would have been either Khun Mam or Khun Lek depending on the time of day; however I will pass on your kind comment.
It was also really nice to read that Mario did such a great job of taking care of you when you visited the Tiger Kingdom, likewise I will be sure to pass on your kind words.
Though we do however have many families, we do cater for all kinds of tourists whether you’re travelling as a couple or as in your case alone. I am genuinely pleased that we helped to make you feel relaxed and helped you forget about your troubles, it was our pleasure.
We would be absolutely delighted to welcome you back in the future when you decide to return back to Phuket. We will do our very best to ensure you enjoy your Centara Karon Resort experience again and again.
Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
967 reviews
2.9 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#11 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing