We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #20 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is our second visit to this resort we were also there in 2011.


We had the same room a private Cabana room which was excellent however recommend for couples and children under 7, it may not be priviate enough for older kids unless you can get 2 brms. We did try to book 2 brms at this resort in the Cabana's or the other rooms but they were booked even though we booked our trip 6 months earlier.

We used the bhart bonaza and if you are using this as a resort and a relaxing stay and will eat here often this is recommended. We also recommend outside eating places Mermaid Hotel and the Red Onion. The inn directly out of the hotel on the right opposite the irish pub also did excellent value for money meals.

Since our last stay this resort has many more internal activities we enjoyed including the pool parties and the gym classes. These were excellent and fun.

Reception staff were very helpful when we had a few issues communicating to taxi drivers etc.

The children loved the slide pool and this was hours of entertainment for them. The Kids club has also improved with more interaction with the children. Probably more suited activies here for children under 8.

Breakfast is excellent and we loved the banana rotis.

This really should be a 5 star rating from us as it was last time but due to a few service issues we had we have rated it 4 stars this time. We enjoyed our stay and would definatley like to return however a bit more internal training of the staff would help. We had a issues with Happy Hour in the kids pool area clocks were wrong as well as meals not been delivered together as a family eating. A few minutes is ok but 1/2 hour with children is difficult. It really comes down to communication improving, but this may be the western way and not the Thai way and we are in Thailand after all.

Overall we feel we received excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan-Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Sawasdee Bryan-Lisa,
Thanks for returning to Centara Karon Resort. I am sorry there was not much availability for cabanas as we do operate quite high occupancy all year round. Sometimes going direct to our reservations can help with availability and dates. Im pleased you found value in Baht Bonanza, your children loved the pools and the family loved breakfast especially the roti's.
Hope to see you for a third visit.
regards
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,403 - 2,409 of 4,081 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our family of four (2 adults & 2 teenagers) stayed here for ten nights in Sept/Oct and had a wonderful experience. Unfortunately, when we arrived, the Terrace pool that we overlooked was being renovated (with jackhammers) so the next morning we went down to reception and were efficiently upgraded to two adjoining Premium rooms. As well as being larger and more luxurious, Premium rooms include access to a lounge area with library (great if you can read German!), games and free tea and coffee. This was perfect for the few rainy monsoon days when we didn't go on tours.
The staff are very gracious and you are always greeted in a friendly manner. There is a huge choice for the breakfast buffet at both the Azure and Lotus restaurants, and a range of dinner specials each night (Seafood BBQ, Beer & Burgers, Amazing Thai etc) The Thai boxing and ceremonial dancing demonstration was very interesting, with several costume changes.
We really enjoyed our whole trip and will be thanking our travel agent for recommending it, and recommending to our friends.

Room Tip: Premium rooms have easy access to the pool and an exclusive lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brittgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, On behalf of General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Sawasdee Brittgow,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. Your thoughts and suggestions will help readers to make an informed decision on their next holiday destination. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Wisa Bousang
Executive Secretary to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights at the end of August and had a really excellent time. As a family with a couple of small kids, the resort is ideal, very well maintained, nicely laid out and very quiet.

We had a pool cabana room which was ideal for us, the room was a good size, with 2 large king sized beds - and a largish separate bathroom (enough room for a large cot) which meant the baby could go to bed anytime. Aircon worked well which was very much appreciated/needed. The room had a very enjoyable outdoor shower (didnt use the indoor one at all) and of course a courtyard and pool. Having the pool was great for adhoc dips as the heat was often intense. The pool was very was refreshing deep enough for adults but sides were shallow for kids and had a jacuzzi function. Biggest annoyance was if it would rain all the water from the roof (and associated junk/leaves) would fall into it and it would get a bit dirty and getting people to come clean it was not very easy. Wifi is free if you sign up for some card, which they did for me (all i did was sign one page - never even opened the letter thing) and pretty usable. So I recommend doing that.

The food was good and in our opinion pretty cheap, room service was especially good value being the same price as the restaurant with no delivery charge - pizza's for $250bht were very delicious. The resturant had a theme thing going most days, the pool party was pretty good, as was the thai buffet - went elsewhere on other nights - Overall food service was pretty good, breakfast was plentiful and pretty good. The resort has 3 pools all of which are very nice, and overall there is not much to fault, in general terms everyone was pretty friendly.

We used the kids club a bit , they were ok, but have some very strange rules where they want to know where you are all all times and get very pedantic about it like your not allowed to leave the resort (i get that I guess) but then where in the resort are you going to be at all times - so I put say our room - they then quiz you on will you leave, are you sure etc etc - if you say yes you might to say get some lunch (in the resort) or something they say you need to then come back and update the form and make a big deal about it - what a pain, we had mobiles that worked fine and said why cant they just call us if there was some issue, not allowed it seems. Just seemed very unhelpful. There were some other kids there and on their form which just so happened to be on the table in the same section it just had a mobile phone, when i enquired why he could do it but we couldnt, they were the managers kids so he can do what he wants. Once past all of this they seemed pretty nice it was pretty quiet with only a couple of other kids there and sometimes none, but whilst there was a schedule for the day, it was almost never followed at all, a lot of the time was spent watching pirated dvds - maybe this is what the kids wanted to do , but the schedule with all these activities would have been a lot better but as far as my kids tell me none of it was done. So overall the worst bit of the place, but not to bad - just the staff need a bit more common sense and maybe less of some rules and more of others.

Karon itself is far quieter than Patong but Patong is in easy reach if you would like to mix it up a bit. Outside the gate is all manner of restaurants and more massage places than you would imagine could stay in business. Every place we tried be it massage (and we had a lot ) or food was very good and in our terms very cheap. There are also grocery places and along past the movenpick a full on market full of knock offs. The beach is close enough and nice, but was rough as expected at that time of year, the constant hawkers a little tiresome and there were some sort of little sea lice type thing biting at low tide. All of which meant , hanging by the pool was more enjoyable.

Anyway, to sum up. A great holiday. We have been missing it since we got back and would be back like a shot - saying that I do like going to different places so next time might head over to Koh Samui, but if we do decide to come back to this side we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a pool cabana, you wont regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, On behalf of General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Sawasdee Mike K,

It was a pleasure to read your review and know that you had such a wonderful stay with us at Centara Karon Resort. I hope we can welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Wisa Bousang
Executive Secretary to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just got back from Phuket and stayed at the Centara Karon Beach Hotel and loved it. Any one that complains about this hotel must be very pedantic, it's not a 5 star hotel but the rooms were good, the bed was comfortable and the air worked great. The staff where more than helpful and we enjoyed it very much. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuki101028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Sawadee Kuki101028,
Thanks for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay.
Hope you will retrun soon.
regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in adjacent rooms which we booked using Agoda. We got an excellent rate, including breakfast, and upon arrival at the resort were upgraded to a better room type with a balcony and pool view. The check in process was slightly long, and there was not really much communication from staff as to why, but I think this was only annoying as we had been travelling for 16 hours by that stage.

The resort grounds are very large and it can be a bit of a walk from the Tropicana building where we stayed to reception or breakfast. It is a similar story with the three flights of stairs in the Tropicana building that I notice other reviewers have complained about. As an able bodied family, it didn't bother us.

We did us the fitness centre the first couple of days, but for the size of the resort, it's a bit under done (it needs more treadmills and bikes). We only used it twice as the wait for a machine was too long.

We mainly used the top pool (Tropicana pool?) as our kids were teenagers and weren't enticed by the water slide. It was good, except for a few times when kids came up from the other pool and were jumping in slapshing a lot around the pool bar. Neither the parents or the staff did anything about it. Also, I noticed over the course of our stay, the cleanliness of the pool did seem to drop off as the numebr of guests increased, particularly around the bar end. We were there in low season and never had an issue getting a sun bed, even though there were five of us. I thought the prices at the pool bar were reasonable, but the beer wasn't cold enough, and a peek over the top of the bar at various stages showed the fridge temperature set to between 8 and 10 degrees. The way around it was to buy a bucket of beer which came in ice, but this didn't attract happy hour pricing.

The breakfast was extensive, but after a few days felt it could have used more variety. I supose this truely is a personal thing though. Being a family resort, it should have some more tales that can accomodate more than four people, as we were regularly crammed onto a table we didn't really fit on.

The location of the resort was very good, with just a short walk from reception to the main strip of Karon Beach.

Overall, we would stay here again in a heart beat. It was an entirely suitable place for young families, with plenty for little kids to do. If someone wasn't particularly mobile, they might consider asking for a roomon the ground level and near to the front of the resort, otherwise there is a bit of walking around involved. We will definately stay here again when we return to Phuket. I gave a five out of five rating, based on a pleasant stay and excellend value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigA81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, On behalf of General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear BigA81,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay at Centara Karon Resort. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and have provided readers some quality information in determining their next holiday location.

Kind regards,
Wisa Bousang
Executive Secretary to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 nights, and had an absolute blast. We were a group of 3 families in Thailand for our first time and this was a great base for us.
The markets outside the hotel were enough for the first few nights to wet our appetite and encourage us to venture further afield to bigger and better markets in other areas.
The rooms were comfortable, we chose the terrace rooms, which had to of the hardest single beds insitu known to man. Ask for a mattress topper and it makes it so much better. Our view from the balcony was disappointing to say the least, the car park/street view on the first morning we pulled the curtains back was meet with a sigh more than a wow, but as days went by, it was entertaining watching the street view at midnight and all the crazy drunk people.
The hotel has 3 pools, but unfortunately one of the larger adult only pools was closed and empty for renovation for their upcoming high season. Understandable, but just made the kids pool very busy at hot peak times of the day.
The main pool had lots of theme nights and pool parties during the time we were there which was fun for the kids and a cheap way to bribe them into late night markets post pool party.
The buffet breakfasts are beautiful, with lots of choices and options. The omelette station was always busy but tasty and worth the few minutes wait.
The centara spa was lovely, but extremely over priced compared to outside massage parlours available within a short walk.
My only complaint was that every time your room was cleaned, even if you had the air con off in the room your card was removed from the slot which unfortunately turned off the bar fridge in the room. Therefore the chances of maintaining cold water, drinks or fruit in the fridge was minimal unless you guarded that card slot with your life.
Minor complaint, and apart from that a lovely hotel to stay at.
Just remember, it is about 30-45 minutes transfer time on every trip you do if the tour is leaving from Phuket marina or surrounding areas. We didn't know this prior to booking this hotel, but the up side is you always get picked up first, so you can grab the best seats in the bus!!

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank Sharon1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, On behalf of General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Sawasdee Sharon1074,

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide Trip Advisor readers your thoughts on your recent stay. With so many readers on a forum such as this, feedback for both potential holiday makers and us the resort is important. Whilst we strive to improve our shortcomings it is equally appreciated to receive reviews re-enforcing our efforts, such as yours. I look forward to sharing your thoughts with the team.

Kind regards,
Wisa Bousang
Executive Secretary to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We just came back from Phuket where we have spent 14 day. This was a great place to stay with young kids. Pool was great, loved the theme nights, staff were excellent. We stayed at Tropicale room, which was clean and quiet. Breakfast was great. The location was great too, we have been to Patong and Phuket town for sightseeing but felt this resort was definitely a better choice.

We ate out quite a lot because we loved visiting different restaurants. The food at the resort was as authentic as the restarunts down the road. We had no issues whatsoever and it was a great holiday.

The only thing I was not used to was the pricing at the resort. The price was excluding 10% service charge and 7% vet, which was not as straight forward as we are used to here in NZ. Other than that, I highly recommended this resort to anyone with young kids ( ours are 3 & 6).

Room Tip: Tropicale room was good. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLiu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, On behalf of General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Sawasdee JLiu2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. Your thoughts and suggestions will help readers to make an informed decision on their next holiday destination. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Wisa Bousang
Executive Secretary to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#11 Spa Hotel in Karon
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#12 Family Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#19 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $57 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing