We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We are just spending our last night at the Centara. Yes it needs some maintenance but this seems to be taking place now. In fact two floors are being renovated (disappointedly no one told us it would be going on during our stay, loads of noise but one just gets on with it). The shower does run hot and cold but its not every time.
The worst bit for us was arrival where it took over an hour to get checked in. Thankfully there were two other English speaking couples in the same predicament so we chatted the time away.
Our room on the 7th floor in the main hotel was nice and the beds comfy (don't get the hard bed bit in other reviews). The standard of cleaning was excellent.
The staff in the hotel are so friendly which has to be hard for them to be like this 24/7 especially when they have to work full time all year round now.
We used the Terrace pool area which was nice and quiet, fresh towels whenever you wanted. The food we ate here was lovely. Yes the price is a tad higher than other bars in the resort but it is a borderline 4 star hotel.
Wifi is free if you sign up for the Centara card which is a no brainer. Breakfast at the Lotus is excellent. Loved the coffee. My wife loved the omelettes, made while you watched.
The reception staff are very helpful and speak excellent English. My wife and I like to go somewhere different every year so I don't think we will return. However for others reading this review take it from us that you will not regret staying here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hellofafungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Sawasdee hellofafungi,
Thanks for a mid stay review. Im pleased you are enjoying your stay and I hope it finishes off nicely for you. Sorry to read of a few issues that detract from the perfect stay. Enjoy the rest of your time in Phuket.
Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,838
    1,211
    372
    117
    53
See reviews for
1,537
1,269
83
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (994)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Myself & my family (hubby & 3 boys - 14, 12 & 6) recently stayed for 8 nights at Centara Karon Resort. We had 2 Lagoon rooms right by the pool. The boys had the most amazing time at the resort. The rooms were lovely & modern. The staff were fantastic. So helpful & very friendly. My husband had a bit of an accident on our first night after arriving 2 hours earlier. The night staff, especially the duty manager was fabulous. I could not praise them enough. Breakfast was wonderful, catering for all varieties. The fruit was to die for. Every bit of our stay from arrival to check out was pleasurable. Definately recommend. Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carinatoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Sawasdee carinatoms,
Thanks for providing a review from your recent stay. Im delighted you found the rooms to be in excellent order and our staff so friendly and helpful! Its nice to recieve such glowing praise and I will be happy to pass onto the team.
With thanks
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I'm staying at the Centara and currently with my family. I had researched a lot of hotels to find a good hotel that would be baby friendly and a good comfortable stay to showcase the famous Thai culture. I am deeply disappointed. The shower runs boiling hot to cold and water is muddy brown, I have raised issue twice but I don't know if the staff don't understand English or if they just don't care. Just not baby safe at all. There's no spa menu, have come back to room to find the door left unlocked by housekeeping again the don't understand or don't care English. Room is ok but disappointed in their premium lounge. Paid extra but to the staff we feel like a hassle not welcoming or friendly. Also barely any nibbles or benefits to lounge not worth extra money at all. Biggest disappointment is our baby is sick trying to get help for doctor was a hassle and I had to walk to reception a 10 minute walk then told 200 baht or I had to walk in heat. Disappointing. Look Centara is a fine place but I'd never come back and I'd only suggest it to people who stay in cheaper sections as the more exclusive sections mean nothing and not worth extra cost. Pools and grounds are nice very spacious so lots of walking. Food in hotel mediocre and expensive, transport expensive only allowed to book through hotel which charges more. Location in Karon is great and probably only real plus of this hotel. I won't be recommending which is a shame.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Kaela K,
Sorry to read of your mid stay disappointment. I note the issues you mention regarding water temperature and colour and suggest you request a maintenance staff member to visit as this issue is not usual. The Spa can assist you with a Spa Menu, if you dont want to walk to the Spa or Lobby for a copy, just dial 8. Premium Lounge issues, I will share with the Manager, Khun Nop or Chef Philipp are readily available to help you. Sorry your baby is not well and that the taxi / transfer service costs money to and from the doctors (we dont have a doctor on property). Food is not expensive, especially if you use Baht Bonanza or any of our nightly specials, also just outside the resort you can get little roadside carts and eateries if your budget is really tight. Also there is a TukTuk at the hotel entrance if you want to save money than a hotel car. Dear Kaela K, I hope this helps and you can enjoy Thiland as it really is a great place and a fun place to holiday!
regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time in Thailandand thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.The food and atmosphere was great and everything was always so tidy and clean.The kids loved the pools, slides and games organised by the hotel.We loved relaxing on the sun beds and the happy hour 2 for 1 cocktails in the pool. All the staff are soo friendly and work so hard to keep everyone happy:)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaijai35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Sawasdee jai,
Thanks for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. Im delighted you enjoyed your stay, especially the food, the atmosphere and everything was tidy and clean. Im glad you loved happy hour and our staff too!
Best wishes
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

my wife and I stayed at this hotel for 28 nights,and three of our grown up children and their partners stayed for 14 nights.when we first arrived in karon we wondered if we had made a mistake,but when we went into the hotel wow.the food was excellent,very good value.the staff were first class and the resort and rooms were stunning

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stephenm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, On behalf of General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Stephenm100,

It was a pleasure to read your review and know that you had such a wonderful stay with us Centara Karon Resort. I hope we can welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Wisa Bousang
Executive Secretary to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week family holiday to Centara Karon Resort. The location is great , walking distance to so many restaurants and the hustle and bustle of the shops. We have 2 girls aged 10 and 8 who loved going into the shops. The hotel is set amongst lovely grounds with luscious plants and flowers and fruit trees. Unfortunately, my daughter had an accident whilst in Phuket resulting in a broken leg (not in the hotel). The staff were so kind and helpful to us moving us to a ground floor accommodation and loaning us a wheelchair. They were very kind to my daughter asking her how she is getting on. We would definatley recommend the resort and are hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte722013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Sawasdee Charlotte721013,
Thanks for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. Im delighted you enjoyed your stay and will convey your lovely comments on our staff. I hope your daughter is recovering well.
Best Wishes
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have just returned from 11 amazing day at the Centra Karon Resort. When we arrived we were greeted warmly by reception staff with a nice cool drink. Check in was easy and efficient. We stayed in a lagoon room. It was beautiful over looking the pool. The resort is set amongst beautiful tropical gardens that were relaxing to walk around and admire. The resort location is perfect it’s off the main street so it’s very quiet. It’s in walking distance to a great selection of local shops, restaurants and the beach. Patong is about a 10- 15 min ride by Taxi. The buffet breakfast was yummy, lots of variety and great food. The staff at the resort we cannot speak of highly enough everyone was so friendly and accommodating during our stay. We loved our time at Centra Karon resort and can wait to retune. We would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Tanya S,
Thank you for staying with us at Centara Karon Resort. We appreciate your feedback in particular your comments on your nice welcome on arrival and ease of check in, our beautiful tropical gardens, and excellent location.
Safe Travels and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
3.0 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#9 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing