We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent resort in every repect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #17 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the Centara for 10 beautiful days in a Family Deluxe Lagoon room. My wife and I have a 13 year old daughter and a 10 year old son. We found the room very spacious, clean and well appointed. We lived here comfortably for the 10 days. The resort itself was excellent in every respect. The staff were extremely helpful, even though some had only broken English. By speaking slowly and using less complicated vocabulary, one could easily be understood. Our kids spent most of the days in the resort pool when we weren't touring. They both loved the slide and made lots of friends while swimming around. The breakfasts were very good. There was a huge variety of foods to chose from, including cereals, fresh fruits, hot food (eggs, bacon, fried rices, omelettes, vegetables), a good assortment of breads and jams, as well as various danishes & croissants. As my sister and her family were staying in the two-bedroom cabana (luxury plus!), we had a BBQ which was cooked by one of the chefs from the resort. It was really worthwhile and the food was excellent, especially the huge prawns! Try it out if you are staying in a cabana! We also took part in the 'Pool Party Night', where lots of water games with prizes were organised by the staff for kids and adults a like. Small band, singers, music and heaps of fun! Watch out for the 'Lip, Sip, Suck girls' who come around with tequilla. It onlys costs 50 Baht a glass - great fun! For dinner there was a selection of 'pool food' such as chips, hamburgers cooked on the BBQ (delicious!), hotdogs, chicken sticks and salads. Very reasonably priced at only 200 Baht. It was a great night and we meet lots of other Australians guest at the resort. The resort grounds are beautifully maintained. The best thing about this resort is it is located right in the heart of Karon, only a short stroll to the beach. We ate out at the local restaurants most nights which are just a stone's throw from the resort. There are small supermarkets, a chemist, pub, plenty of massage places (ahhhhh!), tourist kiosks (use these as they can get some good deals for you), a barber (a nice bloke!) and lots of tourist shops. A lot of other resorts we stopped into when picking up other guests for tours, were quite isolated from the shopping areas and would required a tuk tuk every time to get into the heart of town. Centara Karon is right there in the midst of everything! When we go back to Phuket, we will be going back to Centara for sure because of it's location and the quality of the resort! It's a great place for kids and for couples! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Sawasdee Kha Paul A,

Thank you very much for your kind taking your time to provide other reader such a impressive review. We are happy to hear that the Pool Party that we arrange every Thursday night have been attracted you, while we are never stop to thinking and make it more and more fun and answer to any ages of our guests. We are looking forward to welcome you back soonest. :)

Khob khun Kha (Thank you very much)
Chompoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,611 - 2,617 of 3,909 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our family recently stayed here as part of a 2 week holiday. From the minute we arrived we were welcomed and made to feel special. With 3 pools, gym, awesome breakfast and location perfect we would recommend the resort to anyone. Loved the zoned pools so we could choose to be amongst it all at the family pool, or enjoy the peace and tranquility of the top pool. Room service incl the making up of the rooms each day was prompt and the porters were the most helpful we have met for a very long time - their advice on everything from where to shop to how much a tuk tuk should cost was invaluable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MichaelB1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Sawasdee Lha MichaelB1961,

It was a pleasure to read your review and know that you had such a wonderful stay with us at Centara Karon Resort. I hope we can welcome you and your family back in the near future?

Safe Travels
Chompoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 12 days and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. All the staff were very friendly and smiled when you walked by! On my birthday they even laid out heaps of green and pink petals on my bed saying 'happy birthday!' The pools are very nice also! The breakfast buffet is lovely with a selection for everyone and the azure restaurant has very nice food! Recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank thetravellingvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Sawasdee Kha thetravellingvegas,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay at Centara Karon Resort. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and have provided readers some quality information in determining their next holiday location.

Khob Khun Kha (Thank you)
Chompoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon in September 2012.
Previously my husband had stayed at Le Meridien and the hotel had far more on offer, but was much more removed.... it's a balancing game!!

Having experienced two delays, the hotel staff told us off when we arrived saying we were a day late, which of course was NOT our fault! We were then shown to a tiny room, not the suite we had paid for. There seemed to be no record of this on their systems. The "sea view" was only possible if you laid your face flat against the window and looked left. My husband had also been told that we would get extras for spending our honeymoon there - flowers, a cake and the bed was to be decorated with petals. When we asked where everything was, they told us to produce our marriage certificate and they didn't believe us, even though my passport was only valid from the 1st of Sept. 12 hours of delays and no sleep along with two plane journeys and a lengthy transfer saw me break down in tears- not exactly the best start to our honeymoon!!! After discussing the issues with the managers, were we upgraded to a corner suite "free of charge" (we'd already paid for it!!) but we were still denied the honeymoon perks. This corner suite was much larger than the other room with a separate bath and shower, walk in wardrobe and massive panoramic views where you COULD actually see the beach. Our family had to scan and email our certificate to the hotel (several times, as they claimed they had never received it!!) in order to receive our perks witch came 3 days later in to the holiday.

Zero free entertainment in the hotel. The traditional Thai dancing show was a costly event, as were the cooking classes! We gave them a miss and went to the "Fantasea" show and the "Simon Cabaret" - well worth going to see! We went to the Kata Thai cooking class in the next town - well worth going! The lady running the classes, Kelly, was a great laugh took lots of pictures for us and was incredibly hospitable.

Go on as MANY trips as possible (The Big Buddah Quad biking was FANTASTIC). Don't be afraid to barter these prices down either, we didn't pay full price for ANYTHING at all. In some cases we only paid half of the child cost each and had some fantastic trips with whole days costing as little as £15/£20 for both of us.

The beach was a 15 minute wander down the road, so not ideal but close enough.

Top tip? If you want cheaper food, then be prepared to walk further away from the hotel (opposite direction to the beach) and you get big pizzas for 150 baht and cocktails are half the price. Local food is obviously the cheapest, so don't be afraid to be adventurous! Don't be put off if no one is in there, often people aren't prepared to walk a short distance and the competition is intense (low prices!), but if you do then you'll benefit... bottles of sprite will only be around 20 baht, for example.

Free wifi in the hotel bar was good, if we'd have realised, we would never have paid for it in the room! The pools were great fun with a free towel service on a sign out/sign in basis. Around the middle of the holiday I managed to slice my toe open on the bottom of the pool (bad repair job to a tile) but the staff were very hospitable.... though nothing was ever done to fix it...Happy hour - that was good at the poolside with cocktails on offer, making them more affordable! Other things were on offer, like pizzas, kids meals and chips.

Breakfast was an average affair. not a greattttt deal to choose from but enough to keep you interested. VERY repetitive after the two weeks we spent there! To be fair, we would have been perfectly fine going "Room Only" and the breakfast foods in the local cafes were the cheapest items!

Local amenities: shop just outside the hotel.. great for cheap ice creams/for comparing prices with local shops. Lottttttts of local outlets, with street vendors for foody snacks late at night. Countless cafes with all of them displaying the menus outside so you can decide before going in.

Other than the bumpy start, it was a pretty good hotel, they just need to sharpen up their customer service when there's an issue and make more of an effort to compete price-wise with the local shops!! Saying that, Id rather give my money to the locals than the hotel anyway!!!

Room Tip: Get a suite!! Don't go in a normal room, they're far too small!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mutinous_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Mutinous_Angel,
Thanks for sharing your comments from September 2012.
I was pleased to read that we provide a 'pretty good hotel' despite your low rating and many negative comments. Im sorry to read of the issues, however it appears we didnt have your booking? Might explain why we didnt know you were honeymooners, was this booked through an agent? Im not sure your comparison to the 5 star Le Meridian is 'apples and apples', perhaps compare to our own Centara Grand as a 5 star and similiar pricing as like for like! I note your comment about not wanting to give our hotel your money but give to the locals (re purchases) however you can consider that everytime you spend money in our hotel, 10% goes direct to the staff. Furthermore Centara is a Thai company with 300 Thai staff. Most of our products are from local suppliers and our prices are very competitive, but of course, the choice is yours. Plenty of free entertainment at the hotel, just read the in room newsletter!
I am sorry to read we werent able to make you happy duing your stay with us.
Safe Travels
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We had 10 days at this hotel as part of a three week holiday in Thailand. We arrived at 11am to be told our room wouldn't be ready until 2pm, however after explaining we had been travelling for 24 hours we were found a room within 10 minutes. We were in the terraces, so the cheapest rooms, but it was perfectly fine. We had a huge comfy bed and the room was kept spotlessly clean daily. The grounds of the hotel are beautifully maintained and with three different pools there was plenty of room for everyone. We are a couple travelling without children but there was plenty for families to do and the pool with all the water slides looked great fun with a daily entertainment programme for children. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Great location only a few minutes walk to the beach and close to lots of nice bars and restaurants. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Karon Beach

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meggiemoo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Sawasdee parkes50,
Thanks for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. Fantastic to read its your 5th visit to Thailand and you would return to Centara Karon Resort. You certainly have provided readers with some great tips, should they stay here.
Safe Travels and hope to see you again!
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the Centara Karon in late November 2012. We were travelling with our 4 children (13, 11, 9 and 4) and had interconnecting deluxe lagoon rooms on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool with the waterslides which was a fantastic view.

Positives, the slides and pool areas are great for the kids and keeps them entertained for hours. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The staff were very friendly especially the valet staff. The Mix Bar was great to relax, have a drink and a game of pool. The area which the hotel is located is fantastic, lots of local restaurants and beach 5 min away but without being too busy. As it was my 40th birthday myself and 3 other friends went to the day spa, this was FANTASTIC and highly recommend a visit, it was 3 hours of heaven and well worth every cent!

Negatives, the service at the restaurants and bars were sometimes very slow. The hotel could do with a little bit of a TLC. We were travelling with 2 other families and on arrival both their deluxe rooms were not ready (even though we booked 6 months in advance) so they had to stay at the Tropicale suits for 2 nights then move to the deluxe rooms. Although this is not the end of the world it was an inconvenience especially travelling with children and it is a common complaint on the tripadvisor so maybe management can look at changing this.

We have now stayed at this hotel and in 2009 we stayed at the Merlin Beach Resort, I would probably have to say my husband and I enjoyed the Merlin Beach Resort more but the slides won the kids over at the Centara Karon.

Overall a fantastic and relaxing holiday

Also would like to recommend a fantastic shop, JINDA’s which is located on Thaveewong Rd (this is the road along Patong Beach). Go past Bangla Road and is just near the Irish Bar. If you don’t want to bargin go here everything cheap first price and lovely people.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keggsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Sawasdee Keggsta,
Thanks for sharing your comments from your holiday in November. Great to read we left such a positive impression on you and your family. I am sorry we couldnt garantee interconnecting rooms, unfortunately we only have 76 rooms that interconnect. We do also have family deluxe suites as well.
Safe Travels,
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were originally booked in a 2 x Duluxe Lagoon room and although hotel double booked our room and i was not happy and we were relocated to the highrise on the beach for two nights (which was on 15th floor - great views but old two bedroom apartment) - we were then moved two nights later back to resort and upgraded to 2 x Cabana rooms right next to the Terrace pool, best rooms ever - have your own Jacuzzi, sunscreen daily, and bathroom accessories, mini bar, - we were in heaven. Spent alot of our time at pool bar and have to say the staff there are the nicest people (Ball, Phat, Phet and boss Noi), even taught us a few more Thai words. Breakfast was good - wide variety. We went to pool party (every Thursday night), oh and happy hour 5-7pm (2 drinks for 1). We are glad now we were upgraded because we liked this pool area better than the Lagoon pool - lots of younger kids at Lagoon pool - we have a 12year old boy and 19 year old daughter who travelled with her boyfriend. Usually everynight they have something on weather its pizza/pasta night etc. Will be back.

Room Tip: if you can afford go for the Cabana rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brizzvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Sawasdee Brizzvegas,
Greetings from sunny Phuket! Thanks for providing such a positive review despite the less than ideal start. I have shared your comments with the staff mentioned already. Great to read you loved our pool party too!
Safe Travels
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
0.8 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#10 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $61 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing