We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #18 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was our second time to Karon, the first time we stayed at the Moevenpick in a Penthouse plunge pool for a special occasion. Although the Moevenpick was much better it was also twice the price. The Centara is huge with 3 lovely pools and very well maintained grounds. The staff are friendly and acommodating to the point that on our arrival back to the resort from our wanderings they would take us back to our Tropicale rooms in one of the 2 golf carts they had. The rooms are spacious with a large bathroon. We found the beds to be comfy but after a few days were became very hard. The swim up pool bar at the Tropicale rooms was a favorite of ours and the staff were very good. The pricing was a bit rich but using Centara's free Baht offer of buying 10000baht and getting 5000 free was worth it. Would definatly go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Snooppoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Sawasdee Snooppoppy,
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. Im delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future!
Kind Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,880)
There are newer reviews for Centara Karon Resort Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,663 - 2,669 of 3,880 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

As a first time overseas traveller I didn't really know why to expect. But I was highly impressed. Check in was lovely, I wasn't first impressed with our room in the "tower" but we decided to upgrade to a cabana which was more than we expected. The grounds of the resort are precisely manicured and lovely to walk through. The staff were beyond lovely! The service the bell boys, Terrace pool and Mix bar staff gave was just outstanding. They are respectful, helpful, extremely well mannered and they are such an attribute to this resort. We also thought the position of the resort was great! Just minutes from 7/11, great restaurants, markets the beach and easy travel to patong or kata beach. The hotel also offers evening shuttle buses to patong, and the guys who drive are more careful than most other thai drivers!
I cannot recommend this resort more. I was definitely pleased an we are already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank haileybluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Sawasdee haileybluebird,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay at Centara Karon Resort. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and have provided readers some quality information in determining their next holiday location. We are looking forward to welcome you back here on your next trip.

Take Care
Chompoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was our second time staying at Centara Karon. We chose to return to this resort because of it's good value for money offerings. Staff are polite and attentive. Resort pools are great. The kids especially loved the lagoon pool with the water slides. Last year we stayed in a deluxe lagoon room which was fine. This year we were upgraded to a Tropicale room because part of the lagoon area was bieng renovated. The tropicale room was great. More spacious than the lagoon room we had last year(however lagoon room great as well). The buffet breakfast is really good (included in our price). While not on the beach it is good to have shops and resaurants so handy. Only a short walk to markets and around 300 metres to beach.

Room Tip: Ground floor avoids having to climb stairs in hot, very humid conditions.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamlotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Sawasdee grahamlotus,

It was a pleasure to read your review and know that you had such a wonderful stay with us at Centara Karon Resort. I hope we can welcome you and your family back in the near future?

Khob Khun Kha,
Chompoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

As a first time traveller to Phuket i found the service and accommodation excellent, everyone were willing to help, very centerally located to Karon beach and shops and has been said by another report that it is very cheap to get around the island with a bit of haggling for fun with the Tuk Tuk drivers, we also could get the blue bus (along the beach) which went through to Kata beach and back to Phuket town for 40 Baht ($1), we were lucky enough to be on the 5th floor of the main building which gave us a good view of the sunsets and water views, the swim up bar in the Lagoon pool was fun with cocktails and beers served along with food if you wanted it, happy hour consisted of 2 hours, thankyou for a great time, we intend to book for the whole family for next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Sawasdee Geoff P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay at Centara Karon Resort. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and have provided readers some quality information in determining their next holiday location.

Take Care
Chompoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We just spent 10 lovely days staying in the Centara Karon Beach Resort. Right from the start we were made to feel welcome by all the staff. They are all very friendly and approachable. We stayed in a Deluxe Lagoon room and have no complaints about anything. The rooms are spacious and overlook the Lagoon pool. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who is thinking of visiting Karon Beach Phuket. It's not on the beach but is only a short stroll away. It is close to everything that Karon has to offer, shopping, markets, restaurants. The breakfasts in the Lotus restaurant had a large range of foods to choose from so you won't go hungry. If you don't want to eat in the resort then there are plenty of restaurants close by. We ate at Karon Seafood restaurant several times and again found all of the staff friendly and the food was delicious. Two Chefs was also a great place to dine. Karon Beach is only a short Tuk Tuk ride from Patong. Remember to barter for the Tuk Tuk ...you can expect to pay 300 Baht for a trip from Karon to Patong. Take a tour to the big Buddha, there are some amazing views on the way and, if you do, sample the coconut icecream from the markets there..yummmmo.

Room Tip: If you have children stay in the Deluxe Lagoon rooms, there is a slide in the pool which the kids lo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Sawasdee June D,
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Great to read your comment "Right from the start we were made to feel welcome by all the staff. They are all very friendly and approachable." You have provided readers some great tips, such as driving to the Big Buddha and the coconut ice cream does sound good!
Safe Travels
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have been a regular traveller to Phuket for over 16 years. In this time I have stayed at numerous 4 and 5 star hotels on the island and so far, the Centara is the worst for safety issues. When staff were advised of these concerns (Saftey issues), they laughed it off. The concerns were related to the poor standard of safety fencing. My concern being real as I fell because of faulty fencing causing near life threatening injuries. When management were approached regarding this they called my wife and I liars. So be aware.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RJP161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest,
Perhaps you have the wrong resort as we do not have any record or information on your complaint. I read you fell back in 2011 and are warning readers now.
Centara Karon Resort is very focussed on guest safety and have independent safety audits conducted multiple times per year.
We do care about all guests.
regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This resort is close enough to perfect as it is close to all the the things you would go to Phuket for, the beach, the food and bars along with the many shops selling cheap clothes, jewellery and the odd massage. You are 200 - 400 baht away from the amazingly busy Patong (day trip with kids recommended - night trip may take alot of explaining) and the quieter Kata Beach - walking from the resort to the beach, shops or restaurants is what you make of it, you will be offered all but you are not harassed like in other parts of the world - it is ok to just smile and say no thanks - The girls that are mentioned in some reviews are extremely respectful especially when walking with your partner and/or children, all part of the experience.
The hotel staff were always friendly and very quick to respond i.e. point something out or collect bags for checkout, the Safari club for kids had different activities at different times to siut all types of interests (our 6 & 7 year old probably spent 1 to 2 hours per day by their own choice, the rooms were cleaned well and the pools were great, with the pool with the waterslide attracting the bulk of the families and noise that goes with and the others were much quieter and almost had to yourself when you "forgot" what pool your family went to. The grounds are well kept, people are smiling and the rooms were extremely functional. Did I have any issues with the resort? -too relaxed to notice, care or remember, even the noise of the crackers seemed dull.
If you like to try different restaurants on your holidays and you choose to venture out from the hotel then stay away from Two Chefs early in your stay, as one go and you are hooked, the food here is very very good that caters for all - I recommend the 86 and102. The Papaya another short stroll from the resort is great, with fantastic food and great service. I spoke to some people who took advatage of the hotel extra baht deal and they were not disappointed either, you really are spoilt for choice for whatever it is that floats your boat.
If you need a holiday, this is the place, if you leave here complaining, you should have stayed longer - you might have needed it.

Room Tip: Ocean views are not everything, rooms set back in the resort are probably better for families.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank freed0m76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Sawasdee freed0m76,

It was a pleasure to read your review and know that you had such a wonderful stay with us at Centara Karon Resort. I hope we can welcome you and your family back in the near future?

Safe Travels
Chompoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
0.8 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#11 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $33 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing