We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
27 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$191
View deal
travelup.com
$221
View deal
Vio.com
$168
View deal
Expedia.com$192
Official Site$209
Hotels.com$192
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,826)
Filter reviews
5,826 results
Traveler rating
3,267
1,783
524
157
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,267
1,783
524
157
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon pool azure restaurant cabana room kids club water slides family holiday happy hour swim up bar interconnecting rooms a ground floor room pool towels great holiday buffet breakfast bars and restaurants short walk to the beach tuk tuk travel agent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,201 - 4,206 of 5,826 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was our second time staying at Centara Karon. We chose to return to this resort because of it's good value for money offerings. Staff are polite and attentive. Resort pools are great. The kids especially loved the lagoon pool with the water slides. Last year we stayed in a deluxe lagoon room which was fine. This year we were upgraded to a Tropicale room because part of the lagoon area was bieng renovated. The tropicale room was great. More spacious than the lagoon room we had last year(however lagoon room great as well). The buffet breakfast is really good (included in our price). While not on the beach it is good to have shops and resaurants so handy. Only a short walk to markets and around 300 metres to beach.

Room tip: Ground floor avoids having to climb stairs in hot, very humid conditions.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamlotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Sawasdee grahamlotus,

It was a pleasure to read your review and know that you had such a wonderful stay with us at Centara Karon Resort. I hope we can welcome you and your family back in the near future?

Khob Khun Kha,
Chompoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

As a first time traveller to Phuket i found the service and accommodation excellent, everyone were willing to help, very centerally located to Karon beach and shops and has been said by another report that it is very cheap to get around the island with a bit of haggling for fun with the Tuk Tuk drivers, we also could get the blue bus (along the beach) which went through to Kata beach and back to Phuket town for 40 Baht ($1), we were lucky enough to be on the 5th floor of the main building which gave us a good view of the sunsets and water views, the swim up bar in the Lagoon pool was fun with cocktails and beers served along with food if you wanted it, happy hour consisted of 2 hours, thankyou for a great time, we intend to book for the whole family for next year.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Sawasdee Geoff P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay at Centara Karon Resort. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and have provided readers some quality information in determining their next holiday location.

Take Care
Chompoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We just spent 10 lovely days staying in the Centara Karon Beach Resort. Right from the start we were made to feel welcome by all the staff. They are all very friendly and approachable. We stayed in a Deluxe Lagoon room and have no complaints about anything. The rooms are spacious and overlook the Lagoon pool. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who is thinking of visiting Karon Beach Phuket. It's not on the beach but is only a short stroll away. It is close to everything that Karon has to offer, shopping, markets, restaurants. The breakfasts in the Lotus restaurant had a large range of foods to choose from so you won't go hungry. If you don't want to eat in the resort then there are plenty of restaurants close by. We ate at Karon Seafood restaurant several times and again found all of the staff friendly and the food was delicious. Two Chefs was also a great place to dine. Karon Beach is only a short Tuk Tuk ride from Patong. Remember to barter for the Tuk Tuk ...you can expect to pay 300 Baht for a trip from Karon to Patong. Take a tour to the big Buddha, there are some amazing views on the way and, if you do, sample the coconut icecream from the markets there..yummmmo.

Room tip: If you have children stay in the Deluxe Lagoon rooms, there is a slide in the pool which the kids love.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuneD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Sawasdee June D,
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Great to read your comment "Right from the start we were made to feel welcome by all the staff. They are all very friendly and approachable." You have provided readers some great tips, such as driving to the Big Buddha and the coconut ice cream does sound good!
Safe Travels
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have been a regular traveller to Phuket for over 16 years. In this time I have stayed at numerous 4 and 5 star hotels on the island and so far, the Centara is the worst for safety issues. When staff were advised of these concerns (Saftey issues), they laughed it off. The concerns were related to the poor standard of safety fencing. My concern being real as I fell because of faulty fencing causing near life threatening injuries. When management were approached regarding this they called my wife and I liars. So be aware.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RJP161
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest,
Perhaps you have the wrong resort as we do not have any record or information on your complaint. I read you fell back in 2011 and are warning readers now.
Centara Karon Resort is very focussed on guest safety and have independent safety audits conducted multiple times per year.
We do care about all guests.
regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This resort is close enough to perfect as it is close to all the the things you would go to Phuket for, the beach, the food and bars along with the many shops selling cheap clothes, jewellery and the odd massage. You are 200 - 400 baht away from the amazingly busy Patong (day trip with kids recommended - night trip may take alot of explaining) and the quieter Kata Beach - walking from the resort to the beach, shops or restaurants is what you make of it, you will be offered all but you are not harassed like in other parts of the world - it is ok to just smile and say no thanks - The girls that are mentioned in some reviews are extremely respectful especially when walking with your partner and/or children, all part of the experience.
The hotel staff were always friendly and very quick to respond i.e. point something out or collect bags for checkout, the Safari club for kids had different activities at different times to siut all types of interests (our 6 & 7 year old probably spent 1 to 2 hours per day by their own choice, the rooms were cleaned well and the pools were great, with the pool with the waterslide attracting the bulk of the families and noise that goes with and the others were much quieter and almost had to yourself when you "forgot" what pool your family went to. The grounds are well kept, people are smiling and the rooms were extremely functional. Did I have any issues with the resort? -too relaxed to notice, care or remember, even the noise of the crackers seemed dull.
If you like to try different restaurants on your holidays and you choose to venture out from the hotel then stay away from Two Chefs early in your stay, as one go and you are hooked, the food here is very very good that caters for all - I recommend the 86 and102. The Papaya another short stroll from the resort is great, with fantastic food and great service. I spoke to some people who took advatage of the hotel extra baht deal and they were not disappointed either, you really are spoilt for choice for whatever it is that floats your boat.
If you need a holiday, this is the place, if you leave here complaining, you should have stayed longer - you might have needed it.

Room tip: Ocean views are not everything, rooms set back in the resort are probably better for families.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank freed0m76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Sawasdee freed0m76,

It was a pleasure to read your review and know that you had such a wonderful stay with us at Centara Karon Resort. I hope we can welcome you and your family back in the near future?

Safe Travels
Chompoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews