We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #20 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We just got back from 9 nights in this fantastic place and we loved it ... it is not your 5-Star luxury resort, but it is a very well priced 4-Star that has all the effects and trimmings you could need. It is very conveniently located, with many restaurants and bars just outside the front door and a nice little strip of markets and additional things like pharmacies etc.
Do yourself a favour and stay away from the classic tourist recommended places like Red Onion, and try some of the smaller little restaurants that you would not normally consider. The food will often please you immensely.
We loved our stay, the staff are great, the pools fantastic and we will definitely be going back next year if possible.

Cheers

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheTravellingAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,137 - 3,143 of 3,998 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

What a wonderful place. Staff superb. Upgrade to a cabana room. I managed to blag it for £10 extra per night. Upgrade when u arrive as the hotel will negotiate. Only downside was location. It's set in karon town and not on the beach. The actual beach was extremely rough due to the monsoon. Kata beach was beautiful. If you want to book trips go and see Tuk who works across from the hotel gates in a travel agents. She was brilliant and the prices were super. Would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone. The wonderful staff make it magical.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chopper44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Just got back from ten days at this resort. Whilst what follows is not the most glowing review, if you manage to get a good deal (and there are plenty of deals around offering additional free nights) this resort is ideal for families as the Lagoon pool and surrounds cater very much to children.

We booked accommodation/benefits at the Tropicale Club wing thinking it would provide the benefits advertised only to be bitterly disappointed on arrival to find out renovations were being conducted to that area. If a guest wanted to access the free internet and other club benefits they needed to go down to the main lobby area which was at the other end of the resort. As it turned out the benefits weren't that great, for example:
- We had no additional concierge care and assistance
- The all day tea and coffee service was just the same as what is provided in the rooms (no flat whites even though there is a coffee machine waiting to be used or twining's tea - you had to pay for these)
- The daytime snacks were very average consisting of nuts, fruit and mini dried-up sandwiches.
- The nightly cocktails were each guest being allowed 3 drinks of a resort nominated cocktail, Singa beer or South African wine from a 'box'. The nominated cocktails were either Absolut Vodka with pineapple juice and red stuff or Vodka with instant coffee - they were awful choices, not the margaritas or pina coladas one would expect. If you want good cocktails have them at the 'happy hour' and get your beer from the supermarket close to the resort.
- We saw no exclusive daily food and beverage promotions for 'club' guests.
- As mentioned previously the Internet access was down at the main lobby and if you wanted it up in the club area you had to pay additional rates which were very expensive.
- I only saw yesterday's newspapers and no other reading materials and we didn't get the 'complimentary "jet-lag de-stress" neck and shoulder massage'.
- The Tropix rooms were just okay, I can see why they are doing major renovations to this area. The bathrooms were very out dated and a bit grungy.

Before arrival we did email the resort twice requesting a ground floor room hoping that this would give us easy access to the pool. However, we were given a room on the second floor which was better than the ground floor as there were lots of mosquitoes in the gardens. To avoid the mosquitoes and to have a sea view we decided to upgrade to one of the Honeymoon suite's in the Tower. This was a good move even if it did cost us 1000 Baht a night more as the view was great from the seventh floor! The only downside to the suite was a very lumpy mattress that gave us both sore backs.

We had room service once and it was very good and reasonable priced, the resort also doesn't charge for buckets of ice which is nice. We ate at lots of very good restaurants close to the resort - the favorite was the Red Onion, I would love to spend more time in Karon just to work my way through the menu. The breakfast at the resort was good and lots of choices.

This is a 3.5 star resort in a great location within walking distance of the beach and shopping outlets. The resort would be good for a family wanting to enjoy the children's pool and the child centered activities at the Lagoon wing. However, I would not bother with the Tropical Club till the renovations are completed and the benefits improved.
All of the above feedback was given to the management before we left and I did not get a reply, so I look forward to seeing if they post a reply on this public forum.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the Club and the mosquitoes - get a room high in the tower with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCKR, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear Valued Guest

I appreciate your time taken, to give us your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor and I am very happy to hear that you would recommend our Hotel for families. However I am deeply sorry to learn, that certain facilities and services did not meet your standards and I personally and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. The reason for not replying any sooner, is simply, that we like to get our Team involved before replying, to gather all possible Information and we can then reply back to you in a professional and educated manner. This helps us to learn and avoid similar challenges in the future and to give you a honest reply. As we do have your contact details on hand, we will get in touch with you shortly and directly to respond to your comments in more detail.

Again we appreciate your feedback and hope we can welcome you again one day to offer you only the best of our Thai Hospitality.

Kind Regards

Andreas Korf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Centara Karon was wonderful.... We upgrade our room to the family deluxe room once we arrived. Our children are aged 10 and 12 years. The room had great space for us all. The resort was beautiful, clean and the staff were amazing. The location was wonderful, walking distance to everything... 10min tuk tuk ride into Patong... I would highly recommend this resort... Infact we are re booking again it was that good...PERFECT HOLIDAY :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtataoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The best holiday of my life.Great location to many places.Great value as a family vacation and wonderful people.Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolly1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The first impression of this resort was the friendliness and helpfulness of all members of staff. We were greeted with a smile everywhere we went.
Food was delicious, especially breakfast.
The pools were all lovely - very warm!
The rooms were clean and nicely presented.
The beach was amazing - the sound squeaked underfoot and the water was warm. Watch out for the red flags which mean no swimming though! There were always safe places to swim as well so it was no problem.
Overall I would highly recommend this wonderful resort.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tfluendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We got a great deal on this hotel booking via House of Travel. We were delighted to discover that we had been upgraded when we arrived, although sadly to a room with twin beds rather than a queen.

Other than this, our Tropix room was lovely - spacious, clean and comfortable. The one drawback however were the stairs - there is no lift, and the steps on the stairs are unusually high, making going up a pain. However the advantage to being on the 3rd floor was a complete lack of insects etc. We visited friends who were in a cabana and we got bitten loads during that 1 hour visit!

The pools and grounds are absolutely gorgeous, with fruit trees and lovely fragrant flowers everywhere. The ponds were full of lilies and (LOUD) frogs :)

I must mention that the staff were fantastic, always smiling and ready to help. The breakfasts were large and varied and everything was cooked to a good standard.

We also did the cooking class at the hotel, which was very good. We got taken to the markets like the other classes do, but saved a lot of time travelling in a van picking up other guests and then travelling to the other side of the island, so actually spent more time at the markets and in the class. The chefs were fantastic and we feel quite confident about tackling a meal now.

We also had a leaky sink one morning but we reported it and it was fixed by the time we got back in the afternoon.

Overall the hotel exceeded expectations and we are looking forward to coming back with our son, as the kids activities and pool looked awesome.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floors if you can or you will get bitten! If you are in the Tropicale area, avoid t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasneem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
0.7 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#11 Spa Hotel in Karon
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#18 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $49 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing