We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #19 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We loved every minute of our stay in Centara Karon. Wonderful place to meet family for a holiday when we come from New Zealand and our family come from England. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,171 - 3,177 of 4,004 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed here for 8 nights in June 2011. The hotel is amazing. In the centre of Karon only a 2 min walk to the shops, bars and restaurants and only a 5 minute walk to Karon beach (be carefull of the jelly fish!). The staff are lovely and can never do enough for you. The rooms are very clean and tidy. Also worth paying that lil extra for a cabana room as they are gorgeous. No disturbance with noise ( as i had read other reviews.) Shopping in Karon is ok, they have a big market which is about a 10-15 min walk. It is not as good as Patong though. Also if you are looking for nightlife i'd def recommend going into Patong and experiencing Bangla Road :). I'd also say to book the excursions when you are in Karon, much cheaper than pre booking them. Overall if you are staying in Karon , this hotel is perfect. Will be returning next year.!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Azzo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Centara Karon Resort @ Karon in Phuket is a Fantastic Hotel.
We have just returned from a 15 night stay at the hotel and would Recommend to all, be it, young/old couples and famlies.

The Hotel has something for all. We were met at the Airport by a Centara Car and taken to the hotel (approx 40 mins) Met at the reception with an Ice Cold towel and the check in was really effortless with the luggage we had dragged over the otherside of the world taken to our Deluxe Lagoon room.

The room was clean, tidy and a decent size. The bed was harder than normal for us but it wasnt a major issue and we adjusted. The room also contained a TV, a tea/coffee maker, and well stocked if not a little expensive mini bar.
The bathroom was a decent size and contained a bath/shower(which was difficult to keep a constant temp)
Aircon in the room was spot on and worked without fail, it was a must during the day and helped provide a great snooze at night

We used all the pools and found them to be very clean with many beds available not matter what time of day you used them, All had swim up bars. Our favourite pool was the Tropicale Pool as it was large and more often than not chilled out with the famlies/Kids using the Lagoon Pool.

The Price of food and drink at the pool bars was quiet more than you could get just outside the door but you are paying for the excellent service and ease of eating/drinking where you relax. (a Beer in O'Tools is 60BHT, at the pool bars its 129BHT)

We never took the hotel up on the Hotel Money offer, where if you bought 10,000BHT from them they gave you 5,000BHT free to spend at the resort, we thought it would restrict us as we liked to venture out for lunch/dinner and felt it gave us the "all Inclusive" feeling.
I will however say it would be good value for famlies who would have the lunch time/dinner trauma greatly reduced as the food is brought to where you sit at the pool or at your apartment.

The incusive breakfast in the mornings was decent and everyone should find something they like, with a 15 night stay the main proble was not getting bored with the breakfast but something different most days helped,Juices, cereal, bread and hot food such as eggs, rashers, beans and potatoe along with rices and noodles all served up fresh each morning.

The weather for our stay was great with little cloudy days and rain only appearing the odd night over the 2 weeks, we where a little apprehensive as the forecasts leading up to the holiday give the impression that the sun doesnt come out and electrical storms are a plenty, so it was a relief all round.

Karon itself is a nice place with everything you need outside the door of the hotel, the places we enjoyed where O'Tools irish bar for the food and drink (especially the Chips) the Karon Cafe and the 2 Chefs both had excellent dishes and atmosphere.

We Visited the Red Onion due to the many recommendations on this site and the food is Excellent and a fraction of the price of many of the other places we had eaten in Karon.
The downside was the poor service from the waiters, the lack of ventaliation(no aircon, little use of fans) and the insects flying about ment we only went the once. It is well worth trying, the food was 10/10

We took a couple of trips using the tour offices 2 doors to the left of O'Tools Irish bar, the lady was very nice, gave us good deals(which we found out on the trips and heard what other people had paid) and re-arranged one of the trips that had to be changed at short notice and at no extra cost.

PHI-PHI Island on the fast boats cost 1500BHT each and was a full day (7am-5.30pm) with a buffet lunch included. The trip was very good but the sea was choppy and we couldnt get into maya bay (The Beach) but the alternative was good and the various islands worth seeing. TIP- Dont have a night on the beer before you go and dont eat too much at the buffet at lunch

KHAO LAK elephant trekking including canoeing cost 1900BHT, again it was a full day (7am-7.30pm) This area is not in phuket and takes a couple of hours to get there from the hotel. The reason we booked this trip above the others was that it was the elephants in their national envoiriment and they are not chained up and free to roam when they are not with tourists(the ones in phuket seemed to be chained round the clock and living and walking on the roads around Kata)

When we made it to the trekking it was well managed and we had an hour or so on the elephant who showed its power and agility bringing us up over rocks/waterfalls into the heart of the jungle. After this was lunch, a Very nice selection of thai and european food a quality above the food on the phi phi island trip

We where then taking up the river and canoed back to the bus/place where the food was served. (1+Hour) Tipping the Canoe Guide was mentioned as they were paid pence per day, but were very good/friendly.

Stop off at other points such as monkey cave and various view points all good. This day is excellent and good value but takes it out of you so its best to have a chilled out evening after it not the bangala road, patong session we had.

One other trip out we did was to strike up a deal with a TUK TUK driver Mr.Lame who took us around the south west of the island to the shooting range, big budda, jewellary store and kata view points, all in all 3+ Hours and plenty of photos, Great way of getting around as the hiring of mopeds/beds while cheap is Risky business on the Island

Karon beach is a short walk away from the hotel and is lovely, white sand and warm clear water. Closed to swimming when we were there due to the waves/under currnets but wading in was allowed and showed you the power of the sea. 100BHT Per Bed for the day

Night Time in Karon was quiet enough at the time we went but a 10 minute TUK TUK to patong changed all that. the Hotel in Karon and the atmosphere is ideal as its chilled out with the option of heading into the area around the bangala road if you fancy a wilder experience, leaving it all there when you get the TUK TUK back to the centara.

Internet in the Hotel was expensive and not the quickest. 220BHT per hour, (1 Hour Free with Cabanas) there are 2 internet cafes within 5 minutes of the hotel that provide a quicker connction and charge 1BHT per Min, Better off using these.

Finally... We Upgraded to a Cabana Room for the last 5 nights of our stay, it worked out at £40 extra per night and after experiencing the Cabana's worth every penny!
Own private front and back garden. (sun loungers and a Plunge Pool/Jacuzzi)
Very private and discrete with complementary Cocktails each evening and the option of having your breakfast delivered to your room each morning.

Larger Bed/Bathroom, Flat screen tv/DVD player and the General feeling that you are Centara's special guests all Included.

TUK TUK to PATONG 300BHT
BEER 39BHT-100BHT
Mens Polo Shirts 250BHT
Designer Sunglasses 150BHT

All in All 10/10 for the Centara Karon, its staff and its Hotel

Room Tip: Lagoon Deluxe and CABANA'S! a Must See!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Sunburst1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I went here with my fiance and a friend of ours, and we had the time og our lives! The staff is as friendly as can be, and there only wish is to always make you happy (which goes for a lot of things in Thailand). The hotel is absolutely beautiful! The rooms were clean and looked new an pretty. They have a fridge and a safe, and the bathroom was really nice too. Almost wherever your room is in this hotel you get a pretty view. But I always recommend 3rd or 4th floor up because of bugs in every country. There were several pools, every one with there own charm. My favorite is the one with the poolbar in the pool, where we had lunch almost daily. The restaurant was mostly fish, so we didnt eat there at night a lot, but the breakfast was very good and the bar was excellent.

Its 10 minutes with "tuk tuk" that costs almost nothing into Patong. So what little we couldnt find in Karon was in 10 minutes reach anyway. There were several nice restaurants and fun bars right by the hotel, that we visited almost every night. Shopping was great, massage parlors, hairdressers, tailors and whatever else you could want was never hard to get, and for the cheapest money I`ve paid. The hotel also give you a half an hour massage on the house after your long flight.

The hotel was superb and so was the place. If you cant be happy here, you cant be happy anywhere! We love Centara Karon, and we love Thailand!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Viccy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed on an 8 day package deal in the Terraces rooms, this was a fantastic deal as it included breakfast daily, not sure we could of afforded it otherwise as I normally backpack but if you can get a good deal it’s definitely worth it. We had a great big picture window which overlooked the sea and top of the buildings also had a balcony which overlooked a side street, so if you want a view go up higher than the 4th floor.
The terraces are average or typical hotel rooms they are good, clean and comfortable. This resort has all sorts of rooms and deals where you can stay in other rooms by the lagoon /tropical pool and get free afternoon tea and cocktails so check out your options if travelling with kids. For a more romantic room option and if you have a bit more cash the private cabanas have their own plunge pools and enclosed courtyards. The meals are affordable but also they are comparable to hotel prices worldwide so go for an adventure 200 metres out of the resort and you will find many other restaurants that not only serve wonderful Thai meals but also pizza, burgers and more.
The pools were awesome, all with swim up bars and happy hour 2 for 1 cocktails. We used the gym and rec facilities and again couldn’t fault them they were clean and comfortable. We had a free massage voucher which we used at the hotel Spa for a Thai massage which was a magical experience, however pricey here at the hotel spa, you can get good massage out in town for a quarter of the price but the SPA is well worth a visit as it is clean and the staff very professional.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TazM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at Centara Karon for 12 nights mid june and were very impressed with the resort. After reading several other reviews we decided to upgrade to a delux lagoon room. The room was huge, well set out and was kept cool with aircon which was a blessing as Phuket was very hot during our trip. We were on the second floor which could be a problem for less mobile persons as there is no lift in this block, for us this was no problem and we had a great view from our balcony up over pool and the hill side behind the resort.
There were 3 good pools, the lagoon more suited for families with young kids. We used the larger and quieter tropics pool and had many a beer at the swim up bar. Being the monsoon season the sea was too rough to swim so the pools are well used.
Our deal included daily breakfast which was fantastic, There was so much food to choose from and tended to change on a daily basis in the cooked department.
There were a lot of daily activities for both adults and children provided by the resort.
The only thing that made this a 4 star resort to us was the unreliable supply of hot water in the shower, only a small gripe really!

Centara karon is only 5 minuites walk from the beach and there are plenty of restaurants
and bars within 5 minutes walk. The best restaurant in the area had to be the red onion, we ate there several times and enjoyed every meal and its very cheap!
We done a few day trips away from karon, Would definately recommend the elephant treking with kok chang safari, phuket sail tours with mark (we done his speed boat trip to phang nga) and simba sea tours to PhiPhi islands.
Phuket weekend market is worth a look and while you are there take a trip in to the center and have a meal at the natural restaurant, probably the best looking place to eat and possibly our best meal of the trip.
Kata beach is only a 200btt tuk tuk ride along the coast and has a much nicer beach than karon and Pattong, there are also a lot more bars and restauraunts to choose from here than at karon.
The after beach bar is worth a look-in around sun set as it has a great view from up high along the coast and out west over the ocean.
The Thai people are some of the friendliest we have met, The hotel staff always greet you and have a smile and wave whenever you arrive or leave the resort.
The exception to all this is the level of cruelty some thais show towards small animals,
Animals are seen as a means of making money to many and they have no regard to the well being of them. Please do not have your picture taken with gibbons, You pay for the chance to have your photo taken and are only fueling an illegal activity as well as a cruel one. For a young gibbon to be taken from the jungle the hunters have to kill both parents and this has led to almost total extinction of wild gibbons on phuket. There is a gibbon rehab center next to Nam Tak Bang pae falls that rescues gibbons that have grown up and are to vicious to handle, some of these gibbons manage to find a partner at the center and are released into the national park, some are unable to be released due to mistreatment by there captors and spend there life at the center. Much better to give a donation to this great unfunded charity than to the cruel people who steal them from the wild.
Please be aware this applies to almost all animals that are offered to you for pictures at street side not just gibbons. Please pass this info onto anybody you meet going to or already in phuket but be aware of making a scene infront of an offender as it can cause trouble!
sorry to rant about this on here but we felt very strongly about this and promised the people at the rehab center we would pass there message onto as many people as we could!

Our trip to thailand has to be one of our best holidays, the beauty of the islands and their people made for an unforgetable trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kiwi-n-scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here just recently and I have to say this resort was fantastic. From the friendly staff to the fantastic food and great rooms. We had a cabana room and would definately have the same room if we go back. Our room had 2 queen size beds, large bathroom and outside shower and a jacuzzi out the front behind a high fence, just fantastic. The bed was hard but we requested a mattress topper to which they oblidged straight away and it was fine. Every night you get a complimentary cocktail delivered to your room and you can have breakfast bought to your room at no extra charge if you don't want to go to the buffet, I think this is only for guests in the cabana rooms. The pools are fantastic, we sat at the pool bar and had lunch most days which was lovely and cool. My husband did the cooking course which he said was excellent, well worth the money. This resort has everything and I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay in the Cabana rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NeilandEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
0.7 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#10 Spa Hotel in Karon
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#12 Family Hotel in Karon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $48 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing