We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of CC's Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CC's Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I've picked CC's Hideaway on a short notice, although it was on my short list of hotels previously. The stay turned out to be a bit of a mixed bag. There are some things about CC's that I really liked, and others that were not so good. I rarely bother with "average" reviews - most things are "average", and it is usually worth mentioning only those above or below expectations. CC's is different - I feel that they could, for the most part deal with the negatives and then all that remains would be the strengths.

The good:
- Location. Unlike many cookie-cutter "modern" hotels situated on busy streets, CC's is tucked away up the hill, in a quiet area. Sitting on their open terrace almost felt like being in Caribbean islands almost.
- It's not too far from the beach or central areas (but it does require some walking, especially on the way back, uphill.
- Breakfast. Pretty good variety of food, in a pleasant open area, and available quite late (great if you are on vacation - and you are, if you are here)
- Rooms. Fairly large, decorated in somewhat "faux-Thai" style, but none of the cheap pseudo-Ikea furniture so often found in hotels around Phuket.
- Excellent firm bed, great back support - if you care for that sort of thing.
- Well laid out bathroom, clean and modern. Shower area properly enclosed (not a given in many Phuket hotels)
- Large pool in the middle of it all - if you are into that (and even if not, it's good to look at)

Perhaps due to last minute reservation we got a room on the ground floor, facing the road in front of the hotel. That in itself is not a big issue. Although the room is right under the main breakfast/deck area, there was surprisingly little noise coming from there, especially since most activity ceased fairly early. The road was quiet all night and most of the day too, and the area felt reasonably safe. However, a few negatives came with the room type:


Negatives:
- Rooms have "connecting doors" that allow two rooms to be booked together. The door in our room was pretty old and in a poor shape. It had multiple cracks in woodwork (through which you could see the light from connecting room). More importantly, you could hear every sound too. When our neighbors decided to turn on the TV at 3AM, they probably tried to be mindful by keeping it fairly quiet. Did not matter, as it was heard as clearly as if it was in my room. Easy to fix - get a proper door with decent soundproofing.

- While "hotels.com" lists "hand held shower", the shower is actually of "fixed overhead" variety. That's a first time I see one in Thailand. It would not be hard to replace, but at a very least - please fix hotel room description on reservation sites.

- Hot water. Water is heated somewhere outside the room and seems to be available on some sort of schedule. A late night hot shower was out of question - only cold water was available (a few nights in a row).

- This one is specific to the room we had. It was next to the main walkway, and right behind the wall there is an artificial "waterfall". Hotel management was thoughtful enough to put it on a timer, which turns off running water from 10pm to 6am. Unfortunately, 6am is a bit early to get an earful of streaming water (but great if you plan to begin your day bright and early by a quick dash to the loo). If you want to sleep late - avoid room 4. (Or perhaps management could just start the water trickle a few hours later?)

- On the last day of our stay workers replaced outdoor lighting on the terrace in front of the room. Where original lighting was controlled from the room, new one is a bright spotlight that seems to turn on and stay on all night. Imho this is a mistake. Not only does it negate any possibility of a pleasant evening on a terrace, watching the ocean, but the light is so bright that it is visible even through the light blocking curtains. I am guessing that this is intended as a security measure - but personally I would not stay in one of these lower level rooms unless light control is restored.

Also, note for travelers with children. Hotel rooms feature paintings some of which are quite "risque" to put it mildly. I assume at reception guests with children will be placed in rooms with "age appropriate" decorations, but just in case - keep this in mind, or prepare for discussion of birds and bees and such :)

All in all, CC's turned out to be a pleasant place to stay. I hope they take note and attend to the few issues.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bork3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 794 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Apart from the excellent breakfast. .there was nothing woww about the room. Room was acceptable. I read abouy the view on tripadvisor but personally it was nothing to die for. It is located off the main area but the hourly shuttle makes up for it. It was a good stay with nice people but I would opt for a more well located hotel next time. All that being said...nice hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Farhan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I really warmed to this place and the people here and left it (for Phi Phi) with some regret. It's not perfect but good for the money and I'd happily return.

For more detail read on . . .

It's location (on a hillside above Kata) is both an advantage and a disadvantage. Kata is more highly developed than I'd realised and there's something to be said for being away from its urban sprawl. There's a pleasing view over greenery and rooftops out to the bay/sea and the air seems fresher up at CC's. But it's a fair way from the beaches (10 mins or more, depending on the beach, by vehicle). They run an excellent free, hourly shuttle on a circular route that takes in Kata Noi, Kata Beach and Karon Beach (with pick-ups possible, by prior arrangement, on the same timetable until 11pm). These leave CC's on the hour stopping (if required) at Kata beach south end 10 past the hour, north end 15 past, a couple of stops in Karon Beach (20 & 25 past) as well as a few other points. It's a great service but the fixed timetable means you can't be very spontaneous in your coming and going without paying for taxis/tuk tuks (around 300 baht for the ten minutes back from Kata).

I'd read in previous reviews about the walk up 'that hill' back to CC's and thought they were exaggerating. I've never seen a road so steep (it looks like its 45 degrees, although surely it can't be?!). It just goes straight up for a couple of hundred metres! It IS walkable but you will be in need of a good shower and fresh clothes afterwards! :-)

My room (pool view) was a good size and well equipped with good air con, big flat screen TV, safe, mini bar and fridge and free bottled water (replenished daily) and a very comfortable king size bed. Nice bathroom (apart from an inexplicable mouldy smell) with big walk in shower. A couple of plumbing issues were each resolved in around half a day. As one that Mosquitos seem to like, with a few sensible precautions, it was also nice to be able to sleep without (a) being bitten, (b) covering myself in DEET or (c) having to turn the A/C off to use a plug-in killer.

Cleanliness, throughout, is good and there's a super little pool and because of its size the place has a nice intimate feel about it - making it easy (though not compulsory!) to become friendly with other guests if you want. For me, as a single traveller, this was a real plus.

I'd previously read comments about the breakfast being limited but I thought it was ample. Yes, there isn't a full English available, but there is a choice of three cereals (including the all important muesli!), fresh fruit, a couple of flavours of yoghurt, pastries, sliced bread (and toaster), jam, marmalade and peanut butter (?) to put on it, half a dozen hot options (mostly Thai but with bacon/sausage most days as well), 2/3 juices, tea and coffee.

I also ate lunch (good burger and sandwiches) and dinner (I had a couple of lovely Thai dishes, although there were also pasta and steak alternatives) and although more expensive than out didn't think it was exorbitant. However, a couple of cautionary notes; the prices at CC's aren't quite what you pay, as 10% service and then 7% tax is added to your bill; and if you're planning on settling by credit card you'll encounter a 3% surcharge.

One thing I could really have done without were the repeated early morning wake-up calls from the cockerel next door.

But my final word has to be in praise of the staff. All were friendly and pleasant but several were especially warm and engaging.

Room Tip: Those on the right hand side of the hotel (as you stand at the front looking at the pool and u-shape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perfect10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The other name of this hotel is CC's Bloom, it looks like more popular in local people than the new name CC's Hideaway. Just like the name, the hotel is hidden in the middle of Hill in Kata, beneath of the Big Buddha.
Frankly speaking, the location is a little far away from Kata's downtown street by walk, but if you rent a motorcycle, that would not be a problem.
The decoration style of hotel is modern art, and facility is new and in good condition. And staff is very friendly. They have shuttle bus to Karon/Kata beach every 2 hours.

Wifi signal is so so in my room, and few TV channels are available. And few choice in breakfast.

Room Tip: room toward the pool may be a little noisy, but with good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenMiller, General Manager at CC's Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We thank you for your review. We are pleased to say we were already in the process of addressing several of your other criticisms and the others we will also quickly address. Prior to receiving your review, effective November 15, we had already revised our free shuttle service to be on an hourly basis.

We will also offer on request both pickup and drop-off service to the bottom of the hill (700M from CC’s). Once at the bottom of the hill it is just a short 10 minute walk to Kata beach or 5 minute walk to the heart of Kata.

As to breakfast, we feel your comment about selection is not adequately descriptive. We had been offering about 2 dozen food items on the breakfast buffet including various cereals, baked goods, green salad, fruits, yogurts, waffles and various prepared foods in warmers. However, we recognize you and potentially others may not be satisfied, so we will soon offer eggs to order including a variety of omelets, provide more fruit selections and prepared hot foods.

Thank you for your comments on WIFI and our selection of TV Channels. We will improve the WIFI service from your room, though overall the coverage at CC’s is very good. We were already in the process of evaluating more TV channels to include and will do so as soon as feasible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

It's undoubtedly one of the best hotels in the world and certainly the best in Phuket. The staff is extremely friendly. The rooms are spacious and pool facing. They have a shuttle service once every 2 hours to Kata and Karon beaches - Ideal for family getaways.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AquarianIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Karon itself is little more than a touristy town, but staying here made our holiday feel special. The food!!! Som Tam heaven! We ended up staying at the hotel more towards the end to make use of the pool and the restaurant. We used their complimentary shuttle bus lots to save having to walk up the hill!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forrealale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in November. Since the monsoon had just ended, hotel wasn't too packed. A few people around us,we were able to enjoy our privacy. Very friendly and helpful staff, spacious and clean rooms, a-amazing view and perfect weather made our stay wonderful! GM provided information via email prior to our holiday so we didn't have to think about transportation and renting a motorbike. On the last day we got free room extension until our flight. Breakfast was good, as a vegan I had quite a few options to choose from. Additionally I think we had the best room in the hotel with a balcony and beautiful views on Kata beach. A bit far from the beach but offers free transportation

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KaiaSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
4.2 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
1.9 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,084 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#9 of 135 in Karon
642 reviews
4.8 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 331 in Patong
761 reviews
4.9 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CC's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CC's Hideaway

Address: 36 Patak Rd. Soi 10, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#13 Best Value Hotel in Karon
#25 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $52 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CC's Hideaway 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star full service hotel close to Phuket's finest beaches. Located in Kata, Phuket. Overlooking Kata Yai Beach, situated in the lush hills of Kata near Kata Noi Beach and Karon Beach. Completely hip and cool, CC's Hideaway is an oasis for guests seeking a respite from the crowds, noise and chaos from the more urban locations. Our modern tropical design setting combined with CC's amenities, friendly customer service, and beautifully designed facilities complement its natural surroundings and distinguish itself from other traditional accommodations. Guestrooms, open to balconies with ocean, garden or pool views and feature original artwork and flat-panel televisions with premium satellite channels. All rooms have private bathroom with walk-in shower.Complimentary wireless internet access in all rooms and throughout the property.Only about 20 km from Phuket Town and about 40 km from the airport, getting to and from CC's Hideaway is a breeze.Restaurant, bar/lounge CC's has a full service bar and restaurant, Sanctuary Bar and Refuge Restaurant, all feature great ambiance and serve unique cocktails and refreshments all day long. Cool off and relax after a long day, lounge by our outdoor pool. Dine at Refuge restaurant, your choice of Thai or international cuisine. Escape massage & beauty salon, 24-hour business center, and offers a variety of transportation and tour services. Yoga retreats at the hotel as well! Complimentary shuttle service to all 3 of these area beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your CC's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
c Blooms Hotel
Hotel c Blooms
CC's Hideaway Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing