We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Phulin Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phulin Resort
Ranked #129 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from Phuket and I feel that I should quickly share my experience staying at The Phulin for the benefit of many travelers. We booked this hotel after reading much plus reviews about it and wanting to experience Karon beach and quieter surrounding.
Let me start with the plus points:
1. Newly refurbished spacious rooms

2. We booked 2 rooms and I realised that the standard rooms have no kettle which would be an issue for me since I brought along my 1yr old son, after continuous request, the Resort upgraded both rooms to Deluxe rooms w/o add charge and equiped with tea/cofee facilities, kettle, microwave and rather big fridge.

3. Quite a good location-near mini mart & tuk2 / taxi stand

The Irritating parts:
1. Constant communication breakdown - big fuss over patty thing
we booked 2 rooms, the front desk and room service staff made a fuss over bedroom slippers! Yes, this Resort recycles their bedroom slippers. Before checking out, I called and inform front desk staff that the slippers from my 2nd room were all in the 1st room, somehow the room service sent their staff 2x to check as if we stole the slippers.

2. Missleading informantion and unpleasant Resort Manager
I requested for late check out in advance through booking.com customer service and via email. Unfortunately the Resort never responded on this matter. To make sure there was no prob later on, I personally called the Resort before flying to Phuket. The front desk said they could make an arrangement for me & family ie until 3pm tentatively. Feeling comfortable with the respond I went ahead to agree to talk to them soon after I reached the Resort. At the Resort the front office staff, said they could give me up to 14:00pm due to peak season, I was fine with it not until I met Ms. Pannee (not sure of the spelling though) the Manager. I tried to ask again from her if I could check out latest by 15:00 pm since my cab will arrive by then and due to my flight back home is at 21:00pm. She irritatingly said No to my request and insisted I checked out by 13:00pm.which was kind of weird when her staff had agree to allow me to check out by 14:00pm. More over she claimed that she did not know about the arrangement. What ticked me off was that she was giving me the arrogant look and defensive tone. Which as a so called front desk Mgr, she should have managed my expectation in a nicer manner. Instead of saying No, she shld have said she wld clarify with her staff & get back to me. Seriously, this Resort should send its staff to more customer service courses!.

3. Inconsistent hot & cold water - we usually end up taking cold shower!

4. Rooms were not meticulously cleaned & madeup! Linen was not changed, the stain from my baby's milk was still there on the linen, even after the room was made up. Left over soup in the sink was left for the guest to throw it away. On 2nd day, face towels were not replaced with new ones.

5. This Resort has No Elevator, we're lucky we insisted for the potter to help carry the luggage and stoller during check-in and out. They only give guests 1 room key, imagine u need to knock the door (no door bell) to get into the room.

6. The free shuttle to Karon Beach only goes one way. So coming back u need to walk for 15-20mins depending on how fast u walk or pay 200 Bhat for a tuk-tuk or cab.

7. Other things about staying in Karon, only 1 halal restaurant available so it'll be difficult for Muslim to find halal food in Karon. Transport frm Karon - Patong cost a bomb 400Bhat one way, imagine if u need to go to Patong u need to spend 800Bhat per trip, which that money can be used to enjoy on your shopping, explore Phuket or have better selection of food. The Karon beach is of course nicer, but at the time when we were there, the wave was bit high so, we prefer Patong Beach which was calmer and much more convenient to get things, food, toilet etc..

All in all, if we were to go back to Phuket, we'd stay in Patong area for easy access to many things w/o having to spend extra on transportation. But one thing for sure, We'll Never Ever again go back to The Phulin Resort an over rated Resort which doesn't deserve even a star. The Manager, should take up more courses on customer service.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank NafNaf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePhulinResort, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Phulin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear NafNaf75 ,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

Thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
Also, we express our sincere apologies for the issues that you
have raised during your visit.
We have communicated it with all our Department Managers
for improvement.


Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Phulin Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 245 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Last week, i went to Phuket for a seminar. I stayed here for one week. I really like the weather. The view is great! Moreover, the beach is not far away from the hotel.. just 10 minutes. It's very easy to go because you just take a taxi from the airport within 45 minutes. If you are interested, u can ask the information from the hotel. I'm very impressive and i will go back again!:)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZHuZu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I went to Phuket with my family 2 months ago. I really had a great time there!! The interior decoration is like thai-modern style. very cool!! I think it's rainy season there so the atmosphere is great! Moreover, Breakfast the hotel provided us is yummy! If you want to know more the information, you can contact the receptionist:)

Ps: The price is reasonable!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePhulinResort, ผู้จัดการฝ่ายต้อนรับลูกค้า at Phulin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Katy1993

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

We wish to thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
We are very delighted to know that you had a great stay with us.

Please feel free to reach us if you ever decide to visit Karon area again
in the future.

We really look forward to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

It's really nice to stay @phulin resort, good service,, if ur looking to a peaceful stay at karon, i recommend you to try phulin resort, staffs are polite and hospitable and most of all its not expensive..

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jerwin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePhulinResort, ผู้จัดการฝ่ายต้อนรับลูกค้า at Phulin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Jerwin17,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

We wish to thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
We are very delighted to know that you had a great stay with us.

Please feel free to reach us if you ever decide to visit Karon area again
in the future.

We really look forward to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived to this hotel late in evening and surprised to see how clean the hotel and rooms were.
It's very basic hotel with cute little pool and break fast. It's located opposite Moevenpick hotel and beach is just 5 minute walk. But beware of the tuk tuk taxi stand near the hotel on main road. They were so rude. For those who are considering budget this is best option in karon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ak2931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePhulinResort, ผู้จัดการฝ่ายต้อนรับลูกค้า at Phulin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear ak2931

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

Thank you for the time sharing your holiday with us.
It was really nice that you found our resort clean and comfortable,
we will pass your message to the rest of the team members.

If you plan to come and spend holiday in Karon beach next time,
please do let us know.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Unfortunately I only had the time for a one night stay at Karon beach, but fortunately I spent it at the Phukin Resort.
The resort has all the amenities for a long stay and the guests are treated with affection from the moment they arrive. The resort is very tastefully decorated throughout and there are many relaxed seating areas scattered all around.
The pool area is well maintained and has a real chill out factor about it.
Breakfast is next to the pool area and the food was excellent. Help yourself buffet style with plenty of choice. Another plus for the breakfast was that unlike many hotels that I have stayed in they actually keep all the dishes hot.
The rooms are exceptionally clean and are very well decorated. A quiet aircon unit is always a plus and the beds and pillows are really comfortable.
Definitely recommend this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris55547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

we are stay for a few days in this resort , we are arrival very late night but staff and dinner been wating for us so lovely , when we arrival Wow!!! room very clean and wellmaintain, we will come back ,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Supaporn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
1.4 mi away
Rattana Beach Hotel
Rattana Beach Hotel
#98 of 135 in Karon
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manohra Cozy Resort
Manohra Cozy Resort
#56 of 135 in Karon
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
#91 of 135 in Karon
81 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baan Karon Resort
Baan Karon Resort
#59 of 135 in Karon
130 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Brother's Residence
The Brother's Residence
#299 of 328 in Patong
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phulin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phulin Resort

Address: 10/2 Patak 18, Patak Road | Karon Beach, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $11 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phulin Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phulin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phulin Hotel Karon
Phulin Resort Karon
Phulin Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing