We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Thomas
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Poor experience with this hotel! Beware travellers
Review of Phulin Resort
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 2, 2012
We stayed here in the month of November 2012 for 8 nights in their Deluxe room. We requested for a double bed and was give 2x single bed. The first room was clean overall, apart from the moudy smell coming from the air con. The air con was too strong, even we set it down to lowest air fan setting. My girlfriend ended up having cold. The shower is terrible we couldn't adjust it to the right warm water, its either cold or very hot. We requested for a different room the next day and were given a room with 1x double bed (2x singles bed joint together covered with lining) the same issues with strong fan speed air con and useless shower. We have told the hotel staff they said they will look into it, but nothing was done! One receptionist staff told us its the same for all the rooms!

The buffet breakfast was ok, we were hoping for more variety in hot food and fruits.

Overall this is an budget 2.5 or 3 stars hotel. Not what other review suggest 4 or 5 stars. I wouldn't recommend any one to stay in this hotel, unless they have fixed their air con and shower issue. I recommend to stay in other well known hotel at Karon beach, i.e. Centara, movenpick.
Date of stay: November 2012
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$144
  • Expedia.com
    $144
  • Vio.com
    $133
  • Hotels.com
    $144
0.7 miles from Phulin Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$130
$61
  • Vio.com
    $61
  • Priceline
    $94
  • Expedia.com
    $61
2.3 miles from Phulin Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$28
  • Agoda.com
    $26
  • Priceline
    $44
  • Expedia.com
    $28
2.2 miles from Phulin Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Chanalai Hillside Resort, Karon Beach
Booking.com
$50
$26
  • Vio.com
    $26
  • Priceline
    $41
  • Expedia.com
    $26
0.5 miles from Phulin Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Novotel
$124
$106
  • Booking.com
    $106
  • Vio.com
    $106
  • Expedia.com
    $106
1.5 miles from Phulin Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$151
$129
  • Pullman
    $129
  • Vio.com
    $129
  • Expedia.com
    $129
0.7 miles from Phulin Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$133
$86
  • Expedia.com
    $86
  • Hotels.com
    $86
  • Vio.com
    $86
1.9 miles from Phulin Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Site
$506
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
2.9 miles from Phulin Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
$219
  • Agoda.com
    $209
  • Priceline
    $248
  • Lol.travel
    $224
2.7 miles from Phulin Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    $120
  • Priceline
    $179
  • ZenHotels.com
    $124
0.8 miles from Phulin Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Karon
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveler rating
68
79
62
43
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
68
79
62
43
74
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 326 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have stayed approx. 4 days at this hotel this October. All we can say is we loved the place. They have done quite a few things to improve the hotel looks. Everything is new compared to we we have read from the previous comments. The hotel is also not so far from the beach. Had a chance to talk to the Manager; Jack. He was very helpful.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel M, Manager at Phulin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear LondonVeronica,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

We wish to thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
We are very delighted to know that you had a great stay with us and that you found
the changes that we have done lovely.

Please feel free to reach us if you ever decide to visit Karon area again
in the future.

We hope we could have the chance to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed at The Phulin Resort for three days as part of an escorted tour group from India. We had a suite and both the rooms were spacious with separate air conditioners. While the rooms we had were clean, some of our co-travelers complained that their rooms had a damp smell. The hotel does not have elevators. Our room was located on the third floor and we had to carry our luggage ourselves (not sure if bell hop service was excluded by our tour operator or if the hotel does not provide one). The room had a tub and a shower as well. However, the hand-held shower in the tub did not seem to work.

The breakfast was nice with vegetarian and non-vegetarian options but it had the same items on all three days.

Karon beach is about 10 min walk from the hotel and although we did not use it, the hotel provides a shuttle to the beach. There is also a nice Buddhist temple very close to the hotel.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EssJayDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel M, Manager at Phulin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear EssJayDallas,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

Thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
Also, we express our sincere apologies for the issues that you
have raised during your visit.
We have communicated it with all our Department Managers
for improvement.

We hope we could welcome you again here in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

An old, but nice hotel, ca 800 m from the beach. Hotelbus to the beach every day. Nice staff, (but speak very bad english)the breakfast was very good, dinner ok. Massage at the pool every day. We got a big room, with wiew to the pool, and a small balcony.
Fridge, kettle, microwave and cups/glasses etc in the room. Clean beachtowels every day.
It took about 10 min to walk to the beach. A lot of things to watch on our way. The hotel is situated near the mainroad, but we didn`t hear any noise.
Very nice, will stay here again!

Room tip: Quiet everywhere!
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRW522
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel M, Manager at Phulin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear BRW522,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

We wish to thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
We are very delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you also for mentioning all the positive points
you found in your room.

Please feel free to reach us if you ever decide to visit Karon area again
in the future.

We hope we could have the chance to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

On the advice of a travel agent, we booked here. There is no dollar value that would make this a reasonable lodging. The rooms (we tried two before leaving - at our expense - and going elsewhere before spending even one night) are musty and mildewy. No matter how busy your day, you still have to spend the night, and the smell was miserable.

On an additional note, though we had booked a "Deluxe" room with double bed, they only had a room with two singles available. But they were willing to push the two singles together to make the double, at the Deluxe room charge. We were changed to a Deluxe room, which opens to the pool, but the smell was no better than our first room.

Room tip: Other hotels, at comparable cost, are across from the beach. This is up a small side street a block or so away. Choose a room elsewhere (the Ramada was very nice) if you want a good room.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zes-Tril
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel M, Manager at Phulin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Zes-Tril,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

Thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the
issues that you have encountered during your stay.

We assure that we have communicated all issues with
our team so improvement can be done.

We hope you could give us the chance to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We've visited the hotel from 5 to 19 of April 2011. Phulin Resort is well situated, on Patak Road 10 minutes from Karon beach. Lots of small cafes on the road to the beach. Also there's a small temple 50 meters away from hotel.

We got a Studio number 2403 with 2 rooms, kitchen and bathroom (including shower and bath). The room was pretty clean but a little bit darker then we expected. No balcony. There was also a freezer, safety box and a teapot. From time to time we got online, Wi-Fi had costed us about 100 bahts for an hour.

We've heared a lot about burglary incidents in this hotel. But for couple of times we forgot to lock the safety box. When we get back, nothing was missing. So i believe it's the question of luck.

The service was good. Towels and beds were always clean and tidy. Were leaving 20 baht a day of tips.

The area around the hotel is very green but small. The pool is okay but a little shallow.

Breakfast was quite good but not much various. The same food goes for every day. But you can easily find a lot of good thai and european food on the way to the beach by Patak Road, so it's okay.

Karon beach is a true miracle, it's gorgeous. The sand and the Andaman (Burma) sea gives a tremendous feeling of relaxation and peace.

Don't stay in Phulin Resort for too long and you will be satisfied by everything. Have a nice vacation!

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serge_Rush
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel M, Manager at Phulin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Serge_Rush,

Greetings from The Phulin Resort!

Thank you for sharing your experience in our resort.
We are glad that our team members and the service had made your stay a good one.

Please feel free to reach us if you ever decide to visit Karon area again
in the future.

We hope we could have the chance to serve you again
here in Phulin Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Phulin Resort Karon Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews